We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$205
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arnott's Lodge(Hilo)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$179
US$158
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$385
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano House(Hawaii Volcanoes National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
522
85
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
85
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslanai suitefrench toastb bthe big islandfruitvolcano national parkbeautiful gardenpancakesevery morninga great place to staydelicious breakfastlava flowcoqui frogshot dishlarge closetmaster bedroomplaces to visit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
467 - 472 of 623 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2008

My husband and I stayed in the studio which was comfortable, clean and we loved the shower. The grounds were beautiful with blooms of exotic flowers, fruit and nuts trees over the 2 acres. Petra and John are lovely people with adorable children. Breadfast was a treat each morning with fresh fruit and wonderful homemade banana pancakes. The location is perfect for siteseeing to the lava flow. Resturants were close by, reasonably priced and offered night life if you wanted it. We will definately be back! Mahalo.
Fran and Bob
San Marcos, CA

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snugglebny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2008

We stayed at the Garden Suite in Hale Makamae for five nights in June of 2008 after spending three nights at one of the big resorts in the west coast. The B&B is located in a quiet tree-lined residential neighborhood but very close to all the attractions in the Puna district. We enjoyed every moment there and often found it hard to get going with our day’s planned activities after a good night’s sleep and a sumptuous breakfast. Petra and John are very warm and generous hosts with a spirit of adventure who traveled a lot all over the world and we shared great conversations with them. Petra’s breakfasts were delicious and she shared the first harvest of lychees from their garden with us! We enjoyed the collection of orchids and books in our suite (didn’t get to the music CDs for lack of time) and she generously lent us her local maps, beach towels and priceless recommendations. The garden is beautiful and has many exotic trees and plants that we have not seen in a long time. The kitchen was very handy and well stocked if one needed to use it. We also found some great restaurants in nearby Pahoa. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank ThomasRina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

We spent five nights on the Big Island of Hawaii, three in the southeastern part of the island in Puna at Hale Makamae, and two in the northwestern portion of the island north of the resorts on the Kohala coast. If we had it to do over again, I'd be tempted to spend the entire time here. It's lacking the pristine beaches of Kohala, but in every other way, I preferred Puna. More green, more lush vegitation, more interesting scenery, more activities to do, and of course, an active volcano only a few miles away.

And in the heart of this tropical forest is located Hale Makamae. The house is beautiful, with beautifully cared for landscaping on the property, and surrounded by lush rainforest.

We stayed in the largest of the three units, the suite which was the entire second floor of the building. They say it could sleep up to five guests, which would easily seem possible -- it's bigger than the first apartment my wife and I lived in! The kitchen was small, but well stocked -- we saved some money by skipping a couple restaurant meals and preparing both a sack lunch to take with us while out during the day and a sitdown dinner when we got back to our room. The kitchen was more than adequate for both. The main bedroom had a king-size bed which was very comfortable, the shower was excellent, and the sliding glass doors in the living room opened up to a beautiful view of the grounds and the surrounding forest.

Breakfast was excellent, with a nice mix of home-baked bread, fresh Hawaiian fruits, and hot items including scrambled eggs and sausage. In addition, Petra was a wonderful host and guide, offering us recommendations for activities we could enjoy with our four month-old son. I think we took just about every suggestion she offered, and they were all excellent!

The location was perfect for us -- far enough outside of Hilo to leave the city behind and enjoy the more natural surroundings, but still within an easy drive to the volcano, the beaches, Akana Falls, and Hilo itself. We could return to our room at the end of the day and not feel that we were so remote that we spent all our time in the car.

We'd definitely recommend Hale Makamae to anyone visiting the Big Island, and we'd be eager to revisit it if we return someday!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bkwtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

We highly recommend Hale Makamae Bed and Breakfast. The property is lovely and relaxing. John and Ketra are warm, friendly and helpful while fully respecting your privacy. It is located close to both the volcanoes and beaches. It is just a short distance from the lava flow into the ocean!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2008

My mother and I stayed in the Lanai Suite, a spacious and comfortable one bedroom "apartment" with a second cozy bedroom tucked away off the living room. This suite is on the entire second floor, with a wonderful view and a long lanai overlooking two acres of beautiful botanical gardens.

Waking up is a big treat at Hale Makamae as Petra greets you with her delicious and healthy breakfasts in a café setting in the spacious screened in breezeway between John and Petra's family house and the guest suites. Petra's warm smile each morning, and generosity with her amazing knowledge of the area, is a wonderful way to start the day.

The B&B is located in a quiet and beautiful residential area close to quaint Pahoa town (where there are some wonderful restaurants,) and the nearby beautiful Puna coast, Volcanoes National Park and Hilo.

We peeked into the Garden Suite and it was a wonderful suite that would be perfect for a couple staying a few nights or a much longer visit. The Studio looked like it would be great for a single or couple wanting a more economical but very nice place to get some rest after full days of sightseeing.

Hale Makamae was perfect for a relaxing stay and also for exploring East Hawai'i Island!

I definitely recommend this B&B and plan to have my mainland visitors (I live on the Kona side) stay with Petra and John while visiting the Hilo side. I know they will be in gracious and caring hands, and that their stay at Hale Makamae will be memorable and a highlight of their visit.

Aloha, Kay and Mike

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KOAMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews