We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, WA, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Petra is a wonderful host. We've been to the Big Island several times, but thanks to Petra's inside knowledge we've found new favorite places. Her breakfasts are beyond delicious and very generous. She goes out of her way to make your stay special. We stayed in the studio 2 nights and then moved to the garden suite. The beds in both were fabulously comfortable, clean and decorated with charm and care. If you love plants, you'll be in botanical heaven--her gardens are lovely and the setting is so peaceful. Our stay here was completely relaxing, next time we're staying longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    82
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
154
355
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
East Bay, CA
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Hale Moana Lanai Suite was the perfect fit for our family - 2 adults and 3 kids. We stayed at 3 different B&B's and this one felt like our Hawaii Home ~ we would definitely return!!

A true feel of the Big Island rain forest with the warm weather and warm scattered showers, the surrounding sound of tree frogs as night sets in and just removed enough from the main roads to be relaxing.

Petra was a warm surprise with the useful local information and directions on places to take our kids snorkeling, warm springs, places to eat and parks. Her breakfasts were *delicious* and the best french toast I've ever had, as well as a variety to choose from each day. Our kids were amazed with the coconut trees and she was thoughtful enough to set a small fallen coconut at each of their place settings ~ our kids loved staying there too!

The Lanai Suite - 2 bedrooms, futon couch, one bathroom off the master, large living space, open kitchen. This suite was very clean, comfortable and felt like hawaii home, not overly fancy, like we could live there for a few days. Both the kitchen and bathroom had extra amenities that made our stay useful ~ like sandwich bags, parmesan cheese, salad dressing, body wash in the bathroom, nail polish remover. Large garden area with fruit plants, flowers and open grass for kids to play on.

Yes please, we would love to return! Thank you again, Petra!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyS005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambly, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2013

super stay at hale moana... first glimpse of the island was from here and thanks to Petra's daily sensible and up to date touristic advice and tips, we enjoyed every minute of it. Very nice (but frugal) breakfasts & clean rooms. Professional service and cheerful welcome. Mahalo, Petra!

Room Tip: garden room was just perfect (:
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

What a wonderful way to start the day at Hale Moana! Petra's breakfast, her Aloha, her knowledge of the culture and her little inside hints were valuable. We stayed at Petra's B & B while attending the Merrie Monarch Festival in Hilo. It was a hectic trip when we were out and about but very peaceful in the mornings at Hale Moana. Though I was a "tourist" while on the big island, I am very much a kamaaina (local). But even for a local like me, it was truly amazing to walk through her beautiful, lush garden each morning. Most of my photos were of her flowers and plants! We hope to attend the festival again and if we do, we will surely come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eko873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This B & B was excellent. The setting, room, service, and breakfasts were delicious. Petra obviously enjoys taking care of her guests with her attention to details and helpfulness. We would recommend this place and stay her again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RondaZ903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I will admit this is my first time staying at a B&B. I chose to stay here because the general consensus seems to be that there are no nice hotels on the Hilo side of the island. Hale Moana was nice, but not quite as nice as I was expecting based on the reviews. The grounds are nice, but honestly I like my yard better (yes, I work very hard on my yard.) When we first arrived, I tried to look for signs to determine which door to enter through. I didn't see any evidence of which way to go, so I followed what seemed to be the main path, which led to the main house, which was the wrong answer. The hostess was nice about it, but I felt a little silly and wished we could have avoided the whole situation by the use of a strategically placed sign. The suite was fine, but I didn't know a couple of things that might have affected my decision - the second/other bedroom is down a step or two, and the ceiling is really sloped and it does affect your ability to stand up straight. My senior citizen mom (5'4") stayed in that room, but she was a bit concerned she was going to hit her head if she was on the "short" side of the room, and I was a bit concerned that she would miss a step should she leave her room to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night. Note that there is one bathroom, which is fine, but it's only accessible via the master bedroom. If the person in the second bedroom needs to use the bathroom, they need to go through the master bedroom-not ideal. Suite was comfortable and clean and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaO533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed for four nights in the Lanai Suite at Hale Moana in March 2013, and warmly recommend this B&B. The house is located at the end of the road amid a huge and lush tropical garden. The Lanai Suite is very spacious and nicely furnished with a large sitting-room, main bedroom with ensuite bathroom and a small extra bedroom with a single bed, so it's very well suited to a family with one kid or three adults. Breakfast is served in a room full of orchids, and the food is delicious - there's always a main dish such as french toast, omelette or scrambled eggs & sausages, in addition to bread and jam and a huge platter of fresh tropical fruit. Especially the French Toast was delicious! Every morning during breakfast, Petra (the host) comes down to take some time to chat with every guest about their plans for the day. She has loads of advice to give about the area and will point you to the best places to go. We were also provided with a detailed driving map of the area which was very helpful! The B&B is very conveniently located about a 20-30 minute drive from Hilo, and provides easy access to attractions such as the Rainbow & Akaka Falls, the Kapoho Tide Pools, the lava flow in Puna and the Volcanoes National Park. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you Petra for the warm welcome!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silja I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
20.0 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
21.7 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
407 reviews
20.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ohia House
The Ohia House
#2 of 17 in Pahoa
211 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
71 reviews
20.4 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13-3315 Makamae St, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8453 (Formerly Hale Makamae Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Hilo - Warm Island Hospitality and Aloha Spirit of old Hawaii – Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast offers comfortable, spacious suites surrounded by beautiful tropical serene gardens. Three suites with living room and kitchenette, one studio, all with separate entrances and private bathrooms. 10 min. to lava viewing area, where active red hot lava plunges into the ocean, 30 min. to Volcanoes National Park & Hilo/International Airport, 5 min. to Pahoa, in Leilani Estates. Close to hot ponds, black sand beaches, coastal parks, snorkeling, steam vents. German/English spoken, gourmet Island breakfast included in rates, families with children welcome, many other amenities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing