We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful peaceful house”
Review of Kalaekilohana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalaekilohana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naalehu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This place is unique. A timber framed beautiful yellow house with huge verandah set in a remote corner of Big Island, close to the southernmost point of the US. Kilo and his partner Kenny could not have been kinder or more helpful and Kenny is a great cook too! Breakfast was outstanding - with local produce and the prettiest and most colourful plates I have ever seen. Home made pizza night was huge fun too! Faultless rooms with lovely touches like huge towels and waterfall showers. Great views of the volcanos and sea from the lantern light roof. I wish we were still there.......thank you Kilo and Kenny.

Room Tip: All four rooms are similar so no problem with any of them.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 50yearoldcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Kalaekilohana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Wow, that was probably our best stay in Hawaii!
Lovely and charming hosts, wonderful house, quiet location and amazing breakfast (simple with very fresh ingredients). Being able to wash clothes ourselves was greatly appreciated. We stayed there only one night mainly because it's a little remote but I would say 2-3 nights would be worth it. This accommodation is a unique experience, very different from most hotels and resorts we find on the island.
The walk and swim to green sand beach was also one of our best in whole Big Island.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliedum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Everything about this B&B is superlative: the home is beautifully situated on a quiet hill near the ocean, the rooms are not just impeccable but quiet and beautifully furnished. And the food at breakfast is among the finest I have ever eaten in many years of traveling. Our guests were attentive and knowledgeable about music, food, Hawaiian culture and the local places to visit. The only drawback is that there are not a lot of dining options in the area, but Kenny and Kilohana were gracious enough to offer their kitchen for us to make a simple dinner one of the nights we were there. Each evening they would offer us wonderful wine and beer to enjoy on their amazing front porch. It was delightful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

What a lovely experience. Kenny and Kilohana are perfect hosts and know how to make everyone feel welcome. The house is great, the food delicious and the company entertaining. Thanks for wonderful time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We are experienced world travelers exploring the Hawaian islands to find a place we can go to again next winter, trying resorts, vacation rentals and for a change this bed and breakfast.
We stayed only one night not knowing its qualities and should have spend 2 or three. We will certainly come back with more time. The hosts Kilohana and Kenny have made "hospitality" their lifestyle and are truely good at it. They are masters of creating this peaceful welcoming environment which is hard to describe; staying in the background when not needed and providing everything you may really want when you need it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthias P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Staying with Kilohana and Kenny was like staying with old friends. We learned so much about the Hawaiian culture, food and music while staying with them - it felt like a really authentically Hawaiian home. The house is beautiful, and the beds were divinely comfortable. Each room as its own lanai so you can relax and watch the world go by. The breakfasts were fantastic; we loved the traditional Hawaiian, the strawberry pancakes - and apple bananas really are the best kind! This is perfectly located for visiting Punalu'u Black Sand Beach, South Point and the Green Sand Beach. I dearly hope that one day we will get to visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatalieBoxshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We booked this lodging as a result of its very high ranking on Trip Advisor. It turns out that the consensus there was spot on. Kenny and Kilohana welcomed us as if we were long-time friends and gave us invaluable tips on how best to see the area.

They built the structure 9 years ago with an airy layout that is very Hawaiian. The floors and furnishings are of spectacular local woods, the bedrooms (each with a bathroom) were comfortably large, and the decor was unique and reflective of island culture and of the owners' interests (ask Kilohana about the kahilis)..

Our hosts make a point of using local produce from the farmers markets and preparing gourmet food that is light. For example, one dinner consisted of beef filet, green salad with garlic-and- herb creamy dressing, yellow and orange carrots, red and white quinoa, and homemade vanilla ice cream on berry cobbler. Wine, beer and soft drinks were available at no extra charge, whether for dinner or to take on a picnic.

Breakfast was served on the open porch overlooking the long green slope to the road. Hawaiian coffee, of course. One morning Kenny presented strawberry papaya, pineapple, coconut cream with home-made granola, home-made wholewheat muffins with local gooseberry jam, salmon, asparagus and grilled tomato.

We fully intend to return to the Big Island, and when we do, you can find us at Kalaekilohana.

Room Tip: Kalaekilohana has perhaps only four or five guest rooms. Allow the hosts to place you where they wi...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbilenePeregrinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naalehu
66.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
67.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
37.3 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
64.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
63.8 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalaekilohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaekilohana

Address: 94-2152 South Point Road, Naalehu, Island of Hawaii, HI 96772
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Naalehu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naalehu
Price Range: £291 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii's greatest luxury value, with generous complimentary amenities that save you hundreds and a perfect location for seeing the southern half of Hawaii Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalaekilohana Hotel Naalehu
Kalaekilohana Hawaii/Naalehu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing