We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice stay”

Island Paradise Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Paradise Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Pahoa
Grandview, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice stay”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

we had a great time here we had the dolphin room everything you need the place was really nice
clean room with a refrigerator, stove a nice sitting area in and out also with cable and wifi and got quite early the whole month 1-28-14 - 2-28-14 we will be back to the Island Paradice Inn

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    12
    3
    5
    8
See reviews for
9
14
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Like other travelers we needed a quick room for a night possibly more if we wanted to see a bit more of the volcano area. For two couples the price barely justifies the state of this place. It's only assets are proximity to a couple decent restaurants and it's less expensive than a more accommodating b/b or guest house or resort. Having your own kitchen isn't much help if it is grungy and so poorly stocked with basic implements it's hard to feed a family of four let alone yourself! Summary=avoid. An argument for quality has to start somewhere!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank fasterwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pahoa hotels

koweit
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This place is very well located and this is its only asset.
otherwise, the room is dirty, never cleaned after each guest.
the toilets have never been repaired contrary to what the owner said during 5 days.
if u can avoid that place, do so !
Very expensive for its value !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobidooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We booked over the phone, last minute because we'd never planned to stay overnight in Volcano; in a few words, there must be better places there!!! But if this is all you can afford or is available then stay because the lava hike is WELL WORTH staying overnight for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFamilySOCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We needed a clean enough place to stay in the Hilo/Pahoa area for a short stay. We found Island Paradise Inn to meet the criteria quite well. While not spotless, most places are not, it offered us a very large room with plenty of space as well as a kitchen so that we could cook and pack up meals. As we were not always going to be near a restaurant and one night we were so tired we did not want to go out, that was a great bonus. The owners took very good care of us and we were quite comfortable. It is next to a 7/11 so you need to be aware that there can be some noise from there. However, it is not too bad and the bar across the street was amazingly quiet! Road noise stops around 8PM and does not start up until after 7AM giving plenty of quiet time. Even at that it is not a heavy traffic road at all. We did not find the local pool nor did we look for it as we had a list of other things to do Remember that this place is old, located off of the beaten path and is very very inexpensive. You get quality linens nice towels, and the owners have put a lot of thought into making you comfortable. You are not going to get pillow top beds, top of the line pillows or daily maid service. You will get an amazing price, a clean room and owners who care about your stay. Remember that you get free wifi but no soap or shampoo.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Island Paradise Inn is NOT a place to go if you are looking for conventional, high rise, ocean-front destination resorts. It is THE place to go if you want a place which is moderately priced, off the tourism circuit, in a lively and eccentric town and owned and managed by a woman who takes pride and interest in her properties. Island Paradise Inn is a collection of three tiny bungalows, meticulously maintained and full of fanciful curios. They front the main street of the small, eclectic town of Pahoa, Hawaii. When a person wishes to take a moment of rest from the frenetic travel of a sightseer, nothing can be better than sitting in the comfortable chairs on the airy front porch of one of these bungalows, favorite beverage and snack beside, summer novel in hand, and watching the activity of the passing town residents. These efficiency units provide well-appointed kitchens, dining and living areas, as well as comfortable beds. Restaurants and convenience stores are within easy walking distance. There is a lively night-life of live music drifting from multiple lounges, and across the street is a coffee shop heavily visited by town regulars which provides Internet access. An easy drive takes you to volcanic viewpoints, the southern shoreline of the Big Island and numerous areas of interest for the traveler. The proprietor, Olivia, reaches out to her guests with attentiveness and warmth and is full of years of island living and information. A perfect place to stop, rest and see the Hawaii behind the tourist dizziness. This is not a hotel, but more like a home away from home. I note that the service is excellent, meaning that Olivia is attentive to your concerns, however, you do your own housekeeping and take care of your own needs, The facility is a perfect place to stop, take a breath and enjoy life.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank numbercruncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

As the title says it all...in case you have no idea where to spend the night, with 2 kids exhausted, after a 5 hours lava walk, 10 pm....and no reservation in hand.....
When you find a roof with two bedrooms and a shower, than you would take it, whatever the conditions !
Other than that : avoid. Dirty (and we have a laaaarge experience of traveling around the world, believe me), noisy, and too expensive. anyway...no need to say more.
The owner is a very nice person, but the price given for a night is not honest. Or bargain it for no more than 50 or 60 usd...
Anyway, it saved our night, so....

Room Tip: Avoid as much as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jochina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
19.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
388 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
69 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hedonisia Hawaii Sustainable Community
3.4 mi away
The Ohia House
The Ohia House
#1 of 17 in Pahoa
203 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lava Tree Tropic Inn
Lava Tree Tropic Inn
#4 of 17 in Pahoa
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Paradise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Paradise Inn

Property: Island Paradise Inn
Address: 15-2869 Pahoa Village Rd, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Paradise Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned inn. Very quaint, where the real Hawaiians live. Each suite is decorated differently, 3 large plantation homes divided so every suite is private and has there own kitchen/kitchenette and bathrooms. All suites have 1-2cable TVs completely furnished with everything you'll need. In Pahoa we are located in the heart of town 10 min from natural hot ponds/swimming. In Hilo 2 min. to municipal golf course / 5min. to mall and airport, 25 min. to volcano. Our Hilo and Pahoa suites are 20 min. apart very central locations. Easy to get to everything on the island, our goal is to make sure you are comfortable and having a good time.If we can help in any way,help with directions or whatever, even if you are not staying with us, Please do get in touch, we will do what we can to help out. Mahalo, Ophelia and son ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Island Paradise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Paradise Hotel
Island Paradise Inn Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing