We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, spotless, peaceful, very close to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Oliana Cottage - Surrounded by Nature
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oliana Cottage - Surrounded by Nature
Your path from from the parking area to the cottage, now with  new privacy screen.  Outdoor shower with bench at right. Tropical flowers and new privacy screen greet your entrance.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Oliana Cottage - Surrounded by Nature
Your path from from the parking area to the cottage, now with  new privacy screen.  Outdoor shower with bench at right.
Tropical flowers and new privacy screen greet your entrance.
Enjoy a panorama of sky and nature
Glass dining table - Bathroom is behind the louvered door.
Everything you need to dine in rather than going out.  Electric grill & toaster oven not in photo.
Or sit outside in the garden.
Garden at sunset
red hibiscus
Bathroom is behind the louvered door.
Bath and beach towels are provided.
Indoor shower
Buddha mask, straw Ganesh table and Music Circle Hawaii posters grace the wall outside the louvered door.
yellow hibiscus
Mirrored closet holds kitchen utensils. books, games and more.
Oliana Cottage
Oliana Point - literally across the street
Kalapana lava flow - see hikers near the edge
Walk or drive along the Red Road
Red Road scenery
Kalapana surface flow at night
People up close to the flow
Lava flowing into the ocean at Kalapana
blue sky seen through palm leaves
favorite ferns and tiny white flowers
Gecko peeking out at you on the outdoor shower
Awesome  coastline photo by C J Kale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WorldAliv...
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely, spotless, peaceful, very close to beaches, such a nice proprietor!”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Babette is so nice and her place is lovely. Pretty, airy, and peaceful in a sort of lava garden. A good kitchen area. Just a block from the coast, and very short drive (and nice walk) to beaches, warm pools, tide pools with excellent, safe snorkeling, Easy drive to Pahoa. Very comfortable bed and lots of nice touches. Very tropical area, my favorite on Hawaii. I did not see a single mosquito, by the way. Perhaps because the area is breezy and well ventilated.
I wanted to stay 3 nights but she had only one available so found me another very good place very close by, what a gift to a weary traveler. Thank you, Babette!
(Pahoa is closest town, 13 miles away, nice drive, grocery stores, drug store, etc. Good restaurants - they are very nice inside.)

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Very pretty place, furnished nicely, very clean and fresh.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Thank you Sandy for writing a great informative review. It was a pleasure meeting you, and I hope you are able to return here soon for a longer vacation. Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzette S
Cucamonga
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing island hideaway”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A lovely guest cottage at a private residence. I enjoyed the location on Hawaii. Everything on this side of the island seemed very relaxing. There are not a lot of tourist activities nearby. I chose this rental as my main purpose for visiting the Big Island was to visit Volcanoes National Park. The cottage was clean and well maintained. It included lots of extras you would never get at a hotel or timeshare. In addition to all the kitchen items, there were beach towels, beach chairs, snorkeling gear and an ice chest in the unit. The owner was very nice and was there to greet me even though I arrived after 10:30 pm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and that is was not a hotel
Liked least: There was no sink in the bathroom. Only sink was in the kitchen.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
It was a pleasure to meet you Suzette, and to host you as a guest on this off the beaten path side of the island. Thank you for writing a kind review with detailed info. Mahalo nui loa, Babette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K
Laguna Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable - and away from it all”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Babette's Oliana Cottage for three nights in early July and had a great time. It was exactly like the online photos and spotlessly clean (which I really appreciated) and the perfect spot for exploring Puna and the south east of the Big Island.

Even though it was a 45 min or so drive up to VNP, we loved being off the beaten track down in Kehena. If you're a light sleeper you may need to factor in is the noise from the Coqui frogs at night. Imagine *considerably loud crickets. However, as it's a constant noise, kinda like white noise, it didn't keep us awake. Otherwise, the surrounding bird song and peacefulness of the jungle during the day- especially during an early morning light rainfall- is gorgeous! One thing about the cottage is that there's no hand sink in the bathroom so you have to wash your hands and clean your teeth at the kitchen sink, but that wasn't a big deal. Just a bit odd.

The cottage is a five minute walk to Kehena Black Sand Beach which is totally worth checking out if you're up for the climb down to the sand. We met some nice locals there. They said the water conditions were mellow the day we were there, compared to how they can be most of the time. The break was still pretty intense and some people did get pounded trying to get out of the water.

Kalani, a nearby yoga retreat, serves a good value vegetarian breakfast buffet and sells snacks and coffees to go. It's just a few minutes drive east of the cottage on the scenic road to Kapoho and the tide pools area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene Idaho
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco
Reviewed 5 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terrapin Station, USA
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Feb 2014
Mahalo (thank you) Patrick for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed the cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing