We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking! Abundance of plants! Beyond our expectations!”

Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Papaikou
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden is a 501(c)(3) Scientific and Educational non-profit, whose mission is to serve as a nature preserve and sanctuary, a living seed bank, and a study center for trees and plants of the tropical world. The Garden is dedicated to the collection and display of the world's tropical plants,and to the education of both children and adults about the plight of the world's rainforests. At a time when rainforest plants are disappearing at an alarming rate, the Garden is working to preserve as many species as possible for the benefit of future generations.
Milwaukee,Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Breathtaking! Abundance of plants! Beyond our expectations!”
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

North of Hilo after taking the scenic route, is a beautiful park not to be missed. My husband selected this and I was not too enthused until I went down the first set of stairs. I was not prepared for the thick lushness of plants or the variety. This park has been planned with a graceful flow down to the gorgeous ocean below. I am not a botanist so I can't tell you the names of my faves..but I was snapping pictures everywhere. This park is well worth the admittance fee $15.00 each..no discounts. Do not miss this.

Helpful?
2 Thank rayslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,127
    162
    28
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“wonderful end to our trip”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We left Volcanoes National Park for Hilo and a flight home, and were looking for something to fill the afternoon. We decided to try the gardens, and we were amazed at how wonderful they are. The variety and beauty of the flowers is well captured in pictures posted by others on this site. But you have to be there to experience the real feel of the place. From the falling water to the ocean views, through the maze of incredibly beautiful flowers, this was a memorable experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolverine73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the most incredible places to see in Hawai'i, Eden on Earth”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The last time we were on the Big Island my wife came here and I missed out on it. This time we went together and brought our keiki. It was a great trip and most definitely worth the time to spend here. The beauty is without words, if there is an Eden on Earth, this place has to be very close!
The different varieties of plants and trees, the flowers, koi pond, waterfalls, and the bird exhibit all were incredible to see.
Onomea bay and the twin rocks were incredible also, and we even caught a worker taking a break by strumming his Ukulele singing a lovely Hawaiian song which showed us the Aloha spirit and how the locals LOVE their land and what they do, oh Hawai'i Nei we just adore you!!
The couple that started this park really were onto something with this place, it is just incredible beauty everywhere you turn!
There is some steep but not too awful walking to do here, but we enjoyed it thoroughly and will be back next trip to the Island of Hawai'i!
Mahalo Nui to the park and the staff, job well done!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KCreviewsU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

These gardens are an absolute treasure - even if you've never enjoyed this kind of thing before, you can't help but be impressed by what you can see here, from stunning flowers to the pounding ocean. We really lucked out with the weather when we visited but I suspect it would always be best to come first thing in the morning before it gets cloudy, but also before it gets too hot and sticky. Seriously, this place alone makes a trip to Hilo worthwhile.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, KY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

You'll see pretty plants, flowers, and ocean views from this tropical garden. The trails are paved and they will take those who can't walk it to the bottom in golf carts - ask at the visitors center. If you like gardens, birds, and leisurely strolls, this is the place for you. Just remember - "the park closes at 5 p.m." (years ago, we were reminded a few times by an elderly gentleman).

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jinnyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing