We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast, peaceful and sensory fulfillment!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ohia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ohia House
Ranked #1 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, peaceful and sensory fulfillment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Aside: How did this gorgeous, friendly B&B only get 21/2 stars with Travelocity? I did a little research but I was unable to discover the negative reviews. I don't understand why such knowledgeable friendly and helpful hosts with a clean and cosy B&B could possibly warrant such a low score. I definitely would give it a five out of five.
I stayed here July13-14th, 2012. It was perfect. I loved the beautiful private gardens in the middle of the rain forest. The huge screened in lanai was an exceptional way to enjoy the beauty of the area, and the night breezes, either chatting or reading a book, in the evening, without having to worry about pesky flying critters. I was able to see a
4 inch moth with huge "eyes" on the wings, clinging to the screen. Cool! The loud constant mating sounds of the tree frogs were a constant reminder that I wasn't in Portland but on an exotic island paradise. I really liked the idea of a bamboo floor in the bedroom, instead of carpet. It was cool to the touch and I didn't have to worry about what was growing in the carpet, as I had in a condo in Kona where I had just been for a week. Everything is clean and spotless. The towels were very plush and soft. The soft, and excellent quality bathrobe was one of a very few which actually fit my XL size. It was very comfortable indeed.
The small fridge and coffee maker were a plus for a little snack before an incredible dinner in Pahoa town.
I didn't realize that the pool wasn't available in the evening which was disappointing as I would have enjoyed a swim under the stars but I did fit in a swim before breakfast. How beautiful to come up out of the water and see all the unusual foliage everywhere.
Breakfast was very yummy. It was beautifully presented. We had a "Dutch" banana pancake, served in a skillet at tableside, with real maple sugar syrup available. Red dragon fruit and other unusual fruits were also served along with fresh squeezed orange juice and local Hawaiian coffee. Excellent indeed. Second breakfast was a delicious gourmet omelet. Cindy also had relaxing Hawaiian music playing during breakfast.
This is truly a special place to stay on the Big Island. We were given a little surprise gift, which was totally unexpected but definitely came in handy at the charming Paheo market.
Who knew that such a fantastic restaurant as Kuheo's would be in this little town! It is the best restaurant on the Big Island! Really. It had very fast service and 10% due to our Ohia House stay. Food was scrumptious and expertly presented by friendly staff.

Room Tip: This is easy as you will be the only guests. One exceptional room. The lanai is a better experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Waltzingmatilda52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
157
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Everything was great, from start to finish. We only stayed one night, but wish we could stay longer. You will really enjoy being in a tropical environment (view, sounds..). Very relaxing. Amazing attention given to details!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremie_s_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Cindy and Rick are great hosts that make sure that you are happy in every respect. They are very proud of their freshly baked breakfast with flower-decorated fruits. Paheo is a cute little town but it takes a while until you are there as it is not on the road from Hilo to the Volcano National Park.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyager_Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

After a long day of hiking at the Volcano, my husband and I felt welcome and right at home at the Ohia House. Cindy and Rick were excellent hosts - - greeting us from the minute we pulled into the driveway. The room was well appointed and included many thoughtful "extras" including a reusable bag for us to keep after our stay. Breakfast was one of our best of our entire the trip - - and it was served on our screened in porch that was adjoined to our room - - a very relaxing way to start the day! Overall - an excellent stay. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

After a long day driving and site seeing, the Ohia House was a welcome retreat. Cindy and Rick were there to welcome us as soon as we drove up the driveway. Cindy suggested a great restaurant for dinner (Kaleo's) which even gave us a 10% discount for being guests at the Ohia House. The room was clean, spacious and quiet. Breakfast was delicious. Cindy chatted with us and gave us some good advise for our next destination on the island. Great location for us as we were taking a helicopter tour from Hilo the next morning. So we only had a quick drive to get there. The grounds are very pretty too. Would definitely recommend this B&B!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MBG05061964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingman, Az
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Ohia House is by far the best B&B we have ever enjoyed. we spent a week with Rick and Cindy it was the highlight of our trip! The room was more than we expected, complete with beach towels, snorkle gear, a cooler for our use, and umbrellas which we welcomed on rainy days. The area surrounding the house is a botanical garden itself, filled with tropical plants and flowers, especially orchids of all colors. it is most beautiful! Rick and Cindy were very helpful hosts in suggesting things to see and do on the island, giving us directions how to get there. The food was absolutely outstanding, Cindy saving the best til last, serving the most wonderful French Toast!!! Plus frest tropical fruit each day,mango, pineapple,papaya and lechee grown in their own back yard. It was indeed a wonderful experience, both relaxing and educational. Thank you Rick and Cindy for a vacation we will cherish forever!!!

Room Tip: Since there is only one room available at this B&B, it gives you a very private and special stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherryp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Cindy and Rick obviously enjoy running a B & B, and they make you feel very welcome. The room was wonderful, with everything we needed (plus more). Cindy chatted with us at breakfast every morning, giving us tips and sharing stories. We asked tons of questions and she happily answered them all. The food was delicious, we looked forward to it every morning. We stayed at a condo on the other side of the island after staying here, and we felt much more comfortable at the Ohia House. Wish we would have stayed there all week instead!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaursieBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
21.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
20.8 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
20.3 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
2.0 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
21.9 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ohia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ohia House

Property: The Ohia House
Address: 13-3357 Hookupu St, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8407
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ohia House 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohia House, a private, warm, intimate Bed and Breakfast located in Pahoa, Hawaii serving up aloha the way it has always been meant to be experienced. We blend luxury, serenity and personal service, to give you a true feeling of seclusion and serenity so you may truly enjoy your vacation. Our Hawaii accommodations are set back off the road in the tropical rainforest in Leilani Estates, we have only one well-appointed suite, and you are our only guest, no sharing the common areas with other guests! Come let Ohia House B & B be your private retreat on the Island. We are a permitted B & B by the state of Hawaii, the perfect centrally located home base for your Big Island vacation. Located between Hilo International Airport and Volcanoes National Park, just minutes from the quaint village of Pahoa, where you will find numerous restaurants and shops. Whatever your pleasure, whatever your special need, you will be pampered so your visit will be full of true aloha, we're waiting for you. One room, your private screened lanai, & a private pool. Enjoy a great Island breakfast each morning to meet your special dietary needs. We look forward to your visit! Ohia House is waiting. Aloha, Cindy & Rick ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Ohia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ohia House Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing