We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stuff”
Review of Crater Rim Cabin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crater Rim Cabin
Ranked #5 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The cabin is spacious and includes a bedroom area (the bed was quite firm), living area, full kitchen and bathroom. In addition there is a large garden area to enjoy that goes right up to the edge of the crater. The owner who met us was very friendly and provided advice about the local sights and sounds, which was particularly useful because the National Park (literally next door) was shut at the time. Some food supplies were provided for breakfast, but we had already stocked up at the grocery store. Good place to stay if you want some peace and quiet (there is wi-fi to keep you connected to the rest of the world though!).

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank EchidnandKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

We were lucky that the ONLY two nights this lovely cabin was available in late November were the two nights we needed! From the moment we arrived to find the whiteboard sign welcoming us with our names and "Aloha!" we knew we were "home." Barry was putting the finishing touches on the inside (cabin is immaculate as others have previously stated), yet he helped us bring our luggage from the car.

He offered us suggestions for dining in the area and tips on visiting the park as well as the local Farmers' Market on Sunday. The cabin is very cozy with a king bed with electric blanket for those chilly nights, and plenty of lighting for reading all of the area guidebooks and maps provided in a large wicker basket. The kitchen is stocked with everything you need for breakfast, including a fruit basket, Kona coffee, tea, milk, cream, eggs, bread, jam, butter, honey and various cereals.

The bathroom is small but very adequate with plenty of towels, paper goods and toiletries.

The grounds are spectacular. You can tell that Barry is passionate about gardening. Barry and Jim live next door and there is an intercom so you can reach them if you have any questions.

We loved their line of soft goods from their business "Tutu Nene" and Barry let us shop in the warehouse which is adjacent to the carport. We took quite a few items home and placed a special order for more to be delivered after the holidays (they were in a backorder situation as their goods are popular with many local stores and museum shops). Tenants receive a 15% discount.

When we checked out we found that we had "lost" our food cooler (it turned up later packed inside another bag) and Barry offered us a Styrofoam cooler left by a previous tenant -- very generous.

We only wish that Barry and Jim were our neighbors at home as they are delightful guys and we really enjoyed them and left feeling that we were friends and not tourists. We highly recommend this B & B to everyone (and we hardly ever stay at B & B's). Thank you to those whose reviews preceded ours for helping us to find this charming place in Volcano!

Tip: The right turn for their private road is just before the Golf Course clubhouse. It actually looks like you're turning into the parking lot. You go a short 1/2 mile on this gravel road. Take it easy as there are plenty of potholes and look for the #23 sign for their driveway. The privacy and peace are well worth it!

We will share photos at a later date - took quite a few! Those already on this website are very accurate.

Room Tip: It's all good -- only the one king bed and then a futon in the living room. It would be cozy fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed at the cabin for 3 nights. The cabin is about 10 min drive from Volcano National Park and also served us as a good jump point to visit the Hilo side of the Island. I would also recommend it for exploring the areas south of Kona.

Cabin has full sized fridge, stove, microwave, kettle, toaster, sink and cooking utensils, so if you pick up some groceries on the way, you can prepare your own meals. Inside, it has a kitchen, bathroom, living area and bedroom, so quite spacious for two. It has charm and personality. You won't find a dishwasher or a Jacuzzi tub, but in no way does that take away from the comfortable and cozy environment. And, yes other reviews have mentioned this, but the place scrupulously clean.

Our host was knowledgeable about the area and very willing to share information to improve our vacation to the park and the area in general. We felt welcomed and would recommend this cabin to friends and would hope to return someday ourselves.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StewartTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I've stayed in a lot of B&Bs and hotels all over the world, and this is seriously one of the best places I've ever stayed in. Barry is such a friendly and enthusiastic host, taking time to give us driving directions, recommend good places to eat, and give us sightseeing suggestions. The cabin is immaculately clean and well kept. You feel like you are in someone's home rather than in a vacation rental. Words cannot describe what an amazing find this place is and how comfortable staying here is. I highly recommend it and definitely think it should be #1 in Volcano. I miss it already.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pychen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Had a wonderful 4 night stay at this redwood cabin. It was so very comfortable and clean. Barry, our host, obviously cares about the property and he wants you to enjoy the area. The living room had a great collection of books, maps and trail guides for Volcano National Park . Barry is now working on landscaping the grounds. Enjoyed the peacefulness of the grounds as well as the cabin itself. I was able to relax and enjoy. A perfect place to stay if you are in the Volcano area.

Room Tip: There is only one cabin so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This cabin, located just outside of Hawaii Volcanoes NP, is occupied every night of the year, and there is good reason for that. The other reviews summarize the cleanliness and comforts of the cabin and the graciousness of the hosts very well, so I have nothing to add there. The property itself is an excellent place to see some of Hawaii's endemic birds (apapahne and i'iwi), so that was a real plus. When there, be sure to ask to check out their warehouse of wonderful Hawaiian-made gifts. I got a lot of holiday shopping done on site! Hope we will return to the Big I someday, and when we do, we hope to be repeat visitors.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at Crater Rim Cabin. The cabin was immaculate, plenty of linens, and even a nicely stocked kitchen (milk, bread, eggs, fruit, coffee, etc). The owners have thought of everything! There is a styrofoam cooler, umbrellas, flashlights, brochures, even gloves to use when exploring the lava. There are several very good restaurants nearby or you can buy fresh produce from the various farmers markets. The cabin is very close to the entrance of Volcanoes National Park, we explored the Thurston Lava tube after dark (the flashlights came in handy!) and we viewed the glow of Kilauea from Jaggar Museum. During the day we drove down the Chain of Craters Road and had a picnic before getting out and exploring the lava flows. Every night we fell asleep exhausted and woke up refreshed to the sound of birds! Mahalo Jim and Barry for opening your cabin home to us!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyAnnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.1 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
991 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
531 reviews
2.8 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 32 in Volcano
708 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Rim Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Rim Cabin

Address: 23 Golf Links Road, Crater Rim Drive, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718-0045
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: £124 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, private cabin in the forest at the edge of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Close to the National Park entrance. Perfect for couples and families with small children. Full kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crater Rim Cabin Hotel Volcano
Crater Rim Cabin Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing