We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, comfortable condo”
other travellers have booked this property
Upgraded brand new Full Size front load washer and dryer!  No need to walk down to the laundry room!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upgraded brand new Full Size front load washer and dryer!  No need to walk down to the laundry room!
We welcome you into our newly remodeled home in Hawaii. Updated Kitchen boasts brand new Stainless Steel appliances and ample room!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Upgraded brand new Full Size front load washer and dryer!  No need to walk down to the laundry room!
We welcome you into our newly remodeled home in Hawaii.
Updated Kitchen boasts brand new Stainless Steel appliances and ample room!
We added a built in desk area to do work, check emails, or write letters home!
Turtles frequent the Punalu'u Black Sand Beach
Historic Black Sand Beach, the first landfall  of Polynesian colonists
Living room features a Queen size Johnathan Louis sleeper sofa, TV with a Wii & video games!
New King size platform bed with storage underneath if you plan to stay a while!
New bathroom with natural Slate floors and a large walk in shower
Linens & towels provided. Each cleaning will provide you with eco-friendly guest amenities.
Natural Slate walk-in shower
Watch the sky turn colors at sunrise from the lanai
'peek a boo' ocean view from the lanai
We have ample seating on the lanai, a small bar table and a full size patio table for all to enjoy!
Hawaii Green Geckos are a frequent visitor on the lanai
Sea Mountain at Colony 1 from the lower road to the golf course at sunrise!
the entire complex overlooks the golf course out to the ocean
Salt water swimming pool is refreshing in the middle of the day
lava hot tub overlooks the ocean
sign from the highway at sunrise
...just sit back, relax, and take in the beauty of Hawaii
The 'Ninole Loop Road' is a 3 mile 'loop' that is great for a morning run
mountain view walking back up from beach.  Golf Course up on hill.
Colony 1 grounds
Golf Course features 6,416 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 72
Play a round of golf at the course which surrounds Colony 1
Punalu'u Black Sand Beach is a short walk from the condo
take a walk to the Punalu'u Black Sand Beach
Historical pond at Punalu'u
relax on the beach during your stay
Black Sand beach across from golf course 'Koloa Bay'
Offering at the ancient Heiau 'Kaieie', near Colony One
from the highway
local Punaluu Bake shop offers pastries, ice cream, coffee, lunch and the most amazing bread
Hawaiian sweet bread baked locally at Punaluu Bake Shop
Local bands play every day at the Punaluu Bakery!!  Sit back, Sip coffee and enjoy a malasada!
South Point is a popular spot for cliff diving when the seas are calm
South Point, the most southern point in the USA.  A great spot to sit and watch the sunset!!
Hana Hou, local grind - Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & Desserts!
Wind turbins at South Point
Green Sand beach
Scuba dive & Snorkel at Place of Refuge (approx. 45 min. drive)
Place of Refuge diving
Overlooking the land towards Punaluu Black Sand Beach from Naalehu.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pahala, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hochbergl...
Ketchikan, Alaska
1 review
“Quiet, comfortable condo”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

For those seeking relaxation away from the touristy/resort areas, this condo is perfect. It is in a quiet area of the Island, not too far south of Volcano National Park (which is a must-see). There is also a golf course right next door to the condo complex and, although not perfectly maintained, was certainly priced-well. The condo was clean and well-appointed, and I recommend staying here without reservation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Golf is one of our favorite pass times while on vacation, and you are right, the course at Sea Mountain is very reasonably priced and offers some great views along the way! The course does need some updating, but still a fun course to play. Glad you enjoyed the condo during your stay! Mahalo for your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Feb 2017
Mahalo for the review. We are so happy you enjoyed the island and our home as much as we do. Sounds like you explored alot of what the Big Island has to offer! Mahalo Nui Loa and Aloha!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eddie J
1 review
“Absolutely amazing place!”
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The Condo at Sea Mountain was the perfect fit for me and my daughter. I'm not sure just how much driving you plan to do if you stay but this place is worth the stay in my opinion. Selena was great...! Very helpful in making sure I had all the information that I needed. I love the location most of all! It's pretty centrally situated between Hilo and Kailua-Kona. The Condo is very nice and set up very well with just about everything you need for a nice relaxing Vacation. About 20 minutes away from Hawaii Volcano National Park and about 15 minutes away from the Southern most Bakery, Restaurant, and Bar in the USA. PLUS....it has a dishwasher, full size refrigerator and washer and dryer in the unit. Hard to come by in most VacaRentals. Also very well positioned for a day at Green Sands Beach or South Pointe. Absolutely LOVE this Place!! I would stay here again at the drop of a hat! Thanks Selena!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2017
Mahalo for the review! We love to help make each trip as special as it can be. So glad you enjoyed our home in paradise. We hope that you would return again in the future; we offer our repeat guests a discount! Mahalo nui loa for your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelcee j
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best condo we stayed in!”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was the most amazing place! About 45 minutes from both Hilo and Kona and only 10 minutes from the amazing bakery. My husband and I decided to cook a few nights and the condo was the best place for this! The kitchen and bathroom were beautiful and I have zero complaints! Definitely going to stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Mahalo for your review. We always love to hear feedback, and glad to know you enjoyed our condo! Look forward to having you again. We give discounts for repeat visitors, so please be sure to contact us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjudd00
Virginia
1 review
“Great location- home away from home.”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The location was great, we were able to walk to the black sands beach, it was less than a 10 minute walk and every time there was at least one turtle on the beach, one time we saw 6!! The only down side is that the beach is not really for swimming, there are too many lava rocks right there that you could cut yourself on and the surf was a little rough. The condo was nice too, the kitchen and bathroom were beautiful. It felt like a home away from home and even though there was no air conditioning, the Hawaiian breeze kept the condo at about 78 F in the day and at night we actually got quite cold in the bedroom and did need an extra blanket, so we were pleasantly surprised. There was also a pool where you could swim and it looked nice, but we just didn't have time. Our only complaint is that there were a few screens with cuts in them or openings between the screen and window and unfortunately we had two incidences with wasps coming into the condo, but everyplace you go will have some issue like this. I did leave a note for the housekeeper to let her know, but overall it was a great vacation spot!

Side note: Kalapana has a farmers market on wednesday nights and it is a great true Hawaiian experience about an hour away from the condo. Also, we couldn't find a grocery store that was very close, but it didn't cause any type of problem for us because we just found a store Keaau and Kona that we went too when we were heading home after our daily adventures, we recommend you do the same.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Closeness to the beach and turtles
Liked least: the incident with the wasps
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Mahalo for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay at our place! Thank you for letting us know about our screens! We will get someone to repair those. we had not been to the Kalapana farmers market yet, and will have to check it out! Local produce & coffee is the best! Thanks for the info!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandyLY
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely area...”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The unit is nice, bed downstairs was comfortable but the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. This unit would be good for a single person or a couple, not great for a family. The living room curtains are sheer so anyone on the sofa bed is woken up at sunrise.

The pool is gorgeous and so is the hot tub and fountain area where birds come. Unit is a five minute walk from the black sand beach and the area is quiet.

Bathroom is fairly well set up, but there are no towel racks at all when we were there in March, not even a hand towel rack so towels are sitting on counters, doorknobs, getting knocked on the floor. The fan is unusually loud, and they need coat hooks at the entrance so rain jackets aren't on the floor, easy fixes though. Oh, and the wifi information on the sheet didn't make sense at all, we had to find the login info on the router.

Location is perfect for visits to Volcano and South Point. The view from the balcony is fantastic. I'd stay again if I was with just my husband, look for a larger place if our son is with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Mahalo for the review, and our apologies about the sleeper sofa. We do try to make our home as comfortable as possible for our guests, and we value feedback so we can make it the best we can for others to enjoy! We try to suit everyone's needs, a best as we can, as we use the home for our own too. The bathroom fan is loud, but that is due to the installation of a large commercial fan when we did the bathroom remodel. There is no insulation in the walls, and it is used to help silent out bathroom noises, in addition to help ventilate the area, due to not having windows. Humidity can be such a problem in Hawai'i! Otherwise, we hope that you enjoyed your trip to the area. It is such a magnificent place to be treasured!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Y
1 review
“Awesome Rental!”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved staying at this location. The property was clean and nicely updated with beautiful views of the ocean. We loved the day at the pool, barbecuing by the pool and playing golf at the on-sight course. The black sand beach is a short drive away and so beautiful. The recommendations for food and local activities were spot on. We would have loved to live on the Big Island forever! The only negative is the mattress on the pull out bed was really uncomfortable. My son just slept on the sofa and it worked fine. We will be recommending it and hopefully coming back. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location and recently updated home.
Liked least: Mattress on the pull out sofa.
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Mahalo for your feedback and we always enjoy hearing from our guests. We are glad you enjoyed our home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing