We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick Trip Just to Say You Went...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ahalanui Park

Ahalanui Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$189.00*
and up
Landscapes of Frozen Fire Adventure
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Pahoa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Somerset, NJ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Quick Trip Just to Say You Went...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

From Kehena Beach, it was about a 20-30 min drive to what we kept reading as a must see attraction. The drive was nice, a pleasant winding road covered on both sides with banyan trees and bamboo. If you drive too fast, you'll miss the entrance. It was really nothing more than a sectioned off "natural" pool of warm water bordering the ocean (promoted as being heated by the volcano springs) with many "older" folk wading with their noodles and swim caps. My husband and I literally took a dip for 10 minutes, then left. That was it. Nothing to write home about. I'd skip it....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    120
    24
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to visit & swim.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were staying in a rental, about one mile from this park, which made it a convenient place to visit. There is a life guard on duty at this natural, protected thermal pool. The views are great, and the waters always about 90 degrees, being heated by the volcanoes. A very popular park to visit, with picnic facilities & parking nearby. If I lived in this area, I'd visit this place often.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave021941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
114 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice, warm water on a cool day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

It was a rainy Feb day when we decided to check out Ahalanui Park and the water. Turns out it's a great place to relax and swim, or snorkel and splash, with or without kids. The day we went there were perhaps 30 people at the Park in and out of the water, though many more would fit comfortably. The water was bathtub temperature (about 82º or so) and since there is an inlet from the ocean on the other side of the lava rock wall, cool water is constantly coming in and swirling around, so there are cool and warm pockets. There are also tons of little fish that swim around you and eat off of your skin after a bit (presumably the swarms of tiny plant matter that fill the pool area).

There is a one-post shower to rinse off afterward, but the water from that is not warmed. No bathroom facilities, but they did have a few portapotties, so suggest going before. There is also a small picnic table area with covered roof and outdoor charcoal grill for picnics. Recommend wearing sandals or water shoes down to the water as all around is lava rock and lava rock walls which can be harsh on the bare feet.

We ended up staying maybe an hour total, a rather delightful break in the day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DarwynK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
276 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Loved it here despite not being able to swim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Really loved just sitting in the shade of the tree and watching everyone else have fun. My son persuaded me to have a go and loved it. Doesn't matter if you can't swim, you can stand at the edge and enjoy the water. I thought it might be too hot but the temperature of the water is just right. With lifeguards, showers, toilets and enough fish to keep the snorkellers happy, it's a lovely place to visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
168 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Quiet, warm water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We all enjoyed it here. It is a safe swimming area for families and the water is warm (unless you get too close to the incoming ocean water). There are fish in the water which I thought was cool, but may make some people uncomfortable.
The port-a-potties are big enough to change comfortably. I recommend water shoes because the bottom surface is rough and uneven. Also, if you have an open wound DO NOT get in. The water has been shown to be safe, but there has been a few cases of people with open sores swimming here and ending up in the hospital with severe infections. I had a small sore on my foot and no problems with it since, but it was almost healed up by the time I went. Definitely be careful if you have immune system issues.
Parking is abundant and both parking and entrance are free. There is a lifeguard on duty as well.
No food / drinks available.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ArenJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ahalanui Park also viewed

Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ahalanui Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing