We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
206
10
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
10
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen freshly ground coffee fruit national park the big island living room breakfast items wonderful hosts thought of everything vacation rental gas fireplace large bedroom local information restaurant recommendations king bed little extras oatmeal
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited Volcano and were lucky enough to get to stay here.
We want to thank these guys for giving us the most amazing stay on vacation. We really thought the place clean, nice, and special.
Thanks again!

Date of stay: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelRachelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is an amazing place. Jim and Barry are amazing hosts, they pay attention to all the small details. When we walked in Barry was still cleaning, so we took a tour of the national park . When we came back to the cabin, it was sparkling clean, so clean that we could eat off the floor :). The hosts loaded the fridge with milk, half and half and eggs. They also provided bread, coffee, cold and warm cereal .. I was speechless.
This cabin is a gem - made of California red wood, big beds with electric blankets. My only regret is that we didn't stay long enough. Get up in the morning and walk the beautiful property. You will most likely meet Jim who will give you a detailed tour of the property. The property is only 5 min from the park, and Barry, who is a geologist, will make some excellent hike recommendations.

There is plenty of good food nearby. This cabin is simply superb. Book early as it fills up quickly. It is a little hard to find. Make sure you follow the directions provided by the hosts !

Room tip: Book early. There is only one cabin .
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PartyAnimal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for couple of nights at the end of June. We checked in late but Barry was still cleaning the cabin; then we finished dinner and came back but he was still cleaning !! This clearly shows up in the way the cabin is maintained. Nice big bed with electric blankets. Like everywhere else, the sofa bed was not that great. The access to this is through a gravel road just before the volcano golf club. It is very convenient to visit the volcano in the night which is when you should visit to really see the beauty. The cabin is especially good if your goal is to spend some peaceful time in a natural setting surrounded by the garden. The kitchen is well stocked with the essentials needed for a healthy breakfast. There was plenty of information about the local restaurants, map, guide etc. There is no laundry, no cable tv but can watch DVDs.

Room tip: there is just one cabin, nothing to choose.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praspn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Only here for a couple of days....not long enough...could have easily stayed a week!!
Cabin beautiful and spotlessly clean, hosts outstanding, cabin welcome pack most appreciated!
5 mins drive from the volcano park and various eateries!
Would thoroughly recommend!!!!!!

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jenmac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed 9-12 June (3 nights) and absolutely loved Crater Rim Cabin. You can tell the place is kept and managed with love, and every detail is thought through.

The location is excellent for Volcanoes National Park, and for the nearby Volcano Village, and the accommodation is amazing (you'll see from my other reviews that I don't use this word lightly). If I ever visit the area again, I can't think of ever staying anywhere else.

There's plenty of provisions for breakfast, but make sure you also stock up for other meals, as restaurants in the area are pretty expensive (though we quite liked the Thai place in Volcano Village).

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThatDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews