We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lava Tree Tropic Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arnott's Lodge(Hilo)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$181
US$158
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$228
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$251
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$385
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano House(Hawaii Volcanoes National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
105
26
2
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
26
2
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfruit treesother guestsrental carhungarian cheesebig islandevery morningbed and breakfastfresh eggscountry livinggravel roadorchid suitetasty coffeerelaxing breakfastrooms are lovelypineappleyogurttide pools
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This b&b is just awesome! An amazing frame of tropical nature, a very comfortable accomodation and super friendly Irene made her very best to let us feel at home.
The breackfest is mainly based on local home-made delicious products with large choice of juces, jams, chicken, avocado, cheese salads and many others...
It is also a perfect location for all kind of volcano discovery tours, by car, bike or boat,

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcocopello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

My wife and I spent 9 days at the Lava Tree Tropic Inn in the month of October, 2012. The rooms were clean, quiet, and roomy. Ours had it's own bathroom. Irene the owner was lovely to talk to and helpful to direct us to attractions. The breakfasts were awsome with natural ingredients and great conversation with travelers from all over the world (in our case Greece, Lithuania, England, and Spain - we live in Oregon.) Breakfast consisted of four and some mornings five courses. The inn is also conveniently located for easy trips to the volcano, Hilo, and other big island attractions. We could not have been happier.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but only one has it's own bathroom so if the latter is important ask for it. However the shared bathrooms are conveniently located.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanley n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

What a fabulous B and B. The setting is just beautiful with tropical plants, flowers and trees. Irene, the inn keeper, is the perfect host preparing a multi course home made breakfast with great coffee. Much of the breakfast is right from the fruit and vegetable trees on her property. If you love nature then this is the place to stay. We had the room with the private bath and it was very spacious. Irene is always gracious in answering any questions about the area and has many great tips on local attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellots29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I am quickly going to start with a bit of advice: DO NOT FOLLOW YOUR GPS NAVIGATION TO THIS PLACE-- FOLLOW IRENE'S DIRECTIONS!!! The inn is on a private road and your gps will lead you astray as it did to me.

I just returned home from my second trip to the Lava Tree Inn... I miss the place already, and I can't wait to return. Everything I eat at home seems so boring compared to Irene's breakfasts-- which consist primarily of tropical fruit from the property, fresh bread, eggs from the property, and of course, Irene's famous Lilikoi jam... and anything else she can dream up.

The Inn is a beautiful property nestled in the rain forest. It can be a little bit of a challenge to find the place the first time, but once you do, you will be very happy to have found such a wonderful inn. Just follow the directions Irene provides!! It's actually fairly simple to get to, but the first time you go you will feel like you're driving to the middle of nowhere. So when you get that feeling, just keep going-- you're almost there. It may be a good idea to rent a midsized suv for the private dirt road to the property, but we managed it in a small car.

Do keep in mind-- this is an honest to goodness b&b, and it is one of the best I have ever stayed in. Anyone who has left a negative review on here must have been looking for a hotel. You will be staying in Irene's home and she pretty much runs the whole show by herself. She is a wonderful host and will do everything she can to make sure you have a wonderful and unforgettable experience... the rooms will be clean and beds will be beautifully made upon your arrival, but if you are expecting maid and turndown service-- you are in the wrong place. However, if you want the kind of experience where the host takes you to the Hot Ponds in the morning for her daily swim before she makes you the best tropical breakfast you've ever had-- welcome home!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spencer-sdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

beautiful location and nice rooms!

Irene works hard to make sure you have a memorable experience.

Room Tip: pick the one with the private bath
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter111880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews