We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manta ray swim!!!! Amazing!!!!”
Review of Sea Paradise Tours

Sea Paradise Tours
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Keauhou
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sea Paradise offers Morning and Afternoon Sailing & Snorkeling Tours to the Marine Sanctuary in Kealakekua Bay (Home to the World Famous Captain Cook Monument). As your snorkel adventure begins, be sure to bring an underwater camera to capture all the vibrantly colorful schools of sea life amid the landscaped ledges of ancient lava flows. Also offered by Sea Paradise is a Guaranteed Manta Ray night snorkel. Capture the graceful beauty of these majestic manta rays as you snorkel up close with them. The Travel Channel say "snorkeling with manta rays is one of the top ten things to do in your lifetime."
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

An amazing once in a lifetime experience must! It was simply breathtaking, the crew was very knowledgeable, and the boat was top notch. The only thing that was a bit of a bummer was the Asian tourists that tried touching the manta rays...after repeatedly being told not to touch the manta rays...after ND having being explained that the oils on human hands was harmful to these creatures they still by passed and tried to touch them :( why?

All in all, regardless of the ignorance, it was an ultra amazing experience. I can't stop looking at the footage. :)

1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichyKeauhou, Manager at Sea Paradise Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

We are so happy you had a good time on your manta night excursion and thank you for letting others know it is not okay to touch the mantas.
Mahalo Nui Loa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"kealakekua bay"
in 66 reviews
"morning snorkel"
in 46 reviews
"captain cook"
in 45 reviews
"manta rays"
in 156 reviews
"snorkel trip"
in 35 reviews
"captain morgan"
in 16 reviews
"the big island"
in 58 reviews
"fair winds"
in 14 reviews
"fish"
in 89 reviews
"juice"
in 14 reviews
"crew members"
in 24 reviews
"breakfast and lunch"
in 13 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 16 reviews
"light breakfast"
in 11 reviews
"red hill"
in 9 reviews
"nice boat"
in 10 reviews
"marine biologist"
in 8 reviews
Filter

443 - 447 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Their website promises a 3 hour experience and an hour in the water with the mantas. What you get is an hour and a half total trip and, in my case, just 37 minutes in the water. The "Manta Ray Village" is simply a couple of hundred metres off the shore in front of the Sheraton hotel and it takes all of 10 minutes from the dock to get there. I was surprised they bothered with the safety briefing. The mantas showed up and were awesome to watch. For the people at the end of the boom where there were no lights their experience would have been considerably worse. They didn't even have steps to assist people boarding the boat. I don't know whether Sea Paradise Manta tour is indicative of all of this type of tour in Kona but as it is really worth doing I would try another operator because I wouldn't recommend Sea Paradise.

Thank blueswarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I did both their deluxe morning snorkel cruise and the night manta ray snorkel and both were great.
As we booked 2 tours with them we got 50% off the second tour. Also on my first tour I said I would like them on Facebook so I got 10% off that. A very good deal indeed.

The morning snorkel tour was great. As we were staying at the Sheraton around the corner we could just walk down to the bay. All the crew members were very informative. Our snorkeling spots were filled with beautiful coral and fish. We even got to see a pod of dolphins and rode around with them for a while. The highlight was bring able to swim with a lone turtle at our second snorkel spot - so beautiful.

A light breakfast and moderate lunch was provided. Non alcoholic drinks were also provided. The catamaran was fun.

The manta ray swim was simply amazing. All the boats seem to go to the same spot so that way it doesn't make a big difference with cruise you go with. Our one had quite a few people so we were jostling against each other a little. The crew were very helpful - swimming among us to ensure that everyone was OK. Troy even saved my noodle when it escaped.

The manta rays were scary but beautiful. They get really close to you - close enough to touch (though you shouldn't). It was such an amazing and frightening feeling being with these majestic creatures. I would most definitely recommend going.

Thank contradiction11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichyKeauhou, Manager at Sea Paradise Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it.
We are so happy you had a a great time on both of your trips and glad you took advantage of the multi-trip discount. We hope to see you next time.
Mahalo Nui Loa & A Hui Hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Do this - kind of expensive. But crew us nice and the experience is amazing - they swim 5 inches below you mask and are huuuuge ! Do your self a favor and spend the money on this experience. You have about 45 minutes in the water bat the boat trip is really short ! They have good snacks and drinks :)

Thank MilleSiw .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We took advantage of the calm before the hurricane by taking a Sea Paradise afternoon tour. We went to Captain Cook. The cruise was nice, not too big or crowded. They supplied equipment but my friend's mask didn't seem to fit quite right. Sodas were available. On the way back, they fed us snacks including chips, fruit, and cookies. Everyone was friendly. There was no secure place to put valuables but it wasn't a problem.

Thank jgll0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichyKeauhou, Manager at Sea Paradise Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Were glad you were able to get out on the water before the hurricane. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. If you find yourself out with us again and you run into a mask issue please inform one of our crew members so that they can help.
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Paradise Tours also viewed

Keauhou, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sea Paradise Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing