We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place!”
Review of Kapoho Village Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pahoa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kapoho Village Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
St. Paul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful place!”
Reviewed 2 November 2008

I'm two months late with this review; my mom died just days after we returned home. It's only now that I have time to enjoy my memories of our Hawaiian vacation, and Kapoho Village Inn was an important part of that. We wanted to stay somewhere within an easy drive of the lava flow, and were lucky to find this place! It's sparkling clean, simple, lovely, and out of the way. We were so grateful to be out of the intense Labor Day heat, traffic, and vog of the dry side.

There are frogs, but since one of my cherished memories of childhood is the night sound of spring peepers from the pond down the road, I was delighted. The Kapoho tide pools were amazing, and we were happy the tide was coming in instead of going out. Sunrise at Ahalanui Park was magical. We spent deliciously cool evenings watching the lava flow explode into the ocean.

We had only intended to spend a night; it extended into four. The truth was, neither of us could bear to leave. For a couple of nights, we had the whole place to ourselves. It was our oasis of peace and comfort. I see that other travelers have included pictures of the Inn, so I'm just going to add a couple of Ahalanui Park, only minutes down the road; and a couple of the lava flow area.

  • Liked — Quiet, clean, lovely area, enormous kitchen, listening to birdsong on the lanai
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank imkalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2008

Our family booked two of the rooms in this charming 30's era home for sugar cane workers as a place to call home while we explored the southeast end of the big island. The hotel was fantastic and our hosts, Chris and Tish, were a pleasure. The sights were fantastic, plentiful, and all within a few minutes drive.

The property is located in what seems like a rain forest, has been completely renovated and is in great shape with just six nicely outfitted rooms, a great community kitchen, and several beautiful baths in the adjoining building. We had the place to ourselves and the kids were in heaven. They would have gladly spent all day playing on the big hill behind the hotel if not for the many adventures.

We made morning runs to snorkel the coral reefs in the tide pools, swim in the volcanically heated pool, hike the green mountain crater, and crawl through the lava tubes. After lunch at the hotel, we wandered Lava Tree state park, swam with the surfers in the state park, and took our rental Jeep off road to the light house. Every evening after dinner, we went to the viewing area just outside Volcano's National Park to watch the lava flow into the Pacific.

We will never forget our time at the Kapoho Village Inn!

  • Liked — The Surroundings and The Hosts
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisKatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Great little place out in the Puna district countryside. Clean, modern and just the basics (bedroom, shared bathrooms and shared kitchen). This is for someone looking for a getaway not a tourist experience. It's very quiet (except for the coqui frogs at night) and no street lights so you get an excellent view of the stars (between the nightly showers :) ). The Hilo area is rainy but much better than I expected (though at times it does rain a lot). I'm from Seattle so rain is not an issue especially when it's warm rain! The ocean is 10mins away on one side and the Volcano National Park is 45 mins away the other way. I got to see the lava flowing into the ocean and that's about 30mins away. Great place and the owner is very helpful and friendly (kudos to Chris and Trish!)
Jack Jensen

  • Liked — quiet, home-like, country-setting
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjensen554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2008

This is the perfect little get-away spot! Wonderful historical building completely remodeled, but you can still feel the history of it. Completely away from anything touristy but still a quick drive to Pahoa restaurants (great food) and swimming/snorkeling/surfing. Cool breezes and fans keep you totally comfortable without AC, even in August. Fruit trees on the property for the pickin'. Really nice upgraded full kitchen that's got all the cooking and eating stuff you need, and there's a natural foods grocery store just up the road. Very quiet and serene surrounding--you feel all alone in the middle of the forest. The owners are really sweet and keep the place up immaculately. They've been very thoughtful of every detail, from nice towels to excellent showerheads. And the beds are the most comfortable I slept in for our whole trip. I would not hesitate to recommend this place very highly to anyone looking for a quiet, out of the way place to relax and renew. It's like heaven.

  • Liked — The quiet, serene location and the quality of the rooms/bathrooms/kitchen
  • Disliked — Can't really think of anything I didn't like
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lookinforthesun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
21.2 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
71 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kirpal Meditation and Ecological Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
4.3 mi away
The Ohia House
The Ohia House
#2 of 17 in Pahoa
210 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapoho Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapoho Village Inn

Property: Kapoho Village Inn
Address: 14-4587 Pahoa Kapoho Rd, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-7926
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapoho Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time, when railroads and sugarcane dominated the Big Island of Hawaii. This former railroad station now caters to visitors in search of adventure. Sunshine, cooling trade winds and mountain glimpses all compliment its choice hilltop location. Our small hotel is nestled beside Green Mountain with its crater lake, where you're only a short 5 minute drive to incredible snorkeling in the Kapoho tide pools, soaking in the Ahalanui hot ponds, or catching a wave at Pohoiki. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kapoho Village Hotel Pahoa
Kapoho Village Inn Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing