We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a Five”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 18 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Hale Moana was my first Bed & Breakfast experience. The property is located off the beaten path in a residential neighborhood that is very quiet. We stayed in two different rooms while here, and they were more like little apartments with quite a bit of privacy. Petra gave lots of helpful information about the area. The only downside is no air conditioning, which is pretty rough when one spends the days doing some very challenging hiking at Volcano National Park. Granted the nights generally cooled down quite a bit, but the did nothing for the humidity. If a fairly sedentary vacation is planned, it would probably be fine... The breakfasts are varied, plentiful and very good. Petra is very sweet. The property is clean, beautiful and easy to find. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The master bedroom in the upstairs two-bedroom suite was cooler than the one in the Garden Suite due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Sightseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 616 reviews

A FlipKey verified reviewer
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1
Reviewed 7 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A FlipKey verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just about to leave Hale Moana for parts North, and I'm a little hesitant to write about how perfect our stay has been......only because I'd be disappointed if this area got overrun with tourists! Petra made us feel so wonderfully welcome to her B&B and to the area in general. Accommodations and courtesies could not have been nicer, and her tropical gardens surrounding the property are truly remarkable. Look forward to staying here again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank ahanket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The landscaping here makes you feel like you're walking into a perfectly tended tropical paradise. Everything is really well taken care of, and it's a very lovely location. Our host was kind and attentive, giving us detailed information about the area and lent us a helpful map on how to get to all of the pools and lookouts and best spots nearby. She also gave us some good food recommendations for the town nearby- we had a wonderful meal at Ning's and got a 10% discount when we mentioned that we were staying at Hale Moana. The breakfast is delicious, my husband loved the banana pancakes. Our only complaints are that the wifi was a little iffy and that the fridge in our apartment was really loud, which made it a little hard to sleep. There isn't much insulation beneath the roof either, so when it rains, which it does a lot, it gets loud.

If you want to get away from it all and see some of the incredible flora that Hawaii has to offer, this is a great b and b with charm and attraction.

Room Tip: The largest apartment has a fairly loud fridge, so I would avoid it if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed 2 nights at Hale Moana B& B in May. The place was recommanded by the Hawaian Tourist Office of Muenchen. Nice location with a big garden and lovely frogs songs at night !
Petra is very helpfull and I got good information about the places to see.
I can recommand this very nice B& B.

Room Tip: I had a small room, but Ok for a single person !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monique v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed fours nights with Petra at her B&B and enjoyed every minute of it. She is a perfect hostess and offers well cooked and tasty breakfasts each morning with an additional variety of fresh fruits, breads, jams and marmalade (which I sometimes miss whilst holidaying in the US). Our apartment was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with a well equipped kitchen.
The gardens were beautiful and laundry facilities free of charge.
A real treat to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr&MrsAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights to experience the east of the big island. It was a great base for all the main activities.

We stayed in the garden room and it was the perfect little retreat at the end of an exhausting day. Petra the owner is a great host and offered lots of advice of the local area. Petra's breakfasts were also lovely and different every time. It was comfy and great to cook our own meals and sit back with some wine in front of the tv.

The property is on a lovely plot with lots of beautiful local plants and you really feel like you're away from the world. Wear insect repellent in the rain and at night tho!

This place should be on your list, I'd def go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
20 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
598 reviews
20.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
21.7 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
0.3 mi away
The Ohia House
The Ohia House
#2 of 18 in Pahoa
222 reviews
2 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 18 in Pahoa
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13-3315 Makamae St, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8453 (Formerly Hale Makamae Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range: £103 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Hilo - Warm Island Hospitality and Aloha Spirit of old Hawaii – Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast offers comfortable, spacious suites surrounded by beautiful tropical serene gardens. Three suites with living room and kitchenette, one studio, all with separate entrances and private bathrooms. 10 min. to lava viewing area, where active red hot lava plunges into the ocean, 30 min. to Volcanoes National Park & Hilo/International Airport, 5 min. to Pahoa, in Leilani Estates. Close to hot ponds, black sand beaches, coastal parks, snorkeling, steam vents. German/English spoken, gourmet Island breakfast included in rates, families with children welcome, many other amenities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing