We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful; Our favorite stay”
Review of Kalaekilohana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalaekilohana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naalehu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful; Our favorite stay”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have just returned from a 12 day trip around the Big Island. We stayed at five different venues (hotels, resorts etc) all of them just lovely but Kalaekilohana was by far our favorite. We were so glad we stayed for two nights to relax and enjoy all that K and K have to offer in their beautiful home while we were visitng nearby sites. I call it that because you are treated as an old friend the minute you arrive till you leave. Food, beds, atmosphere just amazing. Do yourself a favor if you are traveling to Southermost point attractions and/or Volcano National Park. Don't take that long drive back and forth from Kona--instead spend a relaxing few days at the 'big yellow house'. Trust us you will not regret it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newtonduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
191
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Kalaekilohana is a beautiful serene B and B and Hawai'in home. Our hosts, Kenny and Kilohana, were very kind and hospitable and made us feel right at home. They create a warm welcoming place where guests can relax and visit on the large front porch after a day of seeing the country side. Breakfasts are a work of art. We left rejeuvenated!

Chris and Malcolm

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great and would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Our annual stay at Kalaekilohana as usual was exceptional. The home is warm and inviting both in appearance and just the feel of the place. Truly we think of Kalaekilohana as a home. The energy and spiritual feel of the aina is strong and the feeling of relaxation is immediate once you arrive and lasting after leaving. We will return next year. The fact the the location is somewhat remote makes it all the more fantastic and a sense of healing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful - you will be comfortable in all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a first class B&B run by two amazingly generous individuals, Kilohana and Kenny. The property is spacious and luxurious. The breakfasts and dinners are some of the best food in the entire state of Hawaii. Best of all it is in a serene, tranquil setting that will make you feel absolutely refreshed. Other highlights include the free beverages and snacks all day and the close location to the green sand and black sand beaches that will let you beat the crowds without a ridiculously early start.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnumgis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were warmly greeted by the innkeepers as though we were family. We found the rooms to be spacious, professionally and comfortably appointed, tastefully decorated and cozy. The native hawaiian eucalyptus wood floors and moldings created a regal elegance. Our room overlooked the expansive front lawn full of cardinals and pretty little bright yellow birds. The highlight of our visit was the meals. Kenny and Kilohana created the most tasty breakfasts and dinners. Homemade breakfast sausage, homemade icecream... buckwheat pancakes, french press kona coffee, yum! They even graciously accommodated my gluten free needs. Complimentary wine and beer in the evenings topped off a wonderful stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are large and can accommodate a family if necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Excellent experience. Perfect if you want a quiet, peaceful vacation. Kenny and Kilohana were excellent hosts. Always available to answer our questions, provide suggestions on activities in the area, check on our comfort, get what we needed, etc. We felt like we got a true personal Hawaiian experience here (not the tourist version at a chain hotel).
Incredible breakfast every morning - focusing on local food. Kenny would tell us about each breakfast item. We had dinner one night that was incredible. They plan to begin offering dinner a couple nights a week soon - definitely eat here if you can.
We have a hard time finding rooms with enough beds for our family of 4 - with 2 teenagers (girl & boy); we want 3 beds. The rooms here (4 total) definitely fit our needs. Beds were very comfortable. Furniture and décor throughout the home were very nice. This house was built to be a bed and breakfast and the layout is great. Each room has nice private bathroom.
Key sights nearby include green sand beach, southern most point of US, black sand beach (saw sea turtles on the beach), and National Volcano Park. Plenty to keep you busy over a few days if you want, or you can just relax in the quiet, lovely environment.
Highly recommend. We will go back there if visiting Hawaii again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights with Kenny and Kilohana for the beginning of a triple stay and play at Kalaekilohana, Ka'awa Loa Plantation and Waianuhea. What a wonderful way to begin our vacation! Kenny and Kilohana are the very best at making you feel at home in their home from the warm welcome, the evening talks on the lanai, to the long wave goodbye. We were pampered with wonderful fresh fruits and delicious breakfasts. The rooms were luxurious and comfortable, best sleeping weather, ever. They really know how to treat their guests to the very best and got us started on a wonderful, relaxing trip.

Room Tip: all the rooms are equal. They are all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naalehu
67.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
66.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
62.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
58.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
64.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalaekilohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaekilohana

Property: Kalaekilohana
Address: 94-2152 South Point Road, Naalehu, Island of Hawaii, HI 96772
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Naalehu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naalehu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii's greatest luxury value, with generous complimentary amenities that save you hundreds and a perfect location for seeing the southern half of Hawaii Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalaekilohana Hotel Naalehu
Kalaekilohana Hawaii/Naalehu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing