We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some days in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lava Tree Tropic Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Some days in paradise”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This b&b is just awesome! An amazing frame of tropical nature, a very comfortable accomodation and super friendly Irene made her very best to let us feel at home.
The breackfest is mainly based on local home-made delicious products with large choice of juces, jams, chicken, avocado, cheese salads and many others...
It is also a perfect location for all kind of volcano discovery tours, by car, bike or boat,

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcocopello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    26
    1
    5
    2
See reviews for
30
59
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2012

My wife and I spent 9 days at the Lava Tree Tropic Inn in the month of October, 2012. The rooms were clean, quiet, and roomy. Ours had it's own bathroom. Irene the owner was lovely to talk to and helpful to direct us to attractions. The breakfasts were awsome with natural ingredients and great conversation with travelers from all over the world (in our case Greece, Lithuania, England, and Spain - we live in Oregon.) Breakfast consisted of four and some mornings five courses. The inn is also conveniently located for easy trips to the volcano, Hilo, and other big island attractions. We could not have been happier.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but only one has it's own bathroom so if the latter is important ask for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanley n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

What a fabulous B and B. The setting is just beautiful with tropical plants, flowers and trees. Irene, the inn keeper, is the perfect host preparing a multi course home made breakfast with great coffee. Much of the breakfast is right from the fruit and vegetable trees on her property. If you love nature then this is the place to stay. We had the room with the private bath and it was very spacious. Irene is always gracious in answering any questions about the area and has many great tips on local attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellots29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I am quickly going to start with a bit of advice: DO NOT FOLLOW YOUR GPS NAVIGATION TO THIS PLACE-- FOLLOW IRENE'S DIRECTIONS!!! The inn is on a private road and your gps will lead you astray as it did to me.

I just returned home from my second trip to the Lava Tree Inn... I miss the place already, and I can't wait to return. Everything I eat at home seems so boring compared to Irene's breakfasts-- which consist primarily of tropical fruit from the property, fresh bread, eggs from the property, and of course, Irene's famous Lilikoi jam... and anything else she can dream up.

The Inn is a beautiful property nestled in the rain forest. It can be a little bit of a challenge to find the place the first time, but once you do, you will be very happy to have found such a wonderful inn. Just follow the directions Irene provides!! It's actually fairly simple to get to, but the first time you go you will feel like you're driving to the middle of nowhere. So when you get that feeling, just keep going-- you're almost there. It may be a good idea to rent a midsized suv for the private dirt road to the property, but we managed it in a small car.

Do keep in mind-- this is an honest to goodness b&b, and it is one of the best I have ever stayed in. Anyone who has left a negative review on here must have been looking for a hotel. You will be staying in Irene's home and she pretty much runs the whole show by herself. She is a wonderful host and will do everything she can to make sure you have a wonderful and unforgettable experience... the rooms will be clean and beds will be beautifully made upon your arrival, but if you are expecting maid and turndown service-- you are in the wrong place. However, if you want the kind of experience where the host takes you to the Hot Ponds in the morning for her daily swim before she makes you the best tropical breakfast you've ever had-- welcome home!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spencer-sdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

beautiful location and nice rooms!

Irene works hard to make sure you have a memorable experience.

Room Tip: pick the one with the private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter111880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This place is a gem! We were in the area "Lava Tree Park" and I read so much about it online I wanted to check it out. This place is an oasis! What a divine location!!! You have to drive on a one lane gravel road to get there, that helps to add to the quiet and peacefulness of the location. Be prepared to hear Coqui Frogs at night. The sound is quite awesome, but have ear plugs just in case. This was my favorite location in the Big Island. We also stayed in Volcano Village and in Kona.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Myrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The location is beautiful, surrounded by lush vegetation, it's also in reasonable proximity to take a lava hike or go to the Volcanoes NP. Breakfast is excellent and the host Irene is really very nice. Just be aware, that only one room has a private bathroom, the other 4 double rooms share two bathrooms, breakfast usually only finishes by 10 a.m., the rooms are clean but smell a bit moldy due to the high humidity and the rooster will let you know when it's 5 a.m. It's really a B&B where you live in someone's house, not a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Profession:Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
19.8 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
21.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
399 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.8 mi away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
2.6 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lava Tree Tropic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava Tree Tropic Inn

Property: Lava Tree Tropic Inn
Address: Lava Tree State Park #3, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lava Tree Tropic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lava Tree Tropic Inn B&B has a wrap-around lanai (verandah) with three separate sitting areas where you can enjoy your morning coffee, relax with a good book, or just sit and take pleasure in the view. Rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lava Tree Tropic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lava Tree Tropic Inn Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing