We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Enjoy the beauty of a organic farm and three bedroom redwood home set in a lush tropical jungle!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the beauty of a organic farm and three bedroom redwood home set in a lush tropical jungle!
Huge sunny front yard overlooking the jungle Jungle Farmhouse on 2.3 acres
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Enjoy the beauty of a organic farm and three bedroom redwood home set in a lush tropical jungle!
Huge sunny front yard overlooking the jungle
Jungle Farmhouse on 2.3 acres
Lots of seating areas on porches.
Parking area to view the active lava flow is just 15 minutes from the farm.
View from kitchen of living room.
Complete kitchen with everything you need.
Open floor plan.
The 2nd bedroom with Queen bed with antique dresser and desk.
Bath features slate tile and tub and shower
Enjoy the optional solar heated hot outdoor shower.
Private drive to farmhouse
Beautiful water gardens
Beautiful edible gardens (Passion Fruit Blossom)
Water gardens with pond
Our tiki overlooks the pond
Tropical flowers abound (Red torch ginger)
Enjoy native plants in garden (Hawaiian Taro)
View of beautiful jungle from Lanai
Ducks enjoying the pond.
Our ducks will greet you.
The pond.
Taro growing throughout the gardens.
Our baby ducklings
Our baby goats.
Mama goat with baby.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mayasalaa...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful old farmhouse in an idyllic setting. The owners, Danny and Matthew, are kind and helpful. It is spacious and comfy, and just out of Pahoa so convenient to the shops. The gardens are fantastic, you can even pick fruit. There is a master with ensuite, and two bedrooms that share a bathroom, but they are all decent size. All have a queen bed. Our only complaint was a rather weird, yet kind of endearing, set of kitchen dishes. Also there was free wifi in the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The garden setting
Liked least: Kitchen dishes.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4bagger
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My wife, my in-laws and I decided to stay here for 2 nights on our recent visit to Hawai'i. We couldn't have been more pleased with our decision. Danny and Matthew greeted us as we pulled into the drive and made sure that we felt comfortable from the start. Danny spent at least 20 minutes with us to help familiarize us with the area and even presented us with a map detailing the best routes and the best attractions. He pointed us to a great snorkeling spot (the highlight of the trip for me) and allowed us to borrow his equipment for the excursion. We were introduced to the animals on Danny and Matt's farm and were even given one dozen free range eggs from their chickens (delicious)! The home was welcoming and the bedrooms very comfortable. Also, the outdoor shower was fantastic! If you plan to visit Pahoa, I highly recommend that you consider the Jungle Farmhouse!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaW4
Boise, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Warm welcome, a piece of paradise!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This place was a little slice of paradise! Our host was most gracious, providing fresh eggs from the farm chickens and honey from his bees. Also had fresh bananas from the farm.

The thoughtfulness of our host amazed me with the fresh flowers throughout the house, The house was wonderfully decorated and we absolutely loved the lanai and outdoor shower. peaceful and serene is how I would describe our surroundings there.

I would highly recommend this place for anyone who wants to get off the beaten path for some R&R!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitkamama
Sitka, Ak
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned home from two weeks at the Jungle Farmhouse and it couldn't have been better. I love Pahoa because of real places like this. I, personally, don't go on vacation to stay in a condo that could be anywhere. To each his own, but I am always delighted when I walk through the door of a vacation rental that embodies the feeling I am searching for when visiting a specific area. The Jungle Farmhouse nailed it! Even though the house isn't THAT old, it has a great historic feel with its single wall construction style and its louvered windows. Funky, comfortable vintage furniture and a nice collection of Audubon prints top it off.
I got my routine down fairly quickly, sunrise at the tide pools followed by a swim in the warm pond (wonderful first thing in the morning) home to wake the family for a breakfast of fresh fruit and fresh eggs compliments of the resident chickens, off for a day of adventure, home again for a short rest then in to town for dinner or more often, a beer and some poke' while watching the sun set at Pohoiki boat ramp. Did you know you can actually see the sun rise and set from the East side of the island?
I hate to admit it, but it was great to have good wifi and cable. My 11yr old daughter definitely spent some time on the couch watching tv, and for once, everybody was happy! It was also nice being so close to town, even though you'd never know you were. Because of our location we went out to eat more than we usually do on vacation, Pahoa has some good, reasonably priced restaurants that are a lot of fun. My husband was thrilled to get to go out so much, and once again, everybody was happy. So, I guess I can honestly say the Jungle Farmhouse was a perfect fit for every member of my family. Thanks Danny and Matthew and crew.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennydew
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love love love”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you trip advisor! That's how we found this little piece of paradise. I can't really add to the other reviews except to say they are right on. Don't skip the outdoor shower. Amazing water pressure and bathe while watching the jungle. Petting the baby goats was bliss. Sooooo sweet. Love all the animals. Super comfortable bed and good nights of sleep. Don't miss driving the loop of 132, 137, 130. Absolutely spectacular and each stop we made had something completely different to offer. Who needs TV when you can sit on the couch and watch the rain pour on the jungle through the giant picture window.

So reasonably priced that we feel spoiled. Come on - a whole three bedroom house - for real!?

Ok - I guess I did have a few things to say. I am sad to leave here today and would return in a heartbeat. Matthew and Danny felt like old friends from the moment we arrived at their sister B&B in Hilo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stferret
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The Jungle Farmhouse was an ideal place to stay during our trip to Hawaii. The place was clean, well maintained, and had a lot of charm. The owners were helpful with their suggestions and very accommodating, offering up the use of their snorkeling equipment, laundry facilities, etc.
We enjoyed visiting with the two goats, watching the interactions of the chickens with the ducks and neighboring rooster, and the joyful excitement of the dogs. Nights were dark and peaceful (other than the sounds of the Coqui frogs), and it was nice to have lodging away from the dense population hubs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: house gecko
Liked least: coqui frogs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie_B...
Springfield, VA
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Hated to Leave”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed our first 3 nights on the island at the Jungle Farmhouse. What a wonderful place to wind down and actually feel like you're on vacation. Ducks, chickens, goats, dogs, and fresh fruit hanging on the trees all around prove you are in someplace special. The sound of the rain and the frogs make the best night time soundtrack ever, so soothing and so easy to lull you to sleep. From the minute we arrive, Matthew and Danny made us feel at home, offering us fruit, fresh eggs, use of the washer/dryer, ideas for dinner, etc. From the JF, we had a great base of operations to enjoy Kaleo's, the Red Route, the Sunday market-which IS NOT to be missed, the grocery store, etc. Everything was within reach, but everything melted away once you were back on the porch and listening to the frogs, watching the goats, or just looking at the birds. We slept well all 3 nights and were very sad to leave for Kona. Pahoa and the JF just feel so live and vibrant and apart; the dryness and traffic of the west side of Hawai'i feel less like vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the porch
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing