We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rustic jewel in the rainforest”

Yoga Oasis Retreat Center
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pahoa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yoga Oasis Retreat Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pahoa
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This place may not be for everybody... but the yoga is first class! Star & Eugene are both excellent and patient teachers. And if you want to get away from the glitz of Kona and have a feeling for the what Hawaii is all about, Yoga Oasis is that place! I would also recommend it as a great couples get away... Reminds me a bit of the old Santa Cruz, Ca. Days...

I stayed in a guest room the main building and found it clean, quiet & comfortable. I was alone most of the time (except for the geckos and chickens) as it was the slow season, but I never felt lonely. I was privileged to have been able to stay 3 weeks and got to know the locals and found everyone here helpful and friendly... I was lucky enough to meet Karen, a local woman in one of my classes and had several fantastic massages with her!

The staff has put together a great little local guide book (just ask for it) that explains in detail how to find the cool places an fun things to do. My favorite was the tide ponds, went almost every day. Also don't miss Uncle Roberts Wednesday Night Market.in Kalapana.... Great food, live music and dancing! I loved the Pahoa Farmers Market along the main Rd.

Thank you Star for a great healing getaway!

Room Tip: If you can afford it the cabins are the way to go. But the less expensive work exchange is a great w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JumpIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

This place is unkempt, badly managed and really out there. Rooms are small and bathroom is open and towels are smelly and sheets are same. Rooms not cleaned even after second day, only towels changed. No breakfast provided, no meals nothing. Only the yoga is good, two hours in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jersey_Traveller0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We went to the yoga oasis after completing a backpacking trip in Volcanoes National Park so we splurged and stayed in one of the cabins. They were simplistic, original and kept out most of the wildlife but the best part was the yoga and breakfast afterwards. This place it a great stay if you want to feel energized and feed your body and soul. The 2 hour yoga session in the morning opened up my yoga practice (which was not much above a sporadic beginner) and empowered me. The breakfast afterwards is a feast but not serving meat or using any artificial sweeteners, you didn't feel bad about loading up your plate. One of the best experiences I had on the Big Island! I hope we get a chance to return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We recently returned from our visit to Pahoa and Yoga Oasis. It was a perfect fit for us. We loved the rainforest setting. The pine cabin was comfortable but thanks to the excellent excursion guide that can be downloaded from thier website we were out exploring each day following the excellent Yoga class and delicious breakfast. and did not return until late at night. I found the Yoga challenging and transforming. Many chronic aches and pains melted away after 3 classes! Juicing fresh fruit from the orchards at breakfast was delicious. The region of the big Island has some great opportunities for outdoor adventure. We especially liked the tide pools for snorkeling, Volcano National Park and the scenic drive to the Botanical Gardens north of Hilo.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bucketlisttraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Star is an amazing teacher and the Yoga Studio is as good as it gets. Imagine waking
up each morning in a Hawaiian Rainforest and starting your day in a sun filled Yoga studio
with natural sunshine and the ocean breeze. Very close to the best Mexican and Thai food on the Big Island (in Pahoa) and some really amazing adventure/nature spots. Highlights in this area include good local bands, beach drum circles, some of the best black sand beaches and snorkeling in all of Hawaii. Definitely recommend if your looking for a relaxing place to explore the hidden secrets of the non-touristy side of Hawaii while learning Yoga as well as Chi Gung.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alaplaya20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We spent a week at Yoga Oasis at the beginning of August 2008. We were looking for a place to relax on the Big Island and get a bit of yoga in while sightseeing, etc. Yoga Oasis is in the jungle, the accomodations are nice, but it's very remote and while we followed their instructions to arrive during the day (booking a hotel in Hilo on our arrival so we wouldn't arrive in the dark), we still got incredibly lost on our first night trying to make our way back from dinner. There are no street lights (because of the observatory on the island) and the jungle is dense. The yoga was nice, but the owners of the place were away and the "staff" are actually guests who were there on a work exchange. They were fine, but it felt a bit odd. We were the ONLY guests the first night, and one other couple came the second night...There were a few others around for the yoga class in the morning, neighbors and local surfers who "worked" with Star and Haywarth...not exactly sure. Most common theme of discussion at brunch (which was, BTW, delicious) was "living off the grid" (solar, septic, etc.). So, if you are thinking of moving to Hawaii, want to live in the jungle and be "off the grid", this might be the place for you. If you are looking for a vacation in Hawaii, unless you like being completely by yourself at the resort with basically nothing to do in the evenings except drive in the dark for an hour to try and find something for dinner since you can't use their facilities for cooking, I wouldn't recommend it. If you want just a bit of interaction with other guests or assistance from staff and not working guests, I would go somewhere else. And, just to be fair, one more thing that left a bad feeling with me, was that we asked for a refund for our last night, because we had an early departure from Hilo. While Star recommends not arriving late in the day, there's no mention of the fact that if you have an early flight, you would have to wake up at 5 AM (still dark in the jungle) and have to get ready to go to the airport in the pitch dark (about an hours drive.) We opted to leave a night early and go back to Hilo, but the guest/manager who was there could not help us and Star and Hayward who are gone from the property for threee months, would not agree to refund our money. Happy to discuss more of this offline if anyone would like.

Namaste - Kim

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank henriandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2008

My husband & I are recent empty nesters. We stayed at Yoga Oasis for 3 nights and loved every minute. The accommodations were lovely and the surroundings beautiful. We enjoyed the company of the chickens, feral pigs, and cats who roam the grounds. We hadn’t booked early enough to get one of the cabins with hot showers however we had a toilet and sink by our room and the showers in the main building were nearby and wonderful.

We felt very comfortable in the morning yoga classes even though we are novices and many of the students were quite advanced. Everyone on the staff and the other guests were friendly and welcoming. Mosquitoes were few due to the natural water traps used to keep the population down.

Yoga Oasis gave us an excellent guide of the area that they have developed for their guests. The directions were perfect--we had no trouble finding our way around and we enjoyed all the state parks and sights in the area. We had fun snorkeling and just strolling around exploring the area: tidal pools, black volcanic sand beaches, natural saunas (volcanic steam vents), lava fields, enjoying extraordinary coastal vistas.

Breakfast each morning was delicious with oranges grown right on the property, freshly baked bread or muffins, eggs from the chickens, lots of other fruits, yogurt, etc. The guide provided had great suggestions for lunch places and excellent nearby restaurants for dinner.

In short, we loved our get-away-from-it-all retreat, found the yoga inspiring, and emerged from the rainforest relaxed and renewed. We hope we can find a way back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AnneBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
21.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
570 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
23.7 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
678 reviews
21.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
5.0 mi away
Pele's Breath
Pele's Breath
#1 of 2 in Pahoa
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoga Oasis Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoga Oasis Retreat Center

Address: Pohoiki Road, P.O. Box 1935, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pahoa
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer daily yoga classes, delicious vegetarian meals, yoga retreats, eco-adventure retreats, and massage. We are a short drive to the ocean, natural thermal hot springs, sauna steam caves, a black sand beach, surfing, snorkeling, farmer's market, and hiking to Green Mountain Lake. We are a secluded sanctuary, nestled on 26 acres of rain forest and on solar power! Sun, rain showers and range from a perfect 65 to 85 degrees year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yoga Oasis Retreat Hotel Pahoa
Yoga Oasis Retreat Center Pahoa
Yoga Oasis Retreat Center Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing