We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful "middle of nowhere"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 18 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The Puna region is well worth exploring, and this B&B an awesome place to come "home" to. Yes, it rains a lot, but mainly at night. Yes, the frogs are noisy, but we missed them when we left. We preferred this side of the island to Kona. It's lush, green and less touristy.
Highlights: clean suite, good size, useful books, TV. Picking avocados and passion fruit fresh from the garden, drinking coffee outside the suite, listening to the birds, waiting for that delicious breakfast to be served. A very useful detailed map and great recommendations for things to explore. Unbelievable variety of vegetation. Fresh air. Slow pace. The absolutely best snorkeling nearby, safe and colorful. Delicious food in cozy restaurants. Interesting people. Normal folks. Beautiful scenic "Mango Drive". Hilo attractions, local farmer's market, zip line, etc. Lots to choose from.

Not to forget Petra's lovely children who accepted our son as a friend and made his one week stay at the B&B that much more enjoyable. All three of them were willing to share a bit about their lives in Hawaii with us. Vielen Dank!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teaning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

We spent 4 nights enjoying the hospitality of Petra and devouring her wonderful breakfasts. She was a wealth of local knowledge and steered us toward the 'things not to miss'. It was a very comfortable stay and a great base to explore the south east side of the Big Island. Even the all- night serenading by the Coqui frogs was enjoyable after the first night. Her local restaurant recommendations were also worth following and it was nice to be able to support the local small town economy.
Definitely a place we would return to on our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had 3 nights when we first arrived in November 2013. Petra was most welcoming and very good at explaining places to visit and things to experience. In spite of the fact that we have visited that area many times, she directed us well to new ideas. Our room (actually a suite) had lots of space and was well furnished with a kitchenette. The property and gardens are lovely.
Her breakfasts were truly delicious and beautifully set out. When we left, Petra graciously offered us fresh avocados from her garden, so we never needed to buy more from the markets during our stay. Petra was a fabulous hostess.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmh_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We spent three nights at Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast late November 2013. We arrived on Thanksgiving Day and Petra sent us a very detailed email in advance to explain us how to check ourselves in since she wouldn't be here upon our arrival. We easily found our room and loved the place. The guestrooms are located by the huge magnifiscent tropical garden. Everything was squeaky clean and it had everything we needed (Petra had even installed a crib for our 11-month baby).
Breakfast was very good, Petra making a point of providing different foods every day. She also was very helpful in explaining us what activities to do in the area, providing maps and a list of recommended restaurants.
We warmly recommend Hale Moana if you're looking for an accomodation in that area. We would very gladly be back! Thank you Petra!

Annie, Nicolas & Clovis

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hospitality provided was only matched by the beauty of the property (we even grew accustomed to the soothing sounds of the frogs at night). We stayed in the Garden Suite, which was spacious, very clean, and had everything we could need. It was very convenient to be able to use the washing machine and dryer, as it was halfway through our trip when we were there. The breakfasts prepared each morning were some of the best meals we had on the island- the tropical fruit platter was particularly notable. Petra provided us with some excellent restaurant recommendations in town for dinners. She makes sure to greet each guest at breakfast, to offer suggestions and just check in. She gave us some great ideas for stops on our drive to Kona after we left Pahoa.
We particularly enjoyed the avocados from the tree in the backyard that Petra left for us!
We used Hale Moana as a base to explore Volcanoes National Park, and the lava flows/lava tree park in Pahoa and nearby. Even though the Volcanoes park was about an hour away, it was nicer staying in such a beautiful, secluded home than in the city of Hilo, and it felt like a refuge we came back to each night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaL638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was a solo trip for me so I chose to stay in the studio. This room is, I think, the only one without a kitchen but for the price its a good value. It does have a coffee maker and mini fridge. My only real complaint is that the room is not that sound proof and you can hear the guests upstairs as they walk around. This may wake you up if you are a light sleeper. Next time I would probably go with one of the rooms with a full kitchen that is upstairs but would definitely recommend this place and choose to stay here on my next visit.

Petra was a great host and prepared delicious breakfasts each morning and sat down with me on the morning after I arrived to give some tips on seeing sites in the area. This is a good location if you are visting volcano national park and Pahoa has a few good restaurants too if you don't want to cook.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms will be quiter, although you will have to carry your bags up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were out priced by the newly remodeled Volcano House and so glad that we were. We found Hale Moana on Tripadvisor and everything that was written about it is true. Fabulous tropical gourmet breakfast. Spotless rooms and the owner Petra is extremely helpful and welcoming. We loved our mornings at Hole Moana, walking through Petra's beautifully maintained gardens followed by a fabulous breakfast. Petra has good ideas for different adventures. On her recommendation, we went to Kalapana for the Wednesday night music/food/dancing/craft extravaganza, so fun. Also, try Kaleo's in Pahoa, it's a great place for dinner and has nightly entertainment.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newest unit, I think it's called the Pualani? It's excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
20 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
575 reviews
21.3 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
679 reviews
2 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 18 in Pahoa
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pele's Breath
Pele's Breath
#1 of 2 in Pahoa
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ohia House
The Ohia House
#2 of 18 in Pahoa
218 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13-3315 Makamae St, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8453 (Formerly Hale Makamae Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range: £96 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Hilo - Warm Island Hospitality and Aloha Spirit of old Hawaii – Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast offers comfortable, spacious suites surrounded by beautiful tropical serene gardens. Three suites with living room and kitchenette, one studio, all with separate entrances and private bathrooms. 10 min. to lava viewing area, where active red hot lava plunges into the ocean, 30 min. to Volcanoes National Park & Hilo/International Airport, 5 min. to Pahoa, in Leilani Estates. Close to hot ponds, black sand beaches, coastal parks, snorkeling, steam vents. German/English spoken, gourmet Island breakfast included in rates, families with children welcome, many other amenities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing