We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So happy with this choice”
Review of Crater Rim Cabin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crater Rim Cabin
Ranked #5 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Had to complete a review on this place as I feel it deserves top marks for service, quality and attention to detail. Barry does the meet, greet and property maintainance and is a genuinely caring and professional inn keeper. The property gives you privacy, peace and tranquility but Barry and Jim live next door and you can call them on intercom any time for assistance. Excellent self catering breakfast. There are only a couple of good places to eat in town so if staying a while or don't want to eat out much the bring supplies from hilo or kona and take advantage of the well equipped kitchen.You just know this cabin has given many tourists over many years very warm memories of their time exploring the volcano area. Many thanks to Barry and Jim.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GOGREENIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Crater rim cabin is the best B & B type accommodation we have stayed in on the islands. We stayed for 3 nights while visiting the Big Island for the Merrie Monarch Festival in Hilo. The cabin, 30 minutes from Hilo, is set in a fern forest a short drive from the national park, and was ideal for our stay. We woke up each morning in a beautiful, peaceful place, went for hikes in the park each day, and then headed to town for the hula festival each evening. Barry and Jim are the best of hosts, thinking of everything you might need, warm and welcoming, and giving you total privacy. They provide everything you need to make a delicious breakfast and for your comfort in the cabin. And it is spotlessly clean. It was so fabulous that we wanted to move in!! Thank you Barry and Jim for the lovely stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ad0ree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Crater Rim Cabin is a most charming cabin close to the national park and close to the volcano.
The staff of the Crater Rim Cabin goes above and beyond. Berry was working hard when we arrived and he was an inspiration to all of us.
Thank you Berry for making our stay special and memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrimlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just a short drive from the entrance to Volcano National Park! Crater Rim Cabin is a quiet hideaway with everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay in Volcano, Hawaii. Barry is a warm and gracious host who makes this cozy cottage shine! Everything for breakfast is at your fingertips. Barry and Jim provide invaluable suggestions and recommendations for hikes, restaurants, picnic ideas and more! Should you have questions about volcanoes, lava, cinder cones or anything geological, Barry is the man to ask! He has a wealth of knowledge and is fascinating to converse with. We only wish we had had more time to pick is brain! Should we ever return to Hawaii, we will absolutely stay at Crater Rim Cabin!! Thanks Barry and Jim!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at the Crater Rim Cabin for a few nights last year as part of our 'see the big island' tour. The Crater Rim Cabin is a gem of a cabin.
It is very peaceful place and there is a full kitchen that is stocked with some breakfast items and fruit. The fruit is delicious. The cabin is only about 5 minutes or so from the Hawaii National Volcano Park.
The best part was when we met Barry when we arrived and he went over all the local restaurants, farmers markets and suggested we head over to the park to check out the evening 'glow'.
Berry is full of great suggestions!,
The hosts live in their home on the property, but the lush rain forest provides a lot of privacy and you certainly feel safe, secure and private.
As a nudist, I love my privacy and we didn't see the hosts even once after we arrived because we left before dawn and arrived late at night. On the other hand, I felt if we needed anything they would be accommodating.
Can't say enough about how great this place is. We stayed in the winter and loved the fire stove and electric blanket. Great job.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Absolutely outstanding B&B in every way. We have stayed in many B&B's in many countries, and this one is by far and away the tops for completeness of what is included with the accommodation. Add to that the wonderful location and the genuine care, friendliness and helpfulness which Barry and Jim demonstrate and I cannot imagine how anyone could ask for more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_M_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This is a good B&B cabin between Volcano and Hilo in the heart of the best place on this planet.
If you are in volcano this is the place to stay.
Being from Asia this was a really good place to stay. Me Barry is nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Labreview2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
2.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
418 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
2.4 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Volcano Acres Ranch Bed & Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
431 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Rim Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Rim Cabin

Address: 23 Golf Links Road, Crater Rim Drive, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718-0045
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: £125 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, private cabin in the forest at the edge of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Close to the National Park entrance. Perfect for couples and families with small children. Full kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crater Rim Cabin Hotel Volcano
Crater Rim Cabin Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing