We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We never wanted to leave!”
Review of Kalaekilohana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalaekilohana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naalehu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We hesitated about writing a review because we wanted to keep this gem a secret, but seems the cat's out of the bag...

Short review:

This place is paradise. Seriously. Go here.

Longer review:

My husband and I spent three nights at this lovely bed and breakfast. We had read all of the positive reviews etc. on tripadvisor, but didn't really know what to expect beyond that. The instant we drove up to the gorgeous yellow house, we knew we had made the right decision.

Kenny and Kilohana run the most immaculate and wonderful bed and breakfast we've ever seen. They focus on every single detail. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The beds were maybe the most comfortable beds we've ever slept on. Breakfast every morning was delicious (and good for you! we hiked a lot and the breakfast definitely kept us going for hours). Plus they served delicious Hawaiian french press coffee first thing in the AM. This is clutch for me, as I need coffee pretty much the second I open my eyes.

We arrived basically with no plans for what to see on the island. Not saying that's a good strategy for everyone, but Kenny and Kilohana gave us tons of greats suggestions for places to see / visit. Then when we'd come back at night from a long day of hiking, exploring, (or hanging on the beach), they were there to greet us on the porch. Some of the most fun we had was unwinding on the porch at night before bed, having some of the (free) wine and chatting with K&K and the other guests (Note: there are only three rooms in the B&B, so it's a nice intimate, but social group. However, there's no pressure to hang and chat if you want to keep to yourself in the evening -- the first night when we arrived, my husband and I were so tired that we went straight to bed.)

Then when you go to bed, you can sit on your private porch and see the most wonderful view of the night sky ever. We had literally never seen that many stars. I couldn't believe it. I would go back just for the stars.

Plus laundry and wifi are included. And all the snacks you can eat!

All in all, we could not recommend more highly.

Room Tip: There are only three, and they appear to be all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Few times in our travels have we experienced the absolute quality and quantity of service and attention as that of Kenny and Kilohana at the Kalaekilohana “bed and breakfast” on South Point road in the Ka’u district of the Big Island of Hawai’i. In reality it dwarfs the term bed and breakfast. An absolutely beautiful property built by its hosts with care and precision in every aspect and detail. They have put themselves into every room, amenity and service they provide – each with a smile and heartfelt Aloha! Kenny is a master chef in the use, preparation and presentation of amazing combinations of sight, smell and taste of a broad spectrum of local fruits, vegetables, meats and bakery specialties. Kilohana is a quite master of Hawaiian art and culture with the patience to respond to each guest’s question about Hawai’i and its people thoughtfully. Their signature practice of always greeting you upon each arrival and salutation upon each departure during your stay transmits the true feeling of aloha as no other. No matter what you want to do or where you want to go they are there with directions, suggestions and the amenities to make your day’s adventure as full and rewarding as possible. For a truly memorable experience in the quiet and peaceful surroundings of service at its absolute best, plan a lengthy stay at this impeccable property with these remarkable hosts.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent with superb amenities and comforting design and appointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I spent six wonderful nights at the Kalaekilohana on The Big Island and can say, without equivocation, this is a true gem of a B&B. The owners, Kilohana and Kenny are incredible hosts-every detail of the Inn is beautiful and the breakfasts (and dinners-yes, they even serve some dinners) were scrumptious and every one a work of art to both see and taste. I happened to be there during a hurricane and an earthquake-incredibly rare events both but they kept everyone informed, safe and thoroughly entertained and well fed throughout. It is located perfectly between Hilo and Kona and very close to some gorgeous beaches and of course volcanoes!

Room Tip: Rooms are very spacious and can accommodate children in their own beds-only 4 rooms total to the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank emily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Both Leo and I stayed at Kalaekilohana for 2 nights on July 2-4th. We wished we could have stayed longer but they are fully booked! We are both flight attendants and we usually stay in big chain hotels mostly 5stars. But when I came across kalaekilohana, and those reviews! I thought I must visit this place! My boyfriend was quite hesitated at first, he was like ' are you sure you wanna stay at someone's house??? ' I was like yeah,why not! They have to be something!
Upon our arrival, Kenny and Kilo was already at the main entrance welcoming us. That was really warm as we had a long day and was really tired. Kenny quickly helped us to the ocean suite which we are booked on. Room was spacious, color of the room was just like the name,in tones of blue, a nice and ample wardrobe area with huge bathroom. The water pressure was excellent too. After a long day u just want a good shower! We had a quick tour of the house and met the star of the house....Rusty Jr! Incredible fridge with fully stocked drinks. And if you are concern about sugar and calories, there's a good selection of zero calories drinks:) impressive! We had a good night sleep and Kenny has also asked what would be my preferred timing for breakfast between 7-9am the night before! Mind you, their breakfast are freshly prepared, and best of the week! Freshest veg and fruits guaranteed! We enjoyed our breakfast very much and looking forward to the next day. We were also offered beach chairs and cooler packs to pack in some drinks from rusty Jr and some light snacks to bring along to the beach. Not even a 6star hotel offers that! When night falls,we will sit around the indoor area and enjoy our evening over a cuppa hot drink or wines, and it's all on the house! What a host right?? I really felt at home and those serenity and peace, this is indeed a retreat! Kilo and Kenny are also very helpful with nearby activities and places to visit. Just ask them anything :) this is a priceless experience to us and we will definitely recommend this incredible Kalaekilohana to anyone! Kenny and Kilo, may you all continue to make this place a rekindle place. Rekindle the souls and hearts!

1  Thank Catherinellm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our second stay at Kalaekilohana and we plan on returning on our next trip to the Big Island. Staying here is like visiting family friends (who happen to be great cooks!) rather than staying in a bed and breakfast. Kenny and Kilohana provide a wonderful breakfast followed by tips on how to enhance your plans for the day. Dinner was better than anything we have eaten on the island, either in a large resort or a local restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bob256000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I don't usually stay at bed and breakfasts, but while planning a trip with my daughter to visit the big island, we decided to stay at the inn because of its proximity to south point and the green beach and we were very glad we did!

The place and hosts are wonderful and I would strongly recommend a visit there on your way to volcano national park.

The hosts did everything possible to make us feel at home and comfortable, including making us dinner on the First night when we arrived late and all the restaurants in town were closed.

We would strongly recommend a stay there

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

As many of the other reviews seem to agree, Kenny and Kilo run a one of a kind B&B/Inn.

We stayed exclusively at B&B's while circling the Big Island and 2 really stood out. Although we loved both, there is no way in the world we could could compare the 2. Apples and oranges. In one we were the only guests, which was great and even if there had been other guests, it was run so that each couple/family could have privacy and be private for everything they did. Here there is a option, with the knowledge the Kenny and Kilo have about the island, you can go and play/adventure all day or stay back and rest totally alone in your room; or it also has this wonderful communal feel about it.

As soon as you park the car, one or both of the "guys" is there on the lana'i to welcome you. They take you in, walk you around, take you to your room and you are all set.....and offered dinner on the nights Kenny cooks. I even asked about settling our bill and he says, "no, you are here, relax, we will take care of that later." On the weekend we were here I am pretty sure it was a full house, but yet we still received the one on one attention we had at the other bed and breakfast. Maybe that is what amazed me, or maybe having multiple couples sitting on the porch talking, you cover more info, either way, we still felt important.

No worries about comfort. We traveled with our 2 girls (11 & 17) and had a large room with 2 queen /full beds and a day bed. No need for AC at all with the trade winds. The lana'i on our room was wonderful, BUT, the one downstairs where others could come and sit....now that was nice. If someone was there you could compare your days experiences or give tips and tricks for somewhere you already knew about, if you were alone, that perfect breeze would/could knock you right out on those comfy couches.

Breakfast was full of variety. All local to my understanding, but in 2 days the only thing duplicated was papaya and coffee.

The real kicker here is all the "extras" If you are traveling light, some of these things may not matter but to a family of 4 traveling only with carryon luggage........these are some of the things they have for your use at no extra charge: washer/dryer and supplies; shampoo, conditioner and body wash (nice stuff-and full size): "rusty jr" (fridge) you can keep leftovers here or they keep it stocked with water and other drinks: they do have wine waiting for you: and the list keeps going.

Although this was the most expensive property we stayed in, when you add in all the "luxury" and day to day necessities that it may be hard to have while traveling...it was all worth it.

Room Tip: none needed, all looked wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creekbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naalehu
39 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
433 reviews
66.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
67.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
64.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
58.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalaekilohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaekilohana

Address: 94-2152 South Point Road, Naalehu, Island of Hawaii, HI 96772
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Naalehu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naalehu
Price Range: £160 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii's greatest luxury value, with generous complimentary amenities that save you hundreds. A perfect location for seeing the southern half of Hawaii Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalaekilohana Hotel Naalehu
Kalaekilohana Hawaii/Naalehu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing