We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property, far from volcano.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Mountain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great property, far from volcano.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed that actual property, however it was a bit further away from everything as we would have liked. We used it as a base for our Hilo side which wasn't the best idea. It's a 1.5 hour drive to Hilo and 45 to the volcano. Also, as a condo with full kitchen and no resteraunts near by we planned on cooking. However, there are also no grocery stores near by. So plan on doing your shopping before arriving. It was amazing that its right on the black sand beach and there were always turtles present. The sunsets over the ocean amd golf course were also beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank khorne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    39
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
39
63
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here at the Sea Mountain (now being called Colony 1) September 15th for 4 nights. We had a studio #36. This was the most quiet, clean and beautiful place to stay. The studio we had was spotless. Bed very comfortable. Had all the kitchen items needed. Washer and dryer and a very large walk in shower. View was great. The Black Sand Beach is in walking distance. My husband got the most wonderful sunrise pictures. They do have a golf course. We don't play golf but, we could watch them play and they looked like they were enjoying it very much.

The Condo's are 1 hour and 15 mins from the Hilo airport driving the speed limit. It is hard to see the turn for the condos. It will be on your left. The 4way isn't lighted but, it is a 4 way you will come to. It gets dark at 6:32pm on the Big Island so driving in we couldn't see anything.

If you come in after 5pm. They will leave you information on how to call and to get your key if you are arriving late. We came into the condos at dark and when we woke up and seen the beauty we couldn't hardly believe our eyes.

Some of the reviews says there no where to eat. If you come out of the condos at the 4 way and turn left and head toward Kona. Drive for 15 mins and you will come to the Punaluu Bake Shop. They have the most wonderful pastry's and sandwiches and they are reasonably priced. They are open from 9am to 5pm.

Also, some reviewers said you need to come in by Kona due to getting grocery's but, you don't. When you turn left out of the Hilo airport. A couple of blocks down on your right there is a KTA grocery store. Go a few more blocks and on your right there is a Walmart and other shops.

We ate supper at the Hawaiian Café that the enterprise guy told us about at the airport. Good food large portions.

They have a very clean well maintained med size kidney shape pool and a very warm hot tub. Grills if you want to use them. Everyone we came in contact with was very nice and pleasant.

The rooms are cooled by ceiling fans only. But, was fine for us. We didn't get too hot. It was great waking up to the sounds of the doves outside. You can open all windows and sliding door for more air if needed.

If you want a quiet restful place to stay out away from all the hustle and bustle this is where you need to stay. I can't say enough about this place. My husband was so relaxed he unpacked our cloths and put them away as if we were going to live there. He has never done that before. He says it's a little peace of paradise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NariK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was a one week timeshare exchange in. Checked in before the office closed at 5pm. Helpful, engaging staff. Look at your maps or smart phone and know where you're going, as there is little warning for the turn off; easy to miss at highway speed. The condo was well supplied with cleaning supplies and utensils. Everything worked. The bed sagged some.Grounds are well maintained. This was a warm week and we were still fine without any A/C. With everyone living with their windows and doors open, and running the ceiling fans, you do sometimes hear your neighbors. Generally everyone is very quiet, but the couple opposite us had late night fights for three of the nights. Some of the units are owner occupied condos and some are rented. I don't know what percentage VI controls.

Really beautiful area, walked to the black sand beach three times and saw the turtles, Swam once; clear cold water the lifeguard said was unusual. Lifeguard present only during weekdays and leaves at 4:45.

The new Kahuku unit of the National Park is only open on the weekends. Since this resort is close to it, look at the NPS web site and if you are interested, plan ahead. Also, South Point road is fine, don't hesitate if you want to go.

Will watch for this resorts availability in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SkinnyDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The condo itself is nicely maintained, and the area is beautiful, right next to the black sand beach, where sea turtles are in abundance. However, the unit we had was poorly equipped with kitchen wares, no pots or pans, so how can we cook? And it is 15 minutes drive to the nearest mart/market, which were small. The local restaurant is terrible as well. There is no housekeeping either.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qiaoyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JABoughton, Director Inventory Management at Sea Mountain, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize that your unit’s kitchen was missing essential cookware. Every kitchen is equipped with a 7 piece pot/pan set. I am in hopes that you were able to notify the front desk as they would have provided you with an another set.

Thank you for letting us know about your stay and we hope to have another opportunity to impress you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Most beautiful resort, location is intimate, near perfect experience but there is no room safe. Going out for the day I chose to put my personal belongings in the microwave just in case of vandals. When we departed the next day, I forgot to remove them. The resort manager called us about an hour after we left and we turned right around. My husband and I decided a lovely dozen of masaladas pastries and a monetary reward to be given because my belongings included seven hundred cash and jewelry my deceased father had made. But when I received my stuff, found a hundred missing. I decided that was ample reward and did not file a report.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cecilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JABoughton, Director Inventory Management at Sea Mountain, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like to discuss the matter further with you as this is a serious situation that needs to be addressed immediately. Please contact Gerald Lucero who oversees the management at Sea Mountain at 808-326-2252 at your earliest convenience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed in unit #72 for 2
nights during our visit to the Big Island & I'm absolutely in love with this place! Wish we could have stayed longer. It is extremely peaceful, quiet & has breataking views of the ocean & waves. Although the location is secluded, this is exactly what I was looking for. Would highly recommend this resort if you're planning on visiting the south side of the island. Volcano National Park is only a short drive & that was the main purpose of our visit. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lwoodenrn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JABoughton, Director Inventory Management at Sea Mountain, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay! Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed with our two children aged 7 and 9 for one night on the way to the volcano park.
Condo #12 was high-end with one bedroom and a pull-out couch in the family room. The bathroom had a marble counter and a stacked washer/dryer. The kitchen was well equipped, allowing us to cook dinner/breakfast. The property has a pool and hot tub and is adjacent to a golf. It is possible to walk to the black sand beach. I wished we would have stayed there longer because of the scenery. It's a peaceful place, minutes from the ocean. It could serve as a good base to explore the volcano park.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandrine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahala
27.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kalaekilohana
Kalaekilohana
#1 of 1 in Naalehu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
63.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
59.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
4.8 mi away
Pahala Plantation Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mountain

Property: Sea Mountain
Address: 95-788 Ninole Road, Punalu'u, Pahala, Island of Hawaii, HI 96777
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Pahala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Mountain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mountain Hotel Pahala
Sea Mountain Hawaii/Pahala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing