We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the real hawaii revisited”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ohia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ohia House
Ranked #1 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“the real hawaii revisited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I returned for my second visit two years after my first. It was still a wonderful b&b. cindy is a delight, and provided the best breakfasts cooked for my friend and I with fresh local produce.


The Ohia house is a lovely retreat outside of pahoa, essentially in a lush rain forest. This is not a 5 star hilton resort in Kona that is a contrived disney-like theme park with shopping malls and fake lava rocks for decoration.

The ohia house has real lava rocks and is a few blocks from the coast (and all kinds of interesting tide pools and black sand beaches), that you don't get at the resorts. It is one room, so you will be the only guest(s) at a time. Cindy, the propriator knows how to give just the right amount of caring service while maintaining a professional distance and privacy.

I arrived late and she was waiting right there to meet us, show me where to park and how everything worked. The room is a modest studio / lanai, well equipped with a sofa, decent bed, fine bedding, satellite tv, fast wireless internet connection, microwave, private bath with soap, and a pair of top quality snorkel gear, beach mats and umbrella. A bookshelf with books, including a new edition of hawaii revealed, a must have for the adventurous traveler to hawaii.

Cindy helped us plan local trips. She was very generous with her time and knowledge while respecting our time and privacy. If you want to see the authentic sites in the pahoa area, local knowledge like hers is priceless.

If you are looking for modest, comfortable, kind and complete accomodations I recommend the ohia house.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannysixpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
158
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed two nights and would like to have stayed more. The accommodations were excellent, the bed very comfortable, the heated pool a bonus, and the gourmet breakfasts the best of our trip. Cindy and Rick were great hosts and looked after all our needs and more. We really appreciated there suggestions for activities and places to dine. We would definitely stay there on our next trip and would recommend Ohia House to anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidB7056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed in Ohia B&B for our honeymoon for 4 nights in March 2014. The place was fabulous! Nice and comfortable room with amenities provided conveniently by Cindy & Rick. We looked forward every morning to the fantastic breakfast prepared for us daily. Enjoyed the morning birds chirping! Cindy & Rick was very nice to provide us with information that we need from groceries shopping to daily activities! They were very thoughtful and provided the guests with stuffs that we might need from umbrellas to beach towels etc!
We will definitely go back to Ohia B&B again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessieDufour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at the Ohia House B&B for 3 days in February. Cindy was a very gracious hostess and very knowledgable about the area. Breakfast time was a real treat each day because she would share tips and suggestions about things to do and see in the area. In addition, the food was delicious and very nicely presented.
We truly enjoyed the screened Lanai and beautifully landscaped grounds.
Our quarters were attached to the house by a breeze-way which gave us complete privacy. It was very clean and nicely furnished.
Great place! You wouldn't go wrong staying here. We would like to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iluv2travel1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

With the best breakfasts anywhere on the island, and a location that gives access to not only the whole of the southeast of the island but is also only an hour from Volcano National park, and easy reach of Hilo town, what more could you want?
Excellent hospitality and the nearby town of Pahoa has some great restaurants and also an excellent health food store which is great for takeout lunches and even dinners which can be heated up back at the accommodation.
Have stayed here several years in a row, and will do so again...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singingbowl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Cindy & Rick really strive to make every guests stay perfect! From the personalized, delicious (awesome) breakfasts, to the dinner reservations, and the recommendations for local activities and locations, they excell! We appreciated the very private accommodations and large lanai and the amenities like snorkel gear, beach mats & chairs, umbrellas, mini-kitchen and the reusable chico bag gift! The location is centrally located for exploring Hilo, Volcanoes National Park, and the beautiful seashores of the Puna region. The reason for 3 stars on sleep is we're used to sleeping in a king size bed and often find a queen too small. We recommend sleeping with the bedroom window closed if you don't like the 'jungle' 'white' noise. Cindy & Rick were very generous, helpful, and friendly, and we appreciate all their help & insight. We will definitely consider staying with them again if we find ourselves in the Pahoa area!

Room Tip: Only one room to choose from! Very private with spacious lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suspv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neustadt, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We enjoyed this property so much that we extended our stay for two additional nights. Rick and Cindy are great hosts who offer useful local insights and suggestions for restaurants etc. It's a quiet location, yet is perfectly placed to enjoy the Puna region, which became our favourite area on the big island. We appreciate being the only guests with our own spacious lanai to enjoy...much better than some of the more commercial "b and b factories". We felt more like friends than customers. On several nights, we chose to heat simple meals in the microwave so we could enjoy the evening on the lanai listening to the coqui frog chorus rather than go to a restaurant. The breakfasts were superb, with every day's offering different. The room had everything we needed, and we particularly appreciated being able to make free phone calls to all of the island as well as to family on the mainland. We looked forward to getting back "home" after our daily outings in this beautiful part of Hawaii. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telfer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
21.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
20.8 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
23.1 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
21.9 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ohia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ohia House

Property: The Ohia House
Address: 13-3357 Hookupu St, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8407
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ohia House 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohia House, a private, warm, intimate Bed and Breakfast located in Pahoa, Hawaii serving up aloha the way it has always been meant to be experienced. We blend luxury, serenity and personal service, to give you a true feeling of seclusion and serenity so you may truly enjoy your vacation. Our Hawaii accommodations are set back off the road in the tropical rainforest in Leilani Estates, we have only one well-appointed suite, and you are our only guest, no sharing the common areas with other guests! Come let Ohia House B & B be your private retreat on the Island. We are a permitted B & B by the state of Hawaii, the perfect centrally located home base for your Big Island vacation. Located between Hilo International Airport and Volcanoes National Park, just minutes from the quaint village of Pahoa, where you will find numerous restaurants and shops. Whatever your pleasure, whatever your special need, you will be pampered so your visit will be full of true aloha, we're waiting for you. One room, your private screened lanai, & a private pool. Enjoy a great Island breakfast each morning to meet your special dietary needs. We look forward to your visit! Ohia House is waiting. Aloha, Cindy & Rick ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ohia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ohia House Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing