We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best smoothie of all time”
Review of What's Shakin'

What's Shakin'
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Pepeekeo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best smoothie of all time”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Honestly. .. so they grow their own fruit, don't use any sugar or preservatives, and make it on the spot. I can't imagine how it could get better. This was my all time favorite smoothie of all time.

So its like 7-8$ (but its Hawaii, so you're already used to that!)... but watch them make it. What goes in shows you that its still a bargain .. and when you taste it .. wow.

Worth the trip (the scenic road around Big Island is already a nice treat, and this place is on that little 4 mile strip of scenic road on the Hilo side).

If we are ever back I would DEFINITELY go out of my way to get to what's shakin for a smoothie no matter what.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natandjaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    124
    20
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY Metro
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best smoothies. Period.”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We found this place by accident when we visited Big Island three years ago and actually made a trip to the Botanical Garden mostly in the hope that it was still there. Happy to report it is thriving. All in our party agreed that the fresh fruit smoothies are the best smoothies we have ever had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MtKiscoKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“THE best smoothie I've had on the island!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

If you're coming from the Hawai'i Tropical Botanical Garden, turn left out of their parking lot, and it's up the road on the left side.

I kid you not; these are THE BEST smoothies I have ever had. About a dozen to choose from, and just have the richest flavor you could ask for. And it's truly smooth; no chunks of ice, or blobs of fruit at the bottom. So good, I got a second one. Price is well worth the quality product you receive. I don't know how those two girls do it, but I'd love to know their secret.

Also got a plate of nachos here. Plate was overflowing, nice and hot, and were delicious! Couldn't try anything else due to being full!

Stop here. Period.

Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Fab find just up the road from the botanical gardens”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We visited circa 3 pm. This place is just "up the road" from a beautiful botanical garden, on a scenic narrow road just north of Hilo. This "shack" is clean, and has a restroom. The women here make fabulous fruit smoothies - small, but thick - using a variety of fascinating combinations of local fruit. They also make light lunches (wraps of various kinds, including fish), and coffee (don't ask for decaff - remember, this is the Big Island!). Some of the smoothies contain milk products, but most don't, which was fine by us. Had some wraps and two different smoothies each. One of us opted for the algae protein supplement, which turned the smoothies green but did not affect their flavor! Limited seating on the lanai (porch), some more seating under a canopy. We will return to this casual place if we're back in the Hilo vicinity. May be open as late as 5 pm (many such places are not) - check for yourself.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScienceTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem of a find”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

If you are in the Hilo area, or visiting the Botanical Tropical Gardens, make sure you visit What's Shakin for breakfast, lunch or a snack - absolutely cute shake shack' type of a place, where the very friendly owners & staff serve up delicious smoothies made from fresh frozen fruits (you can ask for your own combination of fruits), and and even more delicious food made with fresh ingredients, some of them locally grown on their land. The huge avocados made for a super tasty avocado wrap that I am still dreaming of..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 75aloha75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed What's Shakin' also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to What's Shakin'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing