We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing jungle retreat in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Enjoy the beauty of a organic farm and three bedroom redwood home set in a lush tropical jungle!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the beauty of a organic farm and three bedroom redwood home set in a lush tropical jungle!
Huge sunny front yard overlooking the jungle Jungle Farmhouse on 2.3 acres
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Enjoy the beauty of a organic farm and three bedroom redwood home set in a lush tropical jungle!
Huge sunny front yard overlooking the jungle
Jungle Farmhouse on 2.3 acres
Lots of seating areas on porches.
Parking area to view the active lava flow is just 15 minutes from the farm.
View from kitchen of living room.
Complete kitchen with everything you need.
Open floor plan.
The 2nd bedroom with Queen bed with antique dresser and desk.
Bath features slate tile and tub and shower
Enjoy the optional solar heated hot outdoor shower.
Private drive to farmhouse
Beautiful water gardens
Beautiful edible gardens (Passion Fruit Blossom)
Water gardens with pond
Our tiki overlooks the pond
Tropical flowers abound (Red torch ginger)
Enjoy native plants in garden (Hawaiian Taro)
View of beautiful jungle from Lanai
Ducks enjoying the pond.
Our ducks will greet you.
The pond.
Taro growing throughout the gardens.
Our baby ducklings
Our baby goats.
Mama goat with baby.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rem008
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing jungle retreat in a great location”
Reviewed 5 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at The Jungle Farmhouse for 4 nights. Matthew and Danny were awesome hosts that live right next door to the house. They are there to make sure you feel comfortable and have everything you need during your stay, not to mention that they are just plain really nice guys. Right when we arrived we noticed that there was ripe tropical fruit waiting for us to eat. Lilikoi (passionfruit and our favorite), tangerines, bananas, avocados and more can be ripe and ready for you to eat depending on the season. There are also quite a few domestic and farm animals on the property that are all well cared for and mannered. The chickens are a hoot and lay a LOT of eggs for you to eat. Several times we saw a chicken or 2 slyly come up the front steps, jump on the wicker chair, look around to make sure the coast was clear, and then leave a nice and warm freshly laid egg as a gift.

The house is quaint but has a lot of charm and includes most modern luxuries such as a flat screen TV and WiFi. There is a nice screened-in lanai on the back of the house overlooking the lush jungle surrounding the property. Washer/dryer are available to use right outside of the kitchen. Covered parking was convenient, as there were a few rainy days while we were there. The bed in the Captain's Room, where we slept, was the most comfortable we had out of 3 different places we stayed on the island. The worst part of staying here was the frogs at night. They are loud (almost like a whistle) and take some getting used to, but they are everywhere in this area. Once you get used to them you will sleep soundly.

The location is really awesome, literally a few blocks down from the main street in Pahoa but in the middle of the jungle. If you need to grab some groceries or want to go to a restaurant, it's just a few minutes from the house. The Kapoho tide pools (awesome snorkeling!) and other warm pools are a short and beautiful 15 minute drive. The lava viewing area (end of road 137) and the new Kaimu black sand beach (near Uncle Robert's) are also just a short drive away. If you want to see flowing lava (the only place you can on the island), go early in the day and be back at your car by 2PM at the latest. The lava/steam plume still looks amazing during the daytime and you will avoid getting lost/hurt and harassed by the security guards that arrive at 3PM (it's supposedly a restricted access area but there is nobody around before 3PM). Trust us, this is what the locals told us and they were right. Hilo is also a short 20 minute drive and has LOTS of things to offer in and around it. If you like snorkeling, give Richardson Beach Park a try!

Overall a pleasant stay and a good bet for the Puna area. Enjoy! ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, fresh eggs and fruit
Liked least: frogs at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreainV...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful jungle retreat”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I visited the Jungle Farmhouse with my parents and two of my friends when we were in the area for a walk to the flowing lava. Though Pahoa is a bit away from the current activity it was the perfect home base for us. It is close to several fantastic restaurants in Pahoa and a short drive to the coast and to the lava. Matthew was a wonderful host and has a great home for visiting. The farmhouse is super clean, has a lot of space, and is fun to explore - where else do you get to see avocado trees, papaya and tangerine trees, passionfruit, plants galore, and a chicken that lays an egg on a chair of one of the lanais/patio?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The jungle sounds
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonFal...
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation home”
Reviewed 13 November 2012 for a stay in March 2012

This is a great place to relax. If you are looking for a place to get out of the rat race and away from the noise this is your place. The owners are wonderful. You get the whole house, with a supply of fresh eggs and fruit from the garden. They have their own chickens and ducks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large Backyard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilCityMo...
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“A piece of paradise”
Reviewed 21 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Best vacation experience ever! The grounds are beautiful and lush, and this city girl was delighted to feed goats, and see some baby chicks born while I was there. (Just ask the owners, they don't mind sharing the joys of the farm with you!) The house is comfortable, and the decor is chic with vintage asian and hawaiian pieces. You feel like much more than a tourist here, you experience what it would be like to have your own piece of paradise. This was our base for exploring everything the Big Island has to offer, and at the end of the day we were happy to come "home" to a full kitchen and cook dinner and relax on the screened-in patio.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Falling asleep to the sounds of the jungle.
Liked least: I liked everything!
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reneemban...
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Best rental ever!!!”
Reviewed 21 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Jungle Farmhouse in May. Everything about it was fantastic--the rooms, amenities, the grounds, the animals and especially the owners. The beds were super comfy and the house is cozy and roomy, all at the same time. Matthew and Danny are so sweet and helpful. They have tons of recommendations for things to do all over the island, and especially in the local area. And there is so much to do--beaches, warm ponds, tide pools, farmers markets, restaurants, coffee farms and more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house and the owners
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natasha f
ojai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Perfect Place to Stay”
Reviewed 5 October 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My son and I rented this house for two and a half weeks. The house is decorated tastefully with asian and island influences. All the rooms were clean and very comfortable. The property that the house is on, is quiet, secluded and well cared for!! Everything about the house was wonderful and we felt at-home at The Jungle House. Thanks again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: house, outdoor shower, yard, birds.
Liked least: I cannot think of a single thing i didn't like.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aevans110...
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inexpensive, beautiful, quiet...”
Reviewed 2 October 2011 for a stay in January 2011
1
person found this review helpful

It's a lot cheaper to stay on the east side of the big island than anywhere else, probably because of all the rainfall... and indeed, there were several downpours while we were there, but they were brief and then the sun came back out. We visited farmers' markets, beaches, and lava flows in the area.

The Jungle House was well equipped and inexpensive and Danny was great. I definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: seclusion
Liked least: chair and bed were damaged, but still usable
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;