We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainforest Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House
Ranked #12 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rainforest Heaven”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed in Cedar Loft, a fantastically furnished bedroom and bathroom. The rain at night pattered loudly on the roof but I found that rather comforting. Breakfast was served at another B&B- just a few minutes pleasant walk away. Kathy's breakfasts were fantastic- fruit, of course, and bagels and oatmeal and special Hawaiian breads were also there one morning. The best part though was sitting at the big table and talking to fellow explorers, exchanging advice and discussing plans. As a solo traveller, I was especially happy to find someone to hike with in the National Park. Kathy also helped us out by providing us with items we forgot to bring- a very kind host!

Room Tip: I think in retrospect Bamboo Orchid Cottage (the sister property) gives a more social experience. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    10
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
62
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed at Volcano Tree House for 2 nights while visiting Hawaii Volcanoes National Park recently and I can't say enough good things about this bed and breakfast. The location is spectacular, right in the middle of a fern forest, and our host, Kathy, couldn't have been nicer. The breakfasts were sumptuous and I enjoyed the option of sitting at a large table with other guests (though small tables are also available if you prefer that).

Rating Volcano Tree House as 5 stars is not at all difficult!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveWilson_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed in the Tree Top Suite for several nights in June and had a wonderful, unique experience. The Big Island requires a lot of driving to see everything, so it was great to have what was essentially a small apartment to come back to every night. When we arrived (late), the lights were on, our slippers were waiting, and Hawaiian music was playing softly on the CD player. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and our inkeepers gave us great advice on where to visit that day and where to find a terrific lunch along the way. Just to make our stay perfect, a large friendly cat greeted us each day we arrived back from sightseeing. Such a refreshing contrast after staying for several nights in busy Waikiki!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryland1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here on June 17 and 18. It's very close to the park, but in a residential neighborhood in a heavy tropical forrest area. The homes are on large lots and almost all have not cleared the lots, but left them in their virgin state, and simply cleared the property only enough to construct a home or house. The TreeHouse has a sister property around the corner about two blocks and that is where the jacuzzi and breakfast are located. The only drawback was that the outside jacuzzi was there. The jacuzzi on this property appeared not to be operating and was covered up with tarps.
Kathy, the cook and manager of the sister property and Gary who manages the Treehouse property were great. Very interesting people and truly there to serve the guests.
The property at Volcano Tree House was great. Gary gave us some good ideas on where to eat, but there are really only a few choices(we knew this prior to booking, it's a very small town) We also visited with him about his life's adventures somewhat as well as getting a full run down on the property etc.
We stayed in the loft over a large ground level kitchen, bedroom, sitting area. The two are joined by an inside stairwell. It rents as a two, or just the top loft. Since no one was below Gary allowed us to use the refrig below for leftovers, water, etc., as we had rented only the top loft and bath. It now has a tv, which was not on the website...Gary has just installed it.
The breakfast was excellent, with lots of fresh fruit, and homemade banana bread. Kathy is a great cook and happy host.
The room has a nice cd player which Gary had already turned on to a nice Hawaiian music, the bath was large, and a large jetted tube. The water is somewhat colored but that didnt' bother me when I filled up the tub to try out the jets. The toiletries are first rate, nice soap, shampoo and lotion. The bed and linens were top notch as well.

I would recommend this as a great place to spend a few nights as one visited the volcano and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ukats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed here for three nights while visiting Hawaii Volcanoes NP. Located about 40 minutes from Hilo, in Volcano, HI the property is in a rural residential area in the rain forrest. Keep in mind if you stay here, it will likely be raining much of the time which we find relaxing, but may be surprising to those whose image of Hawaii is limited to beaches.

We stayed in the Treetop Suite which is on the third floor and has a wrap-around walkway/deck with views of the tree canopy. The suite has one large room with a partial kitchen (small fridge, microwave and sink) and bed. There is a small sitting area, a good-sized flat-screen TV and gas-stove (which was very nice in the cool temps!). The bathroom has a good sized walk-in shower.

Overall the accommodations are nice, though the decor is straight from the eighties.

The propert is located in Volcano, which boasts a couple of small markets and a number of restaurants. It is about 5-10 minutes from the entrance to the NP and is a perfect location from which to do a multi-day visit.

The breakfast was at the sister property a couple of blocks away (and a nice morning walk), and consisted of a half-papaya, yogurt fruit salad, and assorted bagels, bread and english muffins. Gary and Kathy provided excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike22315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl City, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My Wife, Daughter, and I are accustomed to staying in nice places when we travel and the Pacific Island Studio at The Volcano Treehouse was all we had hoped for and more. The cabin itself is located in a serene location that offers ample peace and quiet while still being close enough for a easy drive to Volcanoes National Park, Hilo, Ka'u, or any of the other great spots to visit.

As if the facility itself wasn't enough, the inn keepers were equally fabulous. Gary, the innkeeper at Volcano Treehouse, has unparalleled knowledge of the local area and is just an all around great guy. We would be remiss not to mention Kathy, the innkeeper at Bamboo Orchid Cottage (sister property). While we spent a bit less time with her, she prepared some phenomenal breakfasts and had a genuine, friendly nature to her that is hard to find nowadays.

If you want a trip that is relaxing and memorable, Volcano Treehouse is for you!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

If I were to imagine the best B&B, I still think I couldn't come up with a place as good as the Tree Top Suite at the Volcano Tree House. First of all, it is nestled in a rainforest on the edge of Volcanoes National Park. The room is on the third floor, so you are at the canopy level. You have that entire level to yourself, and there is a deck outside the room so you can just sit and listen to the birds sing.

The room itself is lovely. There is a gas fireplace to drive away the chill (you ARE at over 4,000 feet elevation) and a small CD player all set to play relaxing Hawaiian music. There are windows all over the place to showcase the canopy. The whole unit uses recycled rainwater, so hot water IS at a premium....but my hair has NEVER been softer than after a shower at Volcano Tree House.

The bed is very comfortable and it is absolute perfection to wake up and lay in bed while you watch the sunrise in the forest. Breakfast is at the sister property, which is about half a block away -- the perfect distance to walk before brekkie. Both innkeepers are incredibly friendly.

Also, we were greeted by a pair of cats right after we arrived! I was disappointed they didn't show up again later, but I loved sitting in my new room, listening to the birds and petting the resident cat.

This was THE BEST B&B I have ever been to. I actually cried as we left, and my biggest regret is that we only stayed two nights. I will return, someday, for a much longer stint!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms have their own perks. The first floor room, for example, has its own hot t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.7 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
399 reviews
2.7 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
843 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
516 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House

Property: The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House
Address: 11-3860 Eleventh Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out your window and see giant tree ferns (hapu'u) greeting your arrival, just inches from your eyes. Volcano Tree House was built among the trees to preserve Hawaii's spectacular native rainforest. Reach out and touch ohia trees from your deck as you listen to native songbirds. This is the place to come to get away from it all and reconnect with nature and your inner spirit. Choose from two studios and one suite, all with private entrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest Cottages At Volcano Tree House Hotel Volcano
The Guest Cottages At Volcano Acres Tree House Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing