We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave your shoes and your cares at the front door”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #3 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Leave your shoes and your cares at the front door”
Reviewed 26 May 2007

We spent 3 nights in the Bamboo Guest House - a beautifully crafted structure. The asian fusion decor, beautiful art in every room and attention to detail is amazing. Soaking in the ofuro during a rainstorm is a favorite memory - great after a long day of hiking in the park. You're just a mile from the entrace to the volcano park - get there early you can have the entire place to yourselves.
We did hear the barking dogs from time to time, but it wasn't a problem for us. No question - we'll be back.

  • Liked — The architecture, location, the ofuro and the kitchen
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SJsheltielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    39
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
191
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2007

After a 16 hour flight then four busy days in Wakiki, this was exactly what we needed to enjoy our honeymoon. We stayed in the hale forest house which was amazing with the most beautiful design in the most peacefull place I have ever been. We also enjoyed the hot tub. I myself enjoyed the fact that we never hardly seen anyone when we were there. The rain forest is just perfect, and the volcano natinal park is around the corner. I can't wait until I can go back again. It was the best part of our honeymoon.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank mustangjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2007

We stayed here for two nights in the forest hale room. Very nice surroundings in the middle of the rain forest. Very hippy-ish influences and very clean cabin. No traces of any rain forest critters in the cabin!

The hot tub looked nice - but it was shared between the other guests and we were too tired to use it!

Very open views at night to view the stars.

Obviously at 4k feet above sea level it was going to rain. And it did. Take rain proof clothing.

Also - there's no chance of food after 8:30pm. Avoid the Lava Cafe we found them to be exceptionally rude and unhelpful on more than one ocassion. The Thai restaurant on the other hand was excellent.

PS They've lost the remote control for the fire in this cabin. The on switch is hidden behind it to the left!

  • Liked — Remoteness
  • Disliked — Damp feeling bedding
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icklecaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2007

For anyone looking to get away from it all - this place is it. We stayed in the Forest House - an octagonal cottage of our own with many windows so that you experienced the feel of being surrounded by rainforest. Skylights above the bed so that we could view the stars.

Beautiful touches to the room - detailing was amazing - from dinner plates and cutlery to beautiful artwork and keepsakes around the room. This place is wonderful for a romantic getaway or for a retreat away from it all.

Cool, rained a little bit each evening while we were there. Close to Volcano National Park. Half hour from Hilo and 2 hours from Kona.

See their website for great photos of the place.

  • Liked — The room itself - it was a vacation just to be there.
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osiris9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2007

While the cabins at the Rainforest Retreat are nice, we were disappointed with the way we were treated during our stay. When making the reservation, we requested a crib for our young son. The owners acknowledged our request in their response, so we were surprised to arrive and be told that, "we don't have a crib; I don't know why we would have told you that we did." No solution was found other than to have our son sleep on the floor. Since we had paid full price at the time of the reservation, finding other accomodations wasn't an option. My complaint is not that they don't provide cribs--that is certainly their right--but that they acknowledged our request, charged us the full fee, and didn't bother to tell us that there was no crib availability. A letter to the owners yielded no response.

Agree with the other writers that the breakfasts are nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank exc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
229 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2007

The owners, Peter and Kathryn Golden, handbuilt these cabins themselves and it shows. Our cabin, Forest Hale, just glowed with polished wood, original artwork, playful touches, a gas fireplace, a CD collections and player, stacks of Hawaiiana books, a DVD player and movies, electric tea kettle, incense, luxe robes, upholstered rocking chairs by the fireplace, quilts, but most of all the views out into the rainforest. I felt like I was inside a terarium looking out onto giant ferns. Then there is also the private hot tub (complete with rubber duckies) which we jumped right into after the long ride from Kona. I loved being surprised by all the pieces of artwork placed thoughtfully on the garden paths and in unexpected places inside the cabin. We never saw the other guests, except for their cars, so don't worry about privacy. This place keeps the real world at bay, and makes you want to loll in bed all day listening to the rain on the roof and the snap of the fire. Don't worry about breakfasts, this is a place meant to be savored, not gobbled. I was initially hesitant to book this place, as the website looked too beautiful to be true. It is true! I don't think I would recommend bringing children here, it is not kid proofed at all, and something is bound to be broken.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank leafpeeper98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Volcano Rainforest Retreat the first two nights of our honeymoon, and we couldn't have asked for a better place to begin our new life together.

We stayed in the Sanctuary, which was beautiful, peaceful, and clean. We enjoyed the outdoor Japanese bath and the little touches in the room.

It was the most relaxing, natural place we've ever stayed. I would highly recommend it and would go there again if I ever got the chance!

  • Liked — beautifully decorated room, comfortable bed, serene surroundings
  • Disliked — there were no locks on the doors
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ksij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
399 reviews
2.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
843 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
516 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
830 reviews
1.8 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Volcano
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Rainforest Retreat

Property: Volcano Rainforest Retreat
Address: 11-3832 Twelfth St, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano Rainforest Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Volcano Rainforest Retreat lodging experience on the Big Island of Hawaii offers visitors a collection of distinct guest cottages, created with elegant simplicity in harmony and balance with the Hawaiian rain forest. Its sense of place imparts a seamless feeling of connection between inside and outside, the accommodations and nature. The rain forest lodgings are interconnected by intimate paths, which wind their way through the misty, mossy landscape. This Hawaii Volcano retreat offers a unique setting for romantics, artists, nature lovers and world travellers seeking refuge and intimate contact with the living volcanic earth. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Rainforest Retreat Hotel Volcano
Volcano Rainforest Retreat Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing