We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming home in the woods”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
At the End of the Road Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Calgary
Level Contributor
165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Welcoming home in the woods”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

My sister and I spent a lovely night at "End of the Road". We checked in around 4 and had a bit of confusion regarding which room we were booked in. Happy that sis kept her reservation that showed we were in the Kili room that had an ensuite bathroom and slept 3. The other room is not ensuite but has the bathroom down a common hall. The room was large with a queen bed and a single bed. Lani brought us extra towels and a blow dryer when we asked and was lovely to chat with. Large windows look over a pastoral setting and wooded area but no window coverings which was hard to adjust to for a couple of city girls. We turned out the lights to change. No curtain in the bathroom either. We slept so soundly with the cool air compared to the heat of Kona. Breakfast was light but fresh with papaya and a toasted bagel. Lani found me some peanut butter too. Thanks for sharing your home with us.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CountryHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    28
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at End of the Road Bed and Breakfast for two nights while visiting Volcanoes National Park. The owners, Ray and Lani, were very friendly and knew a lot about the area, including things to do and places to eat. The room was clean, comfortable, private and quiet. It was easy to get to the park from their home and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I arrived to Laura Ingall's house, He was waiting for me, he takes the time for all explications, Every détails, take the time to know what we want for breakfast, take the time to answer to all the questions, give you the kees and then you are like at home, very kinds and welcoming
To rooms one with king size bed and one with a king and a sofa bed. The house is warm like hip and bis wife
I would bé able to stay 2 night but It was not possible unfortunately I has to Go to Alpha happy place where Happy is just a name
Easy to Go to the park or to the restaurant not far away and really at the end of the road

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

End of the Road is about 2 miles off the main road (actually at the very end of the road) and about 8-10 minutes from Volcanoes National Park (very convenient for visiting the park, particularly if you're returning at night to see the lava). My GPS took us to a run down house with barking dogs, but then we realized we had to travel a little further down the road (a bit hidden from the dog house, so it seems like it could be the end of the road at first). You'll know that you're there when you get to a livestock looking gate (you might have to call to have it opened when you get there, but you'll get a handheld device that opens the gate at check-in). The house doesn't look like much from the outside, accommodations are basic, but it was cozy and immaculately clean. There are only two rooms. One has an in-room bathroom and our room had a bathroom down the hall, but was private. I loved the heated blanket (separate controls for each side of the bed!), which was great for the cool nights in Volcano. Loni was a little brisk the first night (as others have noted), but in the morning she was very friendly and made us a simple breakfast (Eggo brand waffles, Hawaiian Maid passionfruit juice, english muffins, and a delicious papaya). Also, just an FYI--apparently check-in is from 3pm to 6pm (unless you contact them to make different arrangements), but this information wasn't in our confirmation. We just happened to arrive within those hours, but the other couple staying at the B&B didn't know that and arrived late at night. Also, there were locks on the bedroom doors when we were there, which I guess was not always the case according to prior reviews.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PiperNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Clean, convenient, considerate host family, we are very impressed by the first-time b&b experience. This house is nestled at the end of Haunani Road, just minutes to the Volcanoes NP and easy drive to hilo or the south and west coast. We stayed for four days and nicely covered lava tours, Hilo, Mauna Kea, Pulanuu beach, west coast till spencer beach with no stress. Ray and Lani the hosts are very informative to local interests and kindly offered things to our special needs, such as hot water and extra towels. Safe around and quick wifi in room. The breakfast is simple but nice. Wonderful banana bread and papaya if you are a fruit eater. As other reviewers have mentioned, there is no curtain in the bathroom. And you might want to bring a luggage lock if concerned about leaving valuables behind. We don't mind the bathroom curtain since the window is not facing any neighbor house; but agree that a simple blind can comfort a lot more guests. Generally speaking we really enjoyed the whole stay and will definitely recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Kili room has in-suite bathroom and is a more convenient choice in our opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanonjov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this B&B! The accommodations were comfortable and the price was right. We stayed in the room with a separate bathroom which ended up being fine because it isn't shared with anyone else. This is really an ideal location for visiting Volcanoes National Park. You can go back and forth easily because it is so close by. We were able to drop our stuff off in the evening and head back out to see the crater glow at night. Awesome!

The best part of the visit, though, was the lovely conversation during breakfast. The hosts are warm and welcoming and share great information about how to make the most of your visit to the park.

We would definitely stay here again if we go back to the Big Island.

Room Tip: Book early to get the room with the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at this B&B for one night while visiting Volcano. I knew we'd be arriving earlier in the day and asked if we could check in when we arrived. The hosts said they wouldn't be home, but they left us a key and instructions to get in by ourselves. The accommodations themselves were fair. As other reviewers have mentioned, there is no way to lock your room from the outside, which is something I wasn't super comfortable with. We stayed in the room with the en-suite bathroom and the extra nook. It was very comfortable and large. I can't comment on the breakfast because we ended up leaving earlier than breakfast was served, but the menu you choose from has a very limited selection of choices.
In terms of actual location, this is really at the end of the road. You drive for quite a ways and then eventually it is right in front of you. The neighbors have some scary looking dogs that I was always worried would run in when the gate to the driveway opened (it didn't happen).
Overall, this was a comfortable place for one night, but I probably would not have been happy staying for longer, particularly because of the lack of being able to secure my door when I left.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotozmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.3 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#13 of 31 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the End of the Road Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the End of the Road Bed & Breakfast

Property: At the End of the Road Bed & Breakfast
Address: Haunani Road, P.O. Box 995, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — At the End of the Road Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your At the End of the Road Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At The End Of The Road Bed & Breakfast Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing