We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House
Nearby Hotels
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$179
US$158
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arnott's Lodge(Hilo)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$385
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kalaekilohana(Naalehu)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
80
10
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
10
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscedar cottagetree housetypical hotel roomnational parkthe real worldgas fireplacethe big islandcooking utensilssinging birdsmagical placelocation is greatfull kitchenroom was clean and comfortablevisiting hawaiifour seasonswonderful stayshort drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2008

We had a truely wonderful time in such a gorgeous location. We stayed in the Cedar Tree House room. It was incredible to sleep with the door open and wake up listening to a whole chorus of birds going wild. We loved the walkway to the "Man Room" and sat there protected from the rain with the tabletop toaster heater making us completely warm and cozy. The serenity and beauty of the tree house rooms was amazing. Juanette, the hostess, was also truly wonderful. She helped to complete the experience, even going to the trouble to fix us breakfast early so that we could make a flight home. Thank you so much, Juanette. We'll be back!
Belo and Leslie

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smudge11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2007

We booked all four rooms of the Tree House Guest Cottages property for our family's visit to Big Island. All of the rooms were awesome, and we were able to experience the rain forest from the ground, mid and canopy levels just by going from room to room. The beds were all comfortable; and, waking in the morning to the birds singing and the rays of sunshine and slight breeze blowing through the treetops was a once-in-a-lifetime experience for us. The elevated deck and walkway between the two buildings gave us a sense of being in a true tree house. We used the kitchen in the Pacific Island room and the grill for dinners. We ate out under the “Man Room”…. sometimes in the rain! Not a pleasant thought for any of us until we turned on the heater and realized it was cozy, warm and very dry under the roof. We had incredible breakfasts and dinners out in the rain forest enjoying the cool, fresh air, the sound of swaying ferns and o’hia trees, the smell of the forest. The proximity of Volcano National Park was convenient in that we weren’t rushed to see the whole park in one day. We stayed for four days, but wish we could have stayed longer, or at least planned one day to just hang out on the property. What an experience that will be on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank twelve23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa S, Manager at The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa S, Manager at The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews