We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and sweet B&B”
Review of The Ohia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ohia House
Ranked #2 of 18 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We chose this place as our first stop of our honeymoon trip and we're glad we did that.
The place is not hard to find once you follow the instructions of the route map. Each morning, Cindy prepared a different kind of breakfast and we loved it so much!! She told us she can make up to 14 kinds of breakfast. We only had time to try 3, but all of them are tasteful. We would recommend each one to this lovely house.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gillian2143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

The always surprisingly wonderful breakfast on the large "Lanai", the fact that we were the only guests, the peaceful surrounding and the informative talks with Cindy & Rick during breakfast, made this place to one of our favorite stays on the "Big Island".
The provided guide book combined with the information received during breakfast time helped us to prioritize the right places to visit. Cindy even checked the daily weather report and helped us to decide which direction to take each day. That, I call service above average.
We will definitely return if we have the possibility and we can highly recommend this place to other guests. Everything exceeded our expectations!

Room Tip: You are the only guests and Cindy will spoil you with her wonderful breakfast, enough to take a dogy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeLoup52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Ohia House last week! Cindy and Rick have really thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. When we arrived Cindy was there to greet us, and each morning over breakfast checked in that we had all we needed and were enjoying our stay. She also had great recommendations for restaurants and useful tips for our day to day adventures. The breakfast was as outstanding as all the reviews state. Furthermore, she was well versed in accommodating for food allergies (I'm strictly gluten-free/celiac), which we greatly appreciated. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Cindy and Rick were wonderful. We had the most amazing experience at the Ohia House and just talking with them. They are wonderful people who make you feel instantly at home. The Ohia house perfectly in the middle of everything we wanted to do on the east side of the island. Easy drive, amazing views, wonderful people in Pahoa. In fact, it was so great, we have decided to retire here.
Thank you Cindy, your breakfasts were so delicious and it was wonderful getting to know you. We'll see you again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aosburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I returned for my second visit two years after my first. It was still a wonderful b&b. cindy is a delight, and provided the best breakfasts cooked for my friend and I with fresh local produce.


The Ohia house is a lovely retreat outside of pahoa, essentially in a lush rain forest. This is not a 5 star hilton resort in Kona that is a contrived disney-like theme park with shopping malls and fake lava rocks for decoration.

The ohia house has real lava rocks and is a few blocks from the coast (and all kinds of interesting tide pools and black sand beaches), that you don't get at the resorts. It is one room, so you will be the only guest(s) at a time. Cindy, the propriator knows how to give just the right amount of caring service while maintaining a professional distance and privacy.

I arrived late and she was waiting right there to meet us, show me where to park and how everything worked. The room is a modest studio / lanai, well equipped with a sofa, decent bed, fine bedding, satellite tv, fast wireless internet connection, microwave, private bath with soap, and a pair of top quality snorkel gear, beach mats and umbrella. A bookshelf with books, including a new edition of hawaii revealed, a must have for the adventurous traveler to hawaii.

Cindy helped us plan local trips. She was very generous with her time and knowledge while respecting our time and privacy. If you want to see the authentic sites in the pahoa area, local knowledge like hers is priceless.

If you are looking for modest, comfortable, kind and complete accomodations I recommend the ohia house.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dannysixpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed two nights and would like to have stayed more. The accommodations were excellent, the bed very comfortable, the heated pool a bonus, and the gourmet breakfasts the best of our trip. Cindy and Rick were great hosts and looked after all our needs and more. We really appreciated there suggestions for activities and places to dine. We would definitely stay there on our next trip and would recommend Ohia House to anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidB7056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed in Ohia B&B for our honeymoon for 4 nights in March 2014. The place was fabulous! Nice and comfortable room with amenities provided conveniently by Cindy & Rick. We looked forward every morning to the fantastic breakfast prepared for us daily. Enjoyed the morning birds chirping! Cindy & Rick was very nice to provide us with information that we need from groceries shopping to daily activities! They were very thoughtful and provided the guests with stuffs that we might need from umbrellas to beach towels etc!
We will definitely go back to Ohia B&B again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessieDufour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
20.3 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
558 reviews
23.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
991 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 18 in Pahoa
73 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pele's Breath
Pele's Breath
#1 of 2 in Pahoa
14 reviews
20.8 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ohia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ohia House

Address: 13-3357 Hookupu St, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8407
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range: £98 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ohia House 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohia House, a private, warm, intimate Bed and Breakfast located in Pahoa, Hawaii serving up aloha the way it has always been meant to be experienced. We blend luxury, serenity and personal service, to give you a true feeling of seclusion and serenity so you may truly enjoy your vacation. Our Hawaii accommodations are set back off the road in the tropical rainforest in Leilani Estates, we have only one well-appointed suite, and you are our only guest, no sharing the common areas with other guests! Come let Ohia House B & B be your private retreat on the Island. We are a permitted B & B by the state of Hawaii, the perfect centrally located home base for your Big Island vacation. Located between Hilo International Airport and Volcanoes National Park, just minutes from the quaint village of Pahoa, where you will find numerous restaurants and shops. Whatever your pleasure, whatever your special need, you will be pampered so your visit will be full of true aloha, we're waiting for you. One room, your private screened lanai, & a private pool. Enjoy a great Island breakfast each morning to meet your special dietary needs. We look forward to your visit! Ohia House is waiting. Aloha, Cindy & Rick ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ohia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ohia House Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing