We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kindness and coziness”
Review of The Ohia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ohia House
Ranked #2 of 18 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 April 2013

You are the only guest at the lovely Ohia House B&B so the owners give you personalized attention. Their kindness and helpfulness let you get the most out of your stay in Pahoa and the surrounding areas like Volcanoes National Park. It is a unique and secluded property surrounded by Ohia trees. The home-cooked breakfasts are presented with beautiful flower garnishes. All in all, a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank equinoxWashDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed with Rick and Cindy for 2 nights when travelling around the Big Island in March'13 and we really enjoed staying in their very nice and cosy Ohia House.
One of the great things is that you are the only guests in this house - feels really exclusive!
On top of that the house itself is secluded by lush forest of huge and old Ohia trees - feels like private Jurassic Park luckily without dinosaurus except invisible numerous cute little frogs who sing their beautiful lullaby songs at night and their pleasant sound stays in our memories forever.
The room has a nice touch of decoration, is spacious enough and has all you need. The bed is very comfortable and we had our best sleeps there.
And you have a huge private lanai where each morning a very delicious customized breakfast was served and where in the evening we were drinking wine with candles listening to those frogs' songs - it's just unforgettable.
The room and lanai were protected with mosquito screens, so no troubles with that at all.
WiFi was working perfectly.
The owners Rick and Cindy are really great people - very hospitable, attentive and respecting guests' privacy.
The house is convenietly located from Lava Flow (we saw it taking a guided tour), Scenic drives along the Historic Hawaiian road, Pahoa town and Hilo.
When we are there next time - no doubt that we will stay with them!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KonstantinBelinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is the first time we have stayed in a bed and breakfast. It was a wonderful experience. CIndy and Rick are so welcoming. They were very willing to share information based on our needs and many questions about the area. In our experience they truly know how to personalize the stay to the desires of their guests. I have found that what makes a trip memorable is the people you meet as you travel. This will be a memory we keep dear to our hearts. In addition, the breakfast was unique, beautifully presented and delicious and Cindy was so willing to accomodate any special food needs. It was so nice to have the screened in lanai to relax on while enjoying the tropical surrounding and the pool. Cindy thought of the little extra comforts like making sure she dried our wet clothes after we took the amazing not to be missed boat ride to see the lava. Recommendations on restaurants (Kaleo's is the best) and actives were sopt on. Aloha spirit is alive and well at The Ohia House B & B. Malaho, Cindy and RIck

Room Tip: One room to pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambriakathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed three nights at the Ohia House. The room was attractive and spacious. The B & B has only one room almost completely separate from the main house, which we found perfect. We had the benefit of an adjoining Lanai which led directly to our car. The Lanai was also the location of a private morning breakfast. Each breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Our hosts were helpful, gracious, informative, and very accommodating. The price was reasonable. There was only one drawback, limited available days. As the late Chicago Mayor Daley always said, vote early and often. Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

Dwaine and Sharon Albers

Room Tip: Only one room. This makes it wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is a nice quaint B&B in a great location, especially if you are going to the Big Island to view lava flows. It is within in 5 miles of the park where the Lava boats launch and within 10 miles of the "lava viewing area" if going by foot. Keep in mind that you cannot see the current lava flows from this area, it is merely the end of the road which has been covered by past lava flows. Cindy gave us great recommendations for a native tour company who can arrange safe viewing of the current lava flows. This area also has numerous thermally heated tidal pools for swimming and snorkeling. Getting there is half the fun around here as we found the scenic routes to our destinations to be quite enjoyable.
Cindy really knows how to put the Breakfast in B&B! The food was amazing and it was served in a beautiful private Lanai which was especially nice after our early morning sunrise boat trip to see the lava ocean entries. Cindy is a polite and gracious host with lots of local knowledge to share.
A bonus for us "city dwellers" were the sooting sounds nature at night, a nice change from the sounds of city we are used to. The pricing was very reasonable and we will not hesitate to stay here again should we return to the Big Island.
Tom.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This is the place to stay if you are looking for caring, attentive hosts in attractive, comfortable accommodations with scrumptious breakfasts. A bit off the beaten track, but that is part of its charm. Nonetheless, it is still conveniently located for all the places that you might want to visit on the eastern side of the island.
Strongly urge looking over Hawaii The Big Island Revealed, by Andrew Doughty and Leona Boyd, if this is your first visit to Big Hawaii.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank BirdSpectator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This is a well run, clean, inexpensive, and fun place to stay near Hilo and Volcano. At first you may wonder about it's location as it is in the middle of the jungle forest. But once you are there it proves to be a great find!

There is only one guest facility which is private and spacious with a beautiful lanai. About 8 miles to the Lava Boat landing- which is by far the best up close and spectacular viewing of the lava flowing into the sea. We have been here twice for three days each and find Cindy and Rick to be helpful and Cindy's breakfast wonderful!

Highly recommend it! We'll be back...

Neil and Marilyn from Canada

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
21.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
428 reviews
20.3 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
588 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
2 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 18 in Pahoa
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ohia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ohia House

Address: 13-3357 Hookupu St, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8407
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range: £94 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ohia House 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohia House, a private, warm, intimate Bed and Breakfast located in Pahoa, Hawaii serving up aloha the way it has always been meant to be experienced. We blend luxury, serenity and personal service, to give you a true feeling of seclusion and serenity so you may truly enjoy your vacation. Our Hawaii accommodations are set back off the road in the tropical rainforest in Leilani Estates, we have only one well-appointed suite, and you are our only guest, no sharing the common areas with other guests! Come let Ohia House B & B be your private retreat on the Island. We are a permitted B & B by the state of Hawaii, the perfect centrally located home base for your Big Island vacation. Located between Hilo International Airport and Volcanoes National Park, just minutes from the quaint village of Pahoa, where you will find numerous restaurants and shops. Whatever your pleasure, whatever your special need, you will be pampered so your visit will be full of true aloha, we're waiting for you. One room, your private screened lanai, & a private pool. Enjoy a great Island breakfast each morning to meet your special dietary needs. We look forward to your visit! Ohia House is waiting. Aloha, Cindy & Rick ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ohia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ohia House Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing