We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“privacy in Hawaii”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ohia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ohia House
Ranked #1 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ben Lomond
1 review
“privacy in Hawaii”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I recently stayed at the Ohia House Bed and Breakfast with my boyfriend in October of 2011. I was a very nice private room, the property is beautiful. Cindy and Rick were amazing hosts. Cindy did a wonderful job with home made breakfast. I will for sure be coming back soon.

Room Tip: This bed and breakfast only has one room so it is all yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieSC143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
158
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, Ca
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I completely enjoyed my stay at the Ohia House B&B!! The room was SO relaxing and clean. The bed was luxurious to sleep in. There is a mini fridge, microwave, snorkel mask/snorkel, extra towels, coffee maker/tea available. The room has extra space with a couch and desk. The bathroom was very private and you can tell the owners of the Ohia house have excellent taste. The salt water pool is extremely inviting- I enjoyed swimming laps! The frogs and the rain were so soothing to listen to at night while sleeping. The huge screened in porch area is a great extension of the room where I enjoyed relaxing mosquito free, listening to rain storms, reading and eating AMAZING breakfasts! The fact that there is only one B&B accommodation means that you are spoiled rotten. Cindy knows just what to recommend when planning your day trips. She gave me excellent advice about visiting nearby volcano national park, the town of volcano for lunch and going back for a hike and nighttime viewing. She can direct you to the hot ponds, black sand beach with giant turtles, tide pools and a great surfing site (Rick will probably elaborate on this one!). They can also recommend great restaurants and local secrets! I will definitely be recommending Ohia B&B to all my friends and family. I can't wait for my next trip back to Ohia house.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDsantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flin Flon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at Ohia House. Cindy and Rick were most helpful in recommending activities to fill our days. Breakfast was always bountiful, delicious, varied, and usually included fresh fruits, grown on property. Bed was extremely comfortable and we enjoyed being serenaded to sleep by the frogs. The home is in a garden setting, with a wide variety of fragrant blooming trees and shrubs, not to mention the numerous orchids. We highly recommend and will return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We loved our stay with Cindy and Rick. They greeted as we pulled into the driveway. It was like having our own cute studio in SF. The room as has a microwave, small refrigerator and a coffee maker. Cindy aslo has looks of beach and snorkel gear. The pool in the back is sweet! Once we were settled Cindy told us about all the activities(loved the warming pool) and restaurants(Kaleo's was excellent). We retired and enjoyed the sounds only to awake to a magnificent breakfast.....french toast, coffee, juice, incredible fruits!

I almost forgot.....we were traveling with my boyfriends daughter(she's 13) and the room was big enough for us all. She slept on the couch but didn't mind a bit. Cindy made sure there was extra blankets and towels(you know how teenagers are :) All in all we would definitely return and stay with them again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabatha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I really enjoyed my time at Ohia. Cindy and Rick are gracious hosts, and the location is beautiful. It is quite and secluded, but not too far from Pahoa and also convenient to Volcanoes Natl Park. The room was spacious, with a small fridge and micro, beach towels, and even snorkel gear! Breakfast was definitely a highlight - Cindy puts out a wonderful spread on the lanai. I was there four nights, and every morning breakfast was yummy. I would very much recommend Ohia to anyone who wants to have a beautiful and relaxing base to see the Big Island.

Room Tip: There is only one room, which makes this B&B a great experience even for people that may not usu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We enjoyed our 5 night stay at Ohia House in Puna, a very flat, green part of the island south of Hilo, and not too far from the volcano. Ohia House has only one room for rent, so you will have privacy, surrounded by forest filled with the sound of frogs at night. The house is newer and everything was fresh and thoughtfully arranged. Cindy and Rick, the proprietors, kept a low profile. However they were there when we needed something. Cindy made a distinctive and tasty breakfast each morning and served it on the private lanai. Over coffee she inquired about our plan for the day and always made very helpful suggestions. She did research online to answer my query about how we could visit Champagne Pond. (Be sure to make an effort to visit this fabulous thermally heated tidal pool.) I really like the Puna area, a hippie, dippy part of the island famous for its Puna Butter, the locally grown pakalolo, nude blacksandbeach, recent lava flows and many thermally heated tidal pools. Ohia House also suited my taste for its privacy, value and quality. I would recommend it and I would stay there again, definitely.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professor_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I was here for work rather than play but what a wonderful place. The hosts are so accommodating and kind, I can't imagine ever staying in a hotel in the area again. It's a beautiful location, peaceful, clean, and comfortable with every amenity you could ever need. Get there during the day so you can find it, it's nestled in the woods.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris94553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
21.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
388 reviews
20.8 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
20.3 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
2.0 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
69 reviews
23.1 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ohia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ohia House

Property: The Ohia House
Address: 13-3357 Hookupu St, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8407
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ohia House 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohia House, a private, warm, intimate Bed and Breakfast located in Pahoa, Hawaii serving up aloha the way it has always been meant to be experienced. We blend luxury, serenity and personal service, to give you a true feeling of seclusion and serenity so you may truly enjoy your vacation. Our Hawaii accommodations are set back off the road in the tropical rainforest in Leilani Estates, we have only one well-appointed suite, and you are our only guest, no sharing the common areas with other guests! Come let Ohia House B & B be your private retreat on the Island. We are a permitted B & B by the state of Hawaii, the perfect centrally located home base for your Big Island vacation. Located between Hilo International Airport and Volcanoes National Park, just minutes from the quaint village of Pahoa, where you will find numerous restaurants and shops. Whatever your pleasure, whatever your special need, you will be pampered so your visit will be full of true aloha, we're waiting for you. One room, your private screened lanai, & a private pool. Enjoy a great Island breakfast each morning to meet your special dietary needs. We look forward to your visit! Ohia House is waiting. Aloha, Cindy & Rick ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ohia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ohia House Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing