We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crater Rim Cabin
Nearby Hotels
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano House(Hawaii Volcanoes National Park)
US$297
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$228
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
US$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$179
US$158
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arnott's Lodge(Hilo)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$385
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
202
10
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
10
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenelectric blanketsfruitnational parkthe big islandliving roomwonderful hostsgas fireplacevacation rentallarge bedroomchain of craters roadlocal informationking bedfelt like homeour night staymin drivespent three nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited Volcano and were lucky enough to get to stay here.
We want to thank these guys for giving us the most amazing stay on vacation. We really thought the place clean, nice, and special.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelRachelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is an amazing place. Jim and Barry are amazing hosts, they pay attention to all the small details. When we walked in Barry was still cleaning, so we took a tour of the national park . When we came back to the cabin, it was sparkling clean, so clean that we could eat off the floor :). The hosts loaded the fridge with milk, half and half and eggs. They also provided bread, coffee, cold and warm cereal .. I was speechless.
This cabin is a gem - made of California red wood, big beds with electric blankets. My only regret is that we didn't stay long enough. Get up in the morning and walk the beautiful property. You will most likely meet Jim who will give you a detailed tour of the property. The property is only 5 min from the park, and Barry, who is a geologist, will make some excellent hike recommendations.

There is plenty of good food nearby. This cabin is simply superb. Book early as it fills up quickly. It is a little hard to find. Make sure you follow the directions provided by the hosts !

Room Tip: Book early. There is only one cabin .
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PartyAnimal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for couple of nights at the end of June. We checked in late but Barry was still cleaning the cabin; then we finished dinner and came back but he was still cleaning !! This clearly shows up in the way the cabin is maintained. Nice big bed with electric blankets. Like everywhere else, the sofa bed was not that great. The access to this is through a gravel road just before the volcano golf club. It is very convenient to visit the volcano in the night which is when you should visit to really see the beauty. The cabin is especially good if your goal is to spend some peaceful time in a natural setting surrounded by the garden. The kitchen is well stocked with the essentials needed for a healthy breakfast. There was plenty of information about the local restaurants, map, guide etc. There is no laundry, no cable tv but can watch DVDs.

Room Tip: there is just one cabin, nothing to choose.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praspn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Only here for a couple of days....not long enough...could have easily stayed a week!!
Cabin beautiful and spotlessly clean, hosts outstanding, cabin welcome pack most appreciated!
5 mins drive from the volcano park and various eateries!
Would thoroughly recommend!!!!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jenmac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed 9-12 June (3 nights) and absolutely loved Crater Rim Cabin. You can tell the place is kept and managed with love, and every detail is thought through.

The location is excellent for Volcanoes National Park, and for the nearby Volcano Village, and the accommodation is amazing (you'll see from my other reviews that I don't use this word lightly). If I ever visit the area again, I can't think of ever staying anywhere else.

There's plenty of provisions for breakfast, but make sure you also stock up for other meals, as restaurants in the area are pretty expensive (though we quite liked the Thai place in Volcano Village).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThatDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews