We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful surprise.”

Hawaiian Vanilla Company
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Paauilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise.”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We happened upon hawaiian vanilla co through another company, called ahead an hour for a slot on their tour, and were pleasantly surprised with a fantastic product, staff, and atmosphere. Our tourguide was a wealth of knowledge. He was kind, funny, amd made the tour enjot abke. The value for your $ goes a long way here. We enjoyed every moment of this family business. Its worth the 3 mile drive up the mountain.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khorne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    27
    5
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No-Go - they just don't care”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We tried to visit the Vanilla Company. I contacted the owner several weeks in advance and then again a couple days before the date we wanted to have lunch, leaving multiple phone numbers and an email address - and then again on the day before we wanted to visit. The owner had written that places were available and that someone would get back to me about an actual reservation, but no one did until the same day as the proposed visity - a couple of hours before the actual time of the lunch - much too late for us to do the outing at that point. (My last desperate message had said we needed to hear the night before the date in order to make the trip over to their place, but it went unanswered by staff or owner though I left the message at multiple contacts.)

We were disappointed that we missed the experience, one we had been eager enough for to try to arrange it well in advance of the actual visit.

We were affronted by the callousness of the treatment by staff and owner. When we finally heard back, it was a brief unconcerned sorry we didn't get back to you and then no further contact or apology when we wrote back that their message came too late for us to make the visit. The staff and owner just didn't seem to care. What a way to do business.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank t d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A MUST DO on the Big Island!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited Hawaiian Vanilla Company at the beginning of a 6-week trip around the Pacific, and after visiting places like Bali and Koh Tao, Hawaiian Vanilla Company still tops the list of experiences and food! Be sure to make a reservation, as our seating for lunch and the tour was completely full. The drive there was lovely, and we arrived early and were able to walk around the area and experience the beautiful views. The appetizer and cooking demonstration were both so interesting-the owner's oldest son was leading our tour and was so knowledgeable and engaging. Lunch was AMAZING! The main course was presented beautifully and tastes even better, and dessert was the most incredible vanilla ice cream you'll ever taste. The tour of the farm was interesting and just the right length (I have a short attention span for tours...) and left us excited to peruse the gift shop of vanilla products while enjoying a cup of vanilla coffee with vanilla sugar and cream! We left feeling satisfied and educated. Do not miss this!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelJTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Madre, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a nice little side trip...”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Family run, there is a good presentation about vanilla and a nice variety of products available here...only vanilla plantation in the US!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Interesting & Good Eats”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This was a fun tour. Very informative and we were served some really good food. Definitely worth the visit..

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hawaiian Vanilla Company also viewed

Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaiian Vanilla Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing