We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 18 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We have been fortunate to have travelled to so many wonderful destinations during the last two decades, and have mainly had good to great experiences with our accomodations. With our busy schedules it is not often that we are able to take the time to write a review.

Our most recent stay at Hale Makamae B & B, however, was one of those rare, outstanding experiences which we feel we really need to share with our fellow travellers. Tucked away in a lush, subtropical corner of paradise, surrounded by gardens lovingly planted and tended by Petra and John, our hosts, the beauty and serenity of Hale Makamae can not adequately be described in our review, but rather needs to be experienced. The location is also ideal. It is a short ride from Hilo, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the lava flows, a natural hot pool, and great snorkelling and white and black sand beaches, as well as other interesting things to do and see. Upon our arrival we were greeted as if we were long time friends or family. They took the time to get to know what we wanted to do while staying there and point us in the right direction. They lent us maps with the routes highlighted and snorkelling equipment. They know the area very well and were an invaluable resource to us. They made our experience on Hawaii Island much richer. Petra prepared a fabulous breakfast with hot as well as cold foods each morning, including an assortment of fresh island grown fruits and hot Kona coffee. We only arrived home from our vacation last night and have already recommended Hale Makamae to several friends. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit Hawaii.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizardofwallstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Hale Makamae is a very friendly B&B with a unique personal touch to it. Before I arrived, the owners send me some tips about things to do in the area. They were traveling during my stay, but their manager did an excellent job running the business, welcoming guests, cooking warm breakfast (delicious!) and keeping the place perfectly clean, all on her own! She was so friendly and didn't even complain when me and some other guests checked in after 9 pm. I also loved the lush tropical garden with a variety of fruit trees and beautiful flowers. I was traveling alone, but I talked to a couple with two kids who stayed in one of the suites and they were very pleased with the service. The kids were having a blast playing in the garden and picking fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4ZC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

we spent only 2 nights, coming from Maui: it's the best position, close to hip airport and to the kaiulani volcano, plus the lava tree park and the lava sea on the coast.
the room with garden view is big and comfortable, with a kitchenette, living room, plasma tv. we enjoy very much the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simo077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We were a party of 5 with 3 new visitors to the Big Island and 2 of us were returning visitors and this was the first tiome for all this B&B. Our Lanai suite was excellent. We had comfortable accomodations and were all together. The breakfast menu changed every morning and was a perfect start to the day. We were more than energized to do all the activities we scheduled for ourselves. John was working while were were there but Petra and the kids were quite the synchronized team as they quietly cleared up after breakfast. Petra lent us the local map book to use during the stay. When we were in panic over the lava boat tour, Petra guided us through what to expect and clarified details. The gardens were absolutely beautiful, we could not leave without taking pictures!!!! WE will have wonderful memories of our trip, but especially of our stay here.

Room Tip: Follow their directions to the B&B. They have sme valuable tips for local exploring, dinign and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Nice facilities in a tropical garden setting. The tree frogs provide a beautiful serenade after dark.
Petra is a wonderful hostess. She shows an interest in the guests' plans and makes valuable suggestions. We enjoyed two great dinners based upon Petra's recommendations. We used Hale Makamae as a base for visiting the Tropical Botanical Gardens and Volcanoes National Park.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The studio was fine for two. There are a lot of outdoor lights that made sleeping a little difficult as the curtains were thin. The banana pancakes were good. John and Petra are very hospitable and leant us a great map to use. The shower curtain is a little dirty on the bottom, otherwise the place was clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinaDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Quiet and relaxing grounds. perfect spot from which to explore the Puna district on the Big Island.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden suite, very roomy for a couple with a nice mini kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldudeWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
21.3 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
679 reviews
20.0 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
572 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 18 in Pahoa
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ohia House
The Ohia House
#2 of 18 in Pahoa
217 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pele's Breath
Pele's Breath
#1 of 2 in Pahoa
15 reviews
20.4 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13-3315 Makamae St, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8453 (Formerly Hale Makamae Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range: £95 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Hilo - Warm Island Hospitality and Aloha Spirit of old Hawaii – Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast offers comfortable, spacious suites surrounded by beautiful tropical serene gardens. Three suites with living room and kitchenette, one studio, all with separate entrances and private bathrooms. 10 min. to lava viewing area, where active red hot lava plunges into the ocean, 30 min. to Volcanoes National Park & Hilo/International Airport, 5 min. to Pahoa, in Leilani Estates. Close to hot ponds, black sand beaches, coastal parks, snorkeling, steam vents. German/English spoken, gourmet Island breakfast included in rates, families with children welcome, many other amenities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing