We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Host/Hostess”
Review of Island Goode's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Goode's
Ranked #1 of 2 Papaikou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at this B&B just north of Hilo for two nights. Our "Hilo Bay" room had the view of the bay at the foot of the bed. The room was nice sized with a King sized Sleep Number bed, satellite TV, large bathroom, fridge, toaster, table chairs, couch, etc. We were served a yummy breakfast (eggs, pancakes, and tons of fresh fruit) each morning at what ever time we requested, outside on our lanai.
Garvin and Laura were wonderful host/hostesses giving us suggestions for things to do on the Big Island and places to eat. All great suggestions! The room was filled with lots of books on Hawaiian culture etc. if you wanted to research some more on your own.
The wild life abounded with frogs "chirping" all night long as the rain fell on the tin roof outside our open windows.
What more could you ask for at a Bed and Breakfast? A comfy bed and a yummy breakfast... with a pleasant couple running the B&B to boot.

Room Tip: Get your reservations early because they only have 2-3 rooms and fill up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank illust8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

Island Goode's is very conveniently located about 7 miles north of Hilo and off the main road. As long as you don't mind the sounds of nature (treefrogs, birds, rain on the roof, etc...), it's perfectly peaceful. Room was very very comfortable with views of Mauna Kea - a real treat if there is snow on the summit. Garvin and Laura are eminently gracious and accommodating hosts. Delicious breakfasts!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlohaLah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We had a great room with lots of space, a king-size bed, a big TV, a small fridge, and a microwave. It was very quiet, excluding the epic Hilo-style rain.
Garvin and Laura were very gracious and accommodating hosts. We got fresh island fruit for breakfast as well as eggs, bacon, toast, coffee, tea, juice and on and on. Don't worry though: the food that you can't eat - and there will be some - will be devoured by the farm animals (pigs & donkeys) on the associated farm.
Island Goode's is very close to the Botanical Gardens, and not very far from Hilo, so we'd gladly stay there again on our next trip to Hilo.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We were very glad we stayed here instead of down in Hilo. Fun to stay on a farm and Laura and Garvin have done a great job of decorating and making the room comfortable. We stayed in the Mauna Kea room and it was huge. The Coqui frogs get loud at night so if you sleep lightly bring ear plugs, otherwise they add to the ambience. Laura is a great cook with lots of fresh fruit each day. We highly recommend Island Goodes if you are staying on this side of the island. Very central to seeing the whole coast or going to the Volcanoes National Park.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eaar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed three nights in February but wished we stayed longer. Island Goode's is well located seven miles north of Hilo and there is so much to explore on this side of the Island. We had a large room with a microwave, plates, cutlery, kettle and glasses. The bed is adjustable and we found setting number 20 the most comfortable. Great private breakfast outside on the porch.

Island Goode's is also a small working farm with three donkeys, pigs and chickens. We loved the rural environment (having spent the previous week at the Waikola Marriott on the Kola coast) but it did take us a night to get used to the coqui frogs!

Laura and Garvin are excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randjcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We can't imagine a better B&B. Anywhere. This was our first time in Hawaii. Another B&B on the Big Island had nothing left when we called, but they said Island Goode's might have something. They did. We arrived late at night so we didn't see the gorgeous scenery until the next morning. But we realized how lucky we were as soon as we saw the room. Spacious, very tastefully decorated, comfortable beds and pillows. Breakfast in the morning was beyond our expectations. Fresh fruit from Garvin and Laura's 8-acre farm was ample and delicious. Garvin served breakfast and was accommodating in every way. And this B&B was a relatively short ride from the Hilo Airport and near everything we wanted to see on the Big Island - Volcanoes National Park, beautiful ocean drives and the Tropical Botanical Gardens.

One tip on location. We chose Hilo because it was close to the volcanoes. We weren't looking for a beach experience (that was coming in Maui.) The east coast was beautiful. We drive to Kona one morning (2 1/2 - 3 hours), and found it much more crowded and upscale. So, if seeing some of Hawaii's natural beauty is your primary purpose on the Big Island, Hilo is a great choice. If you're looking for beaches and shopping, you may be happier in Kona. I think you can fly to either directly from the U.S. mainland.

Room Tip: We had the Ginger Room the first night and the Hilo Bay Room the next two nights. Both are terrrifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DadTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Island Goode's B&B has is the best B&B we have ever stayed. They have it perfected from the room with the sleep number beds to the great private breakfast. We stayed three nights and this was the perfect base to travel from. Although not in Hilo it was only 8 miles down the road. Laura and Gaven were great hosts. We were given great advice on what roads to take to places to eat. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Close to Hilo although not listed under the Hilo listings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristineVallejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papaikou
5.3 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
4.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
5.9 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
50.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Goode's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Goode's

Address: 27-2365 Mamalahoa Highway, Papaikou, Island of Hawaii, HI 96781
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Papaikou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Papaikou
Price Range: £72 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Goode's 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Goodes is an Adult Only accommodation and 5 minutes from Hilo, 10 minutes from the Hilo Airport. The perfect location to experience the east side of The Big Island and the Hamakua Coast. We now offer an optional continental breakfast that is detailed on our website and offered only on our website. All 3rd Party reservations are without (NO) breakfast and there is no option upon arrival. Island Goode's is Newer Luxury B&B on a hill overlooking the ocean and Hilo Bay with spectacular views. All rooms have private entry with secure locks. The Hilo Bay, Ginger, Mauna Kea and 3rd story tower in the trees have King Size "Select Comfort" adjustable beds, Private bathrooms, ceiling fan and floor fans in rooms. Some rooms have A/C and flat screen TV's. We are grid-tie solar electric and solar hot water, but always backed up by the utility company. Sparkling clean! Each room has a private Lanai. Large Gazebo with Hot Tub and BBQ over looking the Ocean and Hilo Bay. Very private 6 acre estate, tropically landscaped with exotic palms and fruit trees. NEW ADDITION: "The Tower in The Trees" 3 Story tower with awesome views of the Ocean, Hilo Bay and Mauna Kea. The 3rd story room is the only room that has stairs to climb, so pack light if staying in this elevated and exciting room. The 1st story has no stairs. The 1st Story is our smallest room (but cozy) and has an ocean view (Queen Size "Sleep Number" Bed). The Tower Rooms have private entry, private bath (walk-in shower only). Large windows for trade wind breezes, no air conditioning in The Tower Rooms. Children are restricted. 18 years old and above allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Island Goode's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing