We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Home in Volcano Village”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hapu'u Fern Cottage at Volcano Village
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in August 2013. I would HIGHLY recommend this rental house. It was perfect in every way. It is very closely located to the Volcano National Park, and all the essentials in Volcano Village. We were really just looking for a place to stay while in Volcano, and we figured we wouldn't spend too much time there since we'd be at the Volcano Park most of the time. But we enjoyed our time in the cottage as much as the Volcano. It is easy to find yet feels very secluded. The landscaping around the cottage is absolutely gorgeous. The house is EXTREMELY clean and everything worked perfectly. The hot tub was perfect. After a day of hiking at the Volcano, we loved to come back to the house and relax in the hot tub. The hot tub was wonderful. But most of all, we loved all the little touches. For example, we didn't have a chance to shop the night before we got in, and Karen had the kitchen stocked with frozen waffles, syrup, butter, bananas, coffee and creamer. Perfect for us for the first morning. My boys also really loved reading the Volcano Village books by the bed, so they could get excited about what they were going to see the next day. My husband and I were there with our 2 boys, aged 9 and 13, and I think this house would be perfect for families or couples. Thank you Karen for a lovely home and memorable experience!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

Hello Everyone,I highly recommend this Cottage spot in your Amazing Travels in Hawaii! We received the E+ treatment in 06/07 of Top Quality Care in Cleanness! When you needed Cooking or Driving Help,Karen is there to help you! You will enjoy the Hot tub when your day has been long!Please Mentioned that Tamra Sanchez sent you,from New Mexico!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TamraDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We had a 3 night stay here as part of a week long trip to the Big Island. Owner Karen was flexible on our arrival time and personally met us at the cottage to give us the keys and go over details of the cottage. She brought fresh papayas and apple bananas and Eggo waffles and English muffins were in the freezer (jam, syrup, butter, coffee, and creamer provided too). Groceries in Volcano are limited and expensive, so pick up food in Kona or Hilo on your way over (Karen was kind enough to advise us of this ahead of time!). We greatly enjoyed using the covered hot tub, the grill, and being so close to Volcanoes that we were able to enjoy the glowing lava at Jaggar Museum two nights in a row. The house was very clean and decorated in a nice Hawaiian style. Lots of little extras such as umbrellas, guides to local flora, a fairly large VHS collection, and many books to read.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank faeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This place is AWESOME hot tub fireplace two bedrooms comfortable beds ect. I would recomend this B&B to all my freinds even you local guys!!!! Come for the weekend with the wife my wife did!
Mahalo nui loa Ches & Emerald Family

Room Tip: Get this place for at least a week two days is way to short for this side of the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Loved the hot tub, videos, cleanliness of the home,and the wonderful decorations on the walls. A lot of heart went into including all the comforts needed for a nice getaway. Mahalo again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merlenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed for two nights at Hap'u Fern Cottage. The owners Karen and Terry were lovely and had thought of all the little touches, fresh fruit, coffee, breakfast food etc. The cottage is well equipped with all that you could need for a holiday, with plenty of towels and kitchen utensils. The furnishings were a little outdated for our taste, (VCR instead of DVD, no children's TV channels, water coolers for drinking water) - however I appreciate that this is personal preference and everything was maintained in good order and clean.

My only gripe, and in some respects should have expected it, as the house is situated in the middle of a rain forest, it was extremely damp and the smell of mildew was a little overpowering (with an attempt to cover it up by overuse of air freshners!). As my husband suffers from Asthma, this was exacerbated during our stay. The cottage was also cold and even in August we felt the need to use the fire. If felt like the cottage needed a good airing!

That said, the cottage is in a fantastic location for the Volcano's National Park and we spent two fantastic days in the park and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We have stayed at the cottage on three occasions. Each time we were met by the friendly owner and reminded about the amenities. The cottage is always clean and decorated with fresh flowers. The wood burning stove and hot tub were both very welcome during the chilly evenings. The beds were very comfortable. Not really any grocery stores nearby so do your shopping before you get to the community of Volcano.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happytravelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.3 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.6 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
990 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 21 in Volcano
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
531 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#16 of 32 in Volcano
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hapu'u Fern Cottage at Volcano Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapu'u Fern Cottage at Volcano Village

Address: 19-3954 Kilinoe St, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: £135 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A #1 Volcano Hapu'u Fern Cottage has no cleaning fee for a 3+ nights stay. You'll enjoy a complimentary self-serve continental breakfast, native fruits, tropical juices, choices of coffees & teas. This cozy secluded cottage is nestled amidst an old Hawaii rain forest with enormous hapu'u tree ferns & is also a sanctuary for the native Hawaiian birds. You'll be minutes to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hapu'u Fern Cottage At Volcano Village Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing