We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property
Hale Ke Kai
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hale Ke Kai
Hale KeKai Lanai Ocean View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Hale Ke Kai
Hale KeKai
Lanai Ocean View
Lanai (Patio) view
Dining Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
King Size Bed
wasching machine / dryer closet
Pool with Hot Tub
Sunrise at Punaluu
Punaluu Black Sand Beach
Ka'u Coastal Scene
Punaluu Golf Course
Ka'u Coastal Scene
Mauna Loa
Mauna Loa
Beautiful Mountains of Ka'u
Punaluu Locals: Honu (Sea Turtle)
Whale Breaching
....with luck from the Lanai
Ka'u Locals
Papakolea Green Sand Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pahala, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Quaelyn
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Hale Kekai for two nights. We wanted to be close to Mahana Beach and Volcanoes National Park, and the location for this property was perfect for both. We actually had a little issue before arriving - I contacted Jeff, the owner, a couple of weeks before our arrival asking about directions to the property and such since I hadn't heard anything from him. It turns out that he uses a couple of sites to rent out his property and in a fluke situation they didn't sync properly and one of the nights we had booked ended up being double booked by another guest. Jeff hadn't even noticed the mistake until I had contacted him, but once he was aware he was incredibly helpful and accommodating in trying to find a solution that worked for both me and my husband as well as the other guest. My husband and I ended up staying at Hale Kekai while Jeff found accommodation at another unit for the other guest. As far as I know, we were all very satisfied.

Other than that slight hiccup that was taken care of with speed and thoughtfulness, our time at Hale Kekai was absolutely wonderful! The property is beautiful and kept up well. The view from the lanai is breathtaking. The unit is part of a condo complex, so there are units all around it, but we wouldn't have been able to tell as it was so quiet. The walk to the beach is easy and doesn't take much time. We only made it to the beach once because of packing our schedule too heavily and not having much time, but we did see some turtles (on the beach itself and in the water) when we made it there.

Overall, we loved the property and would recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet getaway on the Big Island that is still close enough to other attractions. Our only regret is that we weren't able to spend more than just 2 nights there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sealeigh
Reston, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Views!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hale Kekai and were most pleasantly surprised to find the black sand beach was an easy walk from the condo. We did the walk often and always found a different turtle (or more!) resting on the beach.
The surrounding area was accurately described in the thorough literature provided by the Owner and we referred to it often for sightseeing and dining suggestions.
The unit provides a lovely, private patio with an incredible view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Within walking distance to a beautiful beach! Condo development was very nice.
Liked least: Unit was clean, but it could use some freshening (paint touch-up, linens updates)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molly58wa...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“fantastic getaway”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 for a stay in November 2013

this is an excellent property easy to find great information on the area provided by owners ....recommend highly... access to pool, golf course was great... private spot amongst mant units... hardly knew others were around

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2013visit...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful vacation rental”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We received valuable tips on travel & local sceneries. The townhouse is spotless, comfortable and beautifully decorated. We loved the sounds of the waves, the bird songs in the morning & the walks along the black sand beach (to greet our tutle friends when they came ashore, and to waive goodbye when they swam away with the waves from the ocean).
Bring a few food items from Hilo or Kona. The grocery store here is not as fully stocked as those in the other parts of the island, and may be more pricey (in case of doubt, best check with your hosts).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property & the location
Liked least: the grocery shopping
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga K
Schleswig, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: die liebevolle Einrichtung
Liked least: es gab nichts zu krietisieren
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing