We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Sandwiches”
Review of Kalapana Village Cafe - CLOSED

Kalapana Village Cafe
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big Sandwiches”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

After a drive from Hilo to Kalapana to visit our coconut that we planted many years ago. We started to walked out toward the ocean on the new beach looking for our coconut with the other hundreds of small coconut palms planted by people who wanted to recreate the beauty of the coconut palm lined beach which was covered by lava in 1991. It started to rain so we cut our search short and we were hungry and wanted a quick lunch. The Cafe was right there at the end of the road. Boy were we surprised. The food was so good and hugh. Every dish we saw come by looked great. My daughter and I split a sandwich and fries. Plenty of food for the two of us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikeypj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fish platter.”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The manager at Gay Hawaii B&B recommended Kalapana Village Cafe. Since it was walking distance I left my car at the B&B and walked the short walk over. Had the fish platter with fries and mac salad. The grilled fish was moist and fresh. Served with a fresh lemon wedge. Walking out toward the ocean you cross lava fields which were created in 1991. New earth! At the beach there are hundreds of small coconut palms planted by people who want to recreate the beauty of the coconut palm lined beach which was covered by lava in the '89 - '91 flow.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Butch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wednesday Night Prime Rib”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We got the 3/4 pound one and split it (they were very accommodating with the extra plate). Order at the window and while you wait for the food, walk around the side to the convenience store and buy beer or wine at reasonable (for Hawaii) prices. The prime rib was as ordered, rare, and the wasabi cream can stand in for horseradish any time. With the baked potato (with fixin's) and salad, we had plenty and it was less than $25. As we were staying in a cottage up the road, this place (at the end of 137 as many have noted) was closer than driving to Pahoa and the food was pretty nice. Plus, Wednesday night is fun at the nearby Uncle Awa's!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank foolrex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good for lunch and not too expensive in spite of location”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stopped here for lunch during our tour of the Big Island. Counter service only, with plenty of picnic tables. A skinny cat bothered us the whole time we were here. The wait staff was friendly and helpful in helping with our selections. We chose to split a pulled pork sandwich which was very tasty. Sadly, it took a very, very long time for us to receive our order and that diminished our enthusiasm.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jcharisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijnsaterwoude
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Village diner with nice seating”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

It is very nice in Kalapana to visit the lava flows going from the end of the road onto the sea ending in a black (lava) sand beach. The village café offers nice seats outside. Food is fine, as is the service (friendly, not very feast). No complaints, had a nice meal, but not a special place to make a detour for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kalapana Village Cafe also viewed

Kalapana, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing