We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious sweet bread”
Review of Punalu'u Bake Shop

Punalu'u Bake Shop
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Naalehu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Naalehu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious sweet bread”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Love the sweetbread here. I like the lilikoi flavor. Like a donut except better. Souvenirs are way over priced here though if that's what you're looking for.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rsm15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    44
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Must stop on way to/from volcano!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stop here every year for malasadas- apparently protégées donut. A nice treat. Like passion fruit glazed or Bismarck.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve98001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Southernmost Bakery”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Made a rest stop in Ha'alehu while traveling from Kona to Volcano Park. We discovered this quaint baker that bills itself as the Southermost Bakery in the United States. We stopped about 15 minutes before business hours which gave us time to enjoy the well maintained small park-like setting. There was a great variety of native trees, bushes and flowers with pathways winding throughout with each labeled as to identity. There were also picnic tables and shelters to relax and enjoy the goodies from inside!
Once the doors opened, we were exposed to a nice variety of bread, pies and other baked goodies that we couldn't resist. Most incorporated some tropical fruit or nut. What we purchased was delicious and everything looked very good.
This was an exceptionally clean location and was a very good choice of rest stop. I would return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank buckeyerailroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute little bakehouse”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Cute little bakehouse in quite a rural area. Much sweeter bread for sandwiches than we are used to as Aussies. The traditional donuts were yum. Nice stop on a little road trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideEllevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Seems to be slipping.”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Tried this place back in May was very impressed with the food but noticed how unfriendly the staff was. Back on the Big Island and decided to stop in for lunch. Ordered the hamburger steak only to get two cold beef patties covered with luke warm gravy. Staff is still missing the Aloha Spirit!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank M-LT1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Punalu'u Bake Shop also viewed

 
Naalehu, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Punalu'u Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing