We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Amazing, private, bright, large cottage on...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
South Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South Entrance
Gecko Guardian Kitchen for serious cooks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
16 reviews
South Entrance
Gecko Guardian
Kitchen for serious cooks
Queen Bed
Bathroom sink
Toilet paper + porcelain accessory
Shower with a view (room for 2)
Buddha from S.E. Asia
Read, relax,  or enjoy the view
South lawn and red, circular drive
East Entrance--Chaise lounges for SeaView
Koi Pond near Lanai
South east corner
Gated entrance (pohoiki road)
02 North with Ocean View
Lanai Sleep Porch---Queen AeroBed
15 House at Sunrise
Mahi Oli\'Oli Starry night
Waimanu Valley Waterfall---hiking destination
Geothermal Oceanside Pond, aka 'The Warm Pond' or AhalaNui State Park
Maku'u FARMHERS' MARKET
Entrance to Mahi Oli'Oli' seen from Pohoiki Road
StarDeck on a rainy afternoon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
coast_to...
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
261 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Amazing, private, bright, large cottage on gorgeous grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Where do I start with this review: the beautifully designed cottage, the amazing view or the gorgeous gardens?
We loved being able to have so much space around the cottage to ourselves. It was our first time staying "off the grid" and there was absolutely no problem with the system. Bob and Andy's love and care in the cottage construction, decor and the gardens is so evident. We had a most relaxing stay. Although we did go out and explore that part of the island each day, it was lovely to come "home" to Mahi Oli' Oli'. Every small detail was thought of and provided.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The large, well landscaped, private grounds.
Liked least: Only staying three nights.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy
Ak
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tmatherly
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful location. Never intruded on. As if we had landed on our own lush, well-appointed island. I made fresh limeade with limes from the orchard while listening to Bob Marley. The weather was always below 85 degrees and we slept so comfortably at night with the sounds of the coqui frogs and the breeze coming through the screen doors. A relaxing place to regroup after a 5 mile volcano hike. Andy and Bob have created a utopia. Their detailed instructions that were mailed ahead of our arrival date covered every question we had. Our deposit was returned before we arrived home.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer. Two days was not enough time.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsBaldwi...
Spokane, Washington
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Beautiful property which was wonderful to come back to after exploring the Island. It was so peaceful with a wonderful breeze. Bob and Andy made accomadations for our 2 teenage children even though it is advertised as a studio for two. All our needs were met. We were very happy we chose this place.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: peacefulness, view, away from other people
Liked least: sound of the frogs or coqui the first night but then got used to it
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K J
Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little peice of Heaven!p”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stayed at Mahi Oli Oli for our second time in February. Bob and Andy continue to add to their property making it truly unforgettable. The pictures presented are a true reflection. Mat their caretaker is also wonderful. I could have spent much longer there and as last time was sad to leave. I loved the orchard and fresh herbs in the garden! I am sure we will be back one day. It is truly a place to unwind and get away from it all!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Location
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2013
Kelly & Lana:
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your 2nd Mahi Oli'Oli vacation and glad that you found the herbs and orchard. Next time hopefully bananas and pineapples will have fruit ready for you. We welcome you back anytime.
aloha,
bob & andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo and Penelope
New Mexico
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lenlew
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“off the grid and out of the ordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

My husband and I enjoyed quiet star studded nights and brilliant days punctuated by an occasional shower at Bob & Andy's Mahi Ol'i Ol'i, The tree-canopied road and driveway into the property have a magical, peaceful feel. The coast in this region is rough and ready, from the pali at Hawaiian Paradise Park, where we watched whales and a pair of companionable nenes (Hawaiian geese)at close range, to the stark sobering beauty of the lava field at Kalapana, where new growth ohia trees and healing noni fruit trees are already springing up. In between, snorkel the tidepools at Kapoho, float in the soothing oceanside "warm pool" fed by hot springs and cooler ocean water, and watch surfers at family and surfer-oriented Isaac Hale Beach a short drive down to the end of the road. Also try Kahena Beach if you are there on a Sunday for the drumming circle. Bob and Andy provide maps and a guide book to local sights and eateries, as well as books and DVDs of Hawaiaana that enhanced our enjoyment and appreciation of our surroundings. The cottage itself is inviting and simply beautiful, with a hammock, lounge chairs and teak dining table on the large covered deck from which to enjoy the ocean view. Yoga mats are thoughtfully provided for yoga on the deck. Do drive up to the volcano to hike the trails, go through the lava tube that emerges into a fern forest, then eat dinner at nearby Kailua Lodge before going back to view the present-at-the creation orange glow and shifting steam plume of the volcano (preferably under a full moon), whether Pele is erupting or not. The cottage kitchen is well equipped for meal preparation, and the farmer's market and Pahoa town are good sources of organic food and fish. If you want to relax and rejuvenate off the beaten path, try an extended stay at Mahi Oli Oli; you'll love it.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Deck and view
Liked least: Nothing not to like!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing