We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kona hi
1 review
“wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We just spent three nights at this wonder b & b. We stayed in the lanai suite and is was very comfortable for three of us. The grounds of this property are so beautiful with gardens and a very remote and rural setting. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of fresh fruit. The owner Petra was very welcoming and shared information on sites to see. I would recommend this establishment and would return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    81
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
149
346
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

How do you spell "greatest inn keeper on the island Hawaii? P-E-T-R-A
This hardworking lady goes out of her way to ensure guests have a pleasant stay.

This is B&B in first class. The suites are spacious, clean and inviting. Private baths and kitchenettes, Beautiful garden surrounding the inn. This was our 2nd stay. Great breakfast. Loved the fresh fruits, breads, Kona coffee and the pancakes.

Remember you are in the forrest. There are no street lights. Finding your way in the dark can be challenging. I rented an Avis car with their GPS and had no problem finding my way.

Room Tip: Loved the 1 and 2 bedroom suites. The lanai suite is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrEd_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We quite enjoyed our 3 night stay in the Lanai Suite at Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast! The suite was quite spacious and my son was thrilled with having his own little bedroom tucked away under the eaves. Hale Moana is a nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city, we never felt unsafe out in the countryside, even late in the evening. Petra made us feel very welcome, and spent time at breakfast going over maps of the area and recommending places we may want to visit. Speaking of breakfast, it was quite delicious, and she even accommodated our son by making him French toast again on our third day! (he still talks about the French toast)

The location of the bed and breakfast was very convenient - only a short drive to the Lava Boat Ocean Tours (the lava was still flowing in August and it was spectacular!), an hour or so drive to Volcanoes National Park (also worth the trip), dining and shops in the little town of Pahoa, and many other attractions close by.

We also enjoyed listening to the coqui frogs at night - it felt like we were in a tropical rainforest, although i'm sure it gets annoying to the locals - and it was fun spotting the little geckos as they scampered across our lanai! The view from our wrap-around balcony was quite impressive - gardens as far as the eye could see.

Please do not hesitate to stay at Hale Moana - you will not regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alittletlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We enjoyed the breakfast because fruits is fresh together with juice and coffee. Room is clean and big , there are lots of beautiful flowers in the garden such as Roses .Owner Petra is a friendly German lady, she provided really details information for the Big Island with travel guide.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Cryssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

While on our honeymoon in Hawaii, my husband and I decided to plan a last minute, 2 day trip to the Big Island to see the lava. We wanted to stay somewhere awesome but also budget friendly. We called to book our stay at the Hale Moana B&B two days before our arrival and fortunately there was an available room. This was our first time staying at a B&B and I must admit I was hesitant, however this place was perfect. We stayed in the garden suite, which was private and spacious. It was very clean, comfortable, and decorated nicely. Every night we fell asleep to the pleasant sound of tree frogs. Unfortunately, due to the government shut down, we were unable to see the lava, however our host Petra made our visit to the Big Island worth our while. During breakfast, Petra took the time to show us a map of the Big Island and point out excellent places to visit. Her advice really helped us in exploring the surrounding area. She also let us borrow her map and snorkeling gear for free. We would definitely stay here again and Petra is fantastic!

Room Tip: The garden suite is very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed 4 wonderful nights in the Lanai Suite overlooking the beautiful surroundings of the lush garden. We appreciated the fresh fruits from the garden every morning for breakfast. Hale Moana is a perfect spot to explore the Hilo site of Big Island and Petra provided us with very good hints. We even miss the sound of the frogs early in the evening. It is such a relaxing atmosphere.
We would definitely come back when visiting Big Island and recommend Hale Moana to every visitor of the Hilo site.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirko D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

What a beautiful location! My husband and I stayed in the room on the second floor and were amazed by the comfort and spectacular views. Travelers should be sure to know that check in time is between 5pm and 7pm (as stated in her confirmation). An amazing breakfast spread was served with coffee and juice before our departure. We recommend this place to anyone looking for something unique.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
21.7 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
388 reviews
20.0 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
515 reviews
21.3 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ohia House
The Ohia House
#1 of 17 in Pahoa
203 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13-3315 Makamae St, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8453 (Formerly Hale Makamae Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Hilo - Warm Island Hospitality and Aloha Spirit of old Hawaii – Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast offers comfortable, spacious suites surrounded by beautiful tropical serene gardens. Three suites with living room and kitchenette, one studio, all with separate entrances and private bathrooms. 10 min. to lava viewing area, where active red hot lava plunges into the ocean, 30 min. to Volcanoes National Park & Hilo/International Airport, 5 min. to Pahoa, in Leilani Estates. Close to hot ponds, black sand beaches, coastal parks, snorkeling, steam vents. German/English spoken, gourmet Island breakfast included in rates, families with children welcome, many other amenities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing