We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for more.”
Review of Kalani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kalani
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Pahoa
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more.”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I had a truly wonderful, magical, healing and transformative experience during my 1 week at Kalani. I was nervous that it would feel too hippy for me, I think, but I ended up really loving everything about the experience. The food was abundant and delicious with tons of options, mostly local foods & very fresh. I loved the communal dining style. My room was very clean and wonderful. The windows are just screens, no glass, but that was fine. The only issue was that everything that was made of paper in my room (my journal, for instance) ended up feeling a little limp by the end of the week from dampness, but nothing ever got wet inside the room. It rained a little every day I was there but was also sunny every day. "The Point" - a spot across the street right at the ocean - is beautiful and so serene. There are tons of classes to choose from each day. I did a different yoga class each day and all the teachers were wonderful & wise. In particular I loved Amma, Maxwell, Jared, Will & Caroline. I also took a Huna Healing class with Stewart and would highly recommend it. He was thoughtful and informative and it was a great experience. There was more internet access than I even had expected - a few different locations around the campus. Cute geckos everywhere. The pool & hot tubs are so relaxing. Be forewarned that most people are nude at the pool, but don't shy away because of that. I wasn't sure if maybe people would be nude EVERYwhere and that was not the case at all. Only by the pool. And everyone is very chill about it. I wore a bathing suit and no one cared about that either. It's a very non judgmental kind of place. I have never felt so supported & loved by a community.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savemelater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    63
    25
    16
    11
See reviews for
18
52
67
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed in tree house 12 for four nights. Overall I had a great time, the staff was friendly, the grounds were very peaceful and well maintained, and the pool & Jacuzzi area was clean and large. Yes there were 'issues' in the room, such as sleeping without windows just screens, and visitors such as a lizard and a cockroach, and a mean looking wolf-spider guarding the front door, also the bathroom could use a total remodel. And given that I was paying a decent amount of money to stay here, and even though the food was healthy and plentiful, I could be annoyed at having to bus my own plates. However, all of those issues became mostly irrelevant when I focused on the overall spirit of the place. This is a wonderful retreat in the middle of a very rustic, isolated, unspoiled part of the Big Island. A 5 star hotel would be totally out of character here, I didn't expect (or pay for) a 5 star resort and as a result I loved my time here !

Green Features: The resort is the most environmentally friendly place I have ever stayed at ! The rainwater as drinking water option was awesome !
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SubPsyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I came for a spiritual program that was good. I don't want quinoa. Some of the food does not taste good. Like to have more vegan choices other than tofu. Difficult to carry the food to the table. Nice they have rice and soy milk available. Grounds are nice. They have a silent eating area but people are talking at that table.

Green Features: good but you have to bus your dishes and its very uncomfortable back there and dirty
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ViViFlamenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in tree house #12. Wonderful room NOT IN A TREE, but a very nice wooded view of the meadows. Clean. Not enough towels...walk to get extras before 8 pm! Grumpy and rude gal at office refused to hand over fresh towels because it was 8:05pm. Be on time or you will have to deal with nasty rank towels too.
Food was very good, again pricey for what you receive especially breakfast.
Great pool, nice new hot tub, wish jets on hot tubs worked...
Really wonderful massage from Maxwell, slept like a baby that night.
They presented a fun light show one night, 2nd annual illuminati show, lots of trippy LED's all over the lawns and a great dance afterwards. We enjoyed it quite a bit.
Nice retreat but at over $300.00 per night for 2 people I didn't feel it was worth all that.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank grannybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coloma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My experience at Kalani was incredible. The volunteers were helpful and friendly and the community dining on the Lanai encouraged us to make friends with other guests. Ecstatic dance classes on Sunday are a MUST as well as watching the sunrise at least once down at the "Point." Accommodations were simple yet comfortable. The property itself was beautiful, lots of plants and trees. A great swimming pool, sauna and hot tubs. A place I hope to return to in the future. Mahalo Kalani for your hard work!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraHostnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sea Ranch, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Unusual place to take my 3 year old grandson to help celebrate my 65th birthday but it was the perfect choice. Extremely comfortable with the toddler, the staff treated him like royalty.
Wonderful housekeeping staff, excellent food, offered everything we were looking for to just hang out and get to know Hawaii from a non-tourist experience. At Kalani, I feel we experienced the real hawaii, peacefulness, and the entire staff of volunteers are awesome. Highly recommend Kalani to anyone who would like to relax and doesn't need to be entertained. Off the beaten path and a totally awesome place just to relax and get in touch with the beauty of the island. Close to ocean beaches, wonderful pool on site. The management/owners should be complimented for living lightly on the land. We loved our accommodations too, a studio cottage with oversized bath tub! A perfect experience! Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the M-11 cottage. It is perfect hideaway in the trees but with lots of sunshine. As...
See more room tips
Green Features: The entire organization has numerous practices in place from their recycling program and aquaponics gardening and other resorts should emulate Kalani. I found them to be very conscientious about walking gently on the land!
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rae R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Helena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I booked a week here after viewing their impressive website, which came across like a high-end yoga retreat. It was a long, un-scenic drive there! Then I was put into a room with plywood floors, a tin roof, and thrift shop furniture. Lamps were broken, fan was broken, only two old pillows and a thin cotton spread on the bed. I paid $280/ night!!! The food was served up mess hall style with folks in hair nets portioning out your food. You were required to bus and rinse your plates. Then it sormed that night, and the noise on the tin roof was so ear-splitting we hardly slept. Plus we were cold since the bedding was so thin, and no extra blankets provided. Thankfully, they refunded our money, but we had to find something else last minute, which was a hassle. Would not recommend it, unless you're a hippie-yoga type, and even then, this place should be priced at around $90/night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank frameworks62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
21.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
72.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
24.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
72.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
73.0 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
76.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalani

Property: Kalani
Address: 12-6860 Kalapana Kapoho Beach Rd, Box 4500, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8019
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kalani 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalani is the largest retreat center in the state of Hawaii, nestled on the yoga coast in one of Hawaii's largest conservation areas for over 35 years. We feature more than 40 classes a week, including our renowned yoga and meditation programming, Hawaiian culture classes, and dance (hula, modern, and aerial.)Our location on the Big Island of Hawaii is 5 minutes from Kehena Beach, a clothing-optional black sand beach where wild-spinner dolphins frequently swim; 15 miles from spectacular lava-viewing; and nestled in luscious rainforest, which helps feed our organic kitchens with abundant fruit and vegetables. Kalani is known as a power spot - Shiva Rea calls Kalani "one of the most potent and nurturing retreat centers in the world." Kalani is a 501(c)(3) charity. Your stay here will support the preservation of Hawaiian culture, transformation, and within the poorest district in Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Kalani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalani Oceanside Retreat Pahoa
Kalani Oceanside Retreat Hotel Pahoa
Kalani Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing