We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, basic accommodation”
Review of Holo Holo Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holo Holo Inn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, basic accommodation”
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

The house is dated but the rooms are clean and all you need for basic accommodation to just sleep. The beds are comfy enough, and extra blankets are provided for the cool nights. The kitchen is well equipped and the surrounds are quiet. Free, decent wifi along with a computer makes it a convenient stay. Overall, given the cheap price it's good value for money.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ichindar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    21
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
30
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at the holo holo inn for 2 nights in september 2012. It is a great choice if you're on a budget and don't want to spend to much for a room.

Pros:
- Clean
- The owners are nice
- It's cheap
- Free coffee
- Not too far from Volcano National Park (5 minute drive)
- Free wi-fi + a computer

Cons:
- It was cold when we were there and they only have a portable heater downstairs, in the kitchen... we had to wear sweaters in bed because we were freezing.
- There is a lot of junk outside the house... the first impression is a bit scary
- They have washer/dryers but it's expensive (1$ for 5 minutes for the dryers)
- The dorms look nice, but our semi-private room was tatty
- The rooms and kitchen were clean, but the was some moisture in the bathroom

Tips:
-There are 2 general stores near the hostel, but the food is very very expensive. If you can, buy groceries elsewhere (like Hilo if your plane lands there), do it.
- Bring warm clothing, because it is much colder in Volcano than in Kona or Hilo, and bring an umbrella.
- These places in volcano are great: volcano winery, aloha candy company, café ono.

Room Tip: There is a general store near the hostel, but the food is very very expensive. If you can, buy groce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mspitiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
267 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

It's pretty decent Japaness style hostel. People are friendly inside, and the hosts lived in the same place as you lived. It's a family style businese and they make you at home.

However, there are still minor drawbacks: the place is a little bit hard to find, but the GPS did a good job. If there is another chance, I think I will still live there(cheap and nice).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotoTrekkerWalomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We definitively saved money sleeping there but the place was a bit too rough for me... maybe I'm getting too old :) Surroundings are very quiet but the house is real noisy. You'll know for sure when people arriving late or getting up early mind their business in the house. It would also have been nice if the heater had been turned on... Shared showers are rustic too but you'll survive. Beside that, rooms were clean, kitchen offers plenty of space and the owner and his family are really adorable ! The volcano national park is 3 minutes away, awesome for late night drives to the caldera's crater !

Room Tip: Probably need to avoid the right hand side upper floor bedroom, which is closest to the kitchen than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My gf and I showed up around 8:45 pm without reservations. The man who owned the place was very nice and quickly got us settled into a private room, around $80 (cash only) for the night. The room was very large, with a very comfortable bed. The private bathroom was also very large, and very clean. The stay was very comfortable. The inn also has free coffee/ hot chocolate, the kitchen is very communal. The location is excellent, very close to restaurants and gas stations, and is less than a 5 minute drive to the Volcanoes National Park. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Wonderful hostel! The hostel was clean, the owners were kind and helpful, the room (we stayed in the private room) was comfortable. Our stay was very tranquil; one of the family members offered a roasted marshmallow when we arrived, the cat followed my partner upstairs, and the location was quiet and beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We were looking for some accomodation close to the Volcanoes National Park when we came across Holo Holo Inn. This place is amazing. We paid slightly more for a double room with an ensuite bathroom, but it was still exceedingly good value, particularly when you consider its position. Literally a 5 minute drive to the national park (which is fabulous!!) and a 10 minute walk into the small village of Volcano. Make sure you are armed with a torch if walking in at night as it gets really dark! The owner of the hostel and his family were all extremely friendly, and we couldn't get over just how clean everything was. Yes, they do close up for about 4 hours over lunchtime but to be honest, we didn't fly more than halfway around the world to sit in a hotel/hostel room. Being closed didn't affect us as we were out exploring the national park. We stopped at Holo for 3 nights which seemed just about right for exploring the local area.
Food wise, the kitchen is great for self catering, but we ate out each night, once at Thai Thai Restaurant and twice at Kiawe Kitchen, both of which were both very good indeed, offering a good range of veggie options, as well as one of the best steaks I've ever had (Kiawe Kitchen).
Also want to recommend Cafe Ohi'a for lunchtime food, which was great value and very tasty.

We would definately stay here again if we ever managed to get back to Volcano.

Room Tip: We were very happy with the room we chose, it was a double with priviate ensuite.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RemusHowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.5 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
0.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
399 reviews
1.3 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#13 of 31 in Volcano
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holo Holo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holo Holo Inn

Property: Holo Holo Inn
Address: PO Box 784, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0784
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Holo Holo Hotel Volcano
Holo Holo Inn Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing