We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely area...”
other travellers have booked this property
Upgraded brand new Full Size front load washer and dryer!  No need to walk down to the laundry room!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upgraded brand new Full Size front load washer and dryer!  No need to walk down to the laundry room!
We welcome you into our newly remodeled home in Hawaii. Updated Kitchen boasts brand new Stainless Steel appliances and ample room!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Upgraded brand new Full Size front load washer and dryer!  No need to walk down to the laundry room!
We welcome you into our newly remodeled home in Hawaii.
Updated Kitchen boasts brand new Stainless Steel appliances and ample room!
We added a built in desk area to do work, check emails, or write letters home!
Turtles frequent the Punalu'u Black Sand Beach
Historic Black Sand Beach, the first landfall  of Polynesian colonists
Living room features a Queen size Johnathan Louis sleeper sofa, TV with a Wii & video games!
New King size platform bed with storage underneath if you plan to stay a while!
New bathroom with natural Slate floors and a large walk in shower
Linens & towels provided. Each cleaning will provide you with eco-friendly guest amenities.
Natural Slate walk-in shower
Watch the sky turn colors at sunrise from the lanai
'peek a boo' ocean view from the lanai
We have ample seating on the lanai, a small bar table and a full size patio table for all to enjoy!
Hawaii Green Geckos are a frequent visitor on the lanai
Sea Mountain at Colony 1 from the lower road to the golf course at sunrise!
the entire complex overlooks the golf course out to the ocean
Salt water swimming pool is refreshing in the middle of the day
lava hot tub overlooks the ocean
sign from the highway at sunrise
...just sit back, relax, and take in the beauty of Hawaii
The 'Ninole Loop Road' is a 3 mile 'loop' that is great for a morning run
mountain view walking back up from beach.  Golf Course up on hill.
Colony 1 grounds
Golf Course features 6,416 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 72
Play a round of golf at the course which surrounds Colony 1
Punalu'u Black Sand Beach is a short walk from the condo
take a walk to the Punalu'u Black Sand Beach
Historical pond at Punalu'u
relax on the beach during your stay
Black Sand beach across from golf course 'Koloa Bay'
Offering at the ancient Heiau 'Kaieie', near Colony One
from the highway
local Punaluu Bake shop offers pastries, ice cream, coffee, lunch and the most amazing bread
Hawaiian sweet bread baked locally at Punaluu Bake Shop
Local bands play every day at the Punaluu Bakery!!  Sit back, Sip coffee and enjoy a malasada!
South Point is a popular spot for cliff diving when the seas are calm
South Point, the most southern point in the USA.  A great spot to sit and watch the sunset!!
Hana Hou, local grind - Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & Desserts!
Wind turbins at South Point
Green Sand beach
Scuba dive & Snorkel at Place of Refuge (approx. 45 min. drive)
Place of Refuge diving
Overlooking the land towards Punaluu Black Sand Beach from Naalehu.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pahala, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MandyLY
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely area...”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The unit is nice, bed downstairs was comfortable but the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. This unit would be good for a single person or a couple, not great for a family. The living room curtains are sheer so anyone on the sofa bed is woken up at sunrise.

The pool is gorgeous and so is the hot tub and fountain area where birds come. Unit is a five minute walk from the black sand beach and the area is quiet.

Bathroom is fairly well set up, but there are no towel racks at all when we were there in March, not even a hand towel rack so towels are sitting on counters, doorknobs, getting knocked on the floor. The fan is unusually loud, and they need coat hooks at the entrance so rain jackets aren't on the floor, easy fixes though. Oh, and the wifi information on the sheet didn't make sense at all, we had to find the login info on the router.

Location is perfect for visits to Volcano and South Point. The view from the balcony is fantastic. I'd stay again if I was with just my husband, look for a larger place if our son is with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Mahalo for the review, and our apologies about the sleeper sofa. We do try to make our home as comfortable as possible for our guests, and we value feedback so we can make it the best we can for others to enjoy! We try to suit everyone's needs, a best as we can, as we use the home for our own too. The bathroom fan is loud, but that is due to the installation of a large commercial fan when we did the bathroom remodel. There is no insulation in the walls, and it is used to help silent out bathroom noises, in addition to help ventilate the area, due to not having windows. Humidity can be such a problem in Hawai'i! Otherwise, we hope that you enjoyed your trip to the area. It is such a magnificent place to be treasured!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Y
1 review
“Awesome Rental!”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved staying at this location. The property was clean and nicely updated with beautiful views of the ocean. We loved the day at the pool, barbecuing by the pool and playing golf at the on-sight course. The black sand beach is a short drive away and so beautiful. The recommendations for food and local activities were spot on. We would have loved to live on the Big Island forever! The only negative is the mattress on the pull out bed was really uncomfortable. My son just slept on the sofa and it worked fine. We will be recommending it and hopefully coming back. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location and recently updated home.
Liked least: Mattress on the pull out sofa.
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Mahalo for your feedback and we always enjoy hearing from our guests. We are glad you enjoyed our home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffandre...
Wichita, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and Comfortable”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I would highly recommend this rental to anyone who wants a quiet, comfortable, and scenic stay in Pahala!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Many mahalos for the review, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Black Sand Beach Vacation Rental! The area is truly 'un-touched' Hawaii and has lots to offer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Up to Date & Well Appointed Condo”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed 2 nights in the south at this lovely & fully equipped Condo. The bed was comfortable. The shower large & pleasant. The kitchen ample & well equipped. We received very helpful information about the condo, but also guidance & recommendations about where to shop, eat & sights to visit. Good advice in each instance! The lockbox meant we didn't have to worry about finding the key for our later Sunday arrival. We were well supplied with contact numbers, but didn't need them. Only downside, the noise of this bathroom fan. Lovely bathroom & shower, it would have been nice to be able to turn off the fan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to Back Sand Beach
Liked least: Bathroom fan noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Mahalo for the review and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay!! Apologies for the bathroom fan; we have installed the commercial fan due to the humidity & moisture problems we have in the bathroom with no windows. We do appreciate the honesty and we try to make our home as comfortable as possible for our guests. <3
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shari i
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful, relaxing stay.”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Loved this place!

The unit is beautiful, with a large new kitchen with all the appliances and kitchenware you might need, right down to the coffee grinder, a must with all the coffee farms you pass getting here! The bathroom is spacious with huge counter space and awesome walkin shower, the bedroom is big and the bed super comfy. The sofa bed in the living room is suitable for kids. The lanai is large with a bit of the ocean in view. Beautiful pool and spa overlooking the ocean just around the corner, the grounds are beautifully maintained, and the beach below is absolutely beautiful.This was a little piece of paradise to come back to every evening. Convenient to Kilauea and South Point area, reasonable travel time to Hilo. Definitely plan on getting your groceries in Kona or Hilo, the places nearby are very limited,and expensive.

The owner was fantastic to deal with, clearly cares, and provided a wealth of information to make the stay even better. We highly recommend this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, spa, and BBQ area.
Liked least: No complaints!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at our condo on the Big Island of Hawaii! And we agree....the Kau Coffee is the BEST around, and the farms in the area are a definite must see! Glad you got to explore and enjoy the southern part of the island. Aloha and hope to have you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnnie A...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, quiet and secluded property”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Nice facilities, quiet surroundings and beautiful landscapes. Really enjoyed our stay and would book again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Mahalo for the review! We value our guests' feedback! Glad that you visit was a lovely one, and we hope to have you back on the island again in the future! ALOHA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denjan7
Vancouver Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very clean,very quiet, basically old school Hawaii”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the unit - it was very clean with everything you would ever want or need to have a great time - one of the best things was there was no shopping nearby!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing