We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't pass up this local gem”

Volcano Garden Arts
Ranked #7 of 17 things to do in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Volcano Garden Arts, a working Art Studio and Gallery is set on three lush acres in Volcano Village, a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. This unique gallery is housed in an old Hawaiian Estate, recognized as a World Heritage Site. You will be delighted to find art work from over 70 local artists, from fresh fun collectibles to works of significant impact. Enjoy our lovely, cultivated gardens and greenhouses and visit our spectacular 70 year old tree sanctuary. While visiting the Volcano Art Gallery, be sure to take some time to relax and have lunch, coffee or tea at our Cafe' Ono.
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't pass up this local gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Have lunch enjoying cool temperature in lush peaceful gardens. A wonderful place to selects local artists works for gifts. A&D

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chinookmama59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    14
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waimea, Hawaii, United States
1 review
“A peaceful oasis to linger in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stopped by Volcano Garden Arts, a lovely gallery and excellent luncheon café located just a few miles from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. It's the kind of gallery/gift shop that you can linger in, with choice selections of over 100 local artists and craftspeople, surrounded by 3 acres of beautifully groomed gardens in the rain forest. Great vegetarian lunch, with a huge selection of teas and coffee, yummy desserts. Great place for a garden party and since I live on the Big Island, I'm going to make this a regular haunt...Ira Ono, the founder/'proprietor is a talented artist whose work is also displayed - friendly staff, evocative surroundings. Time stands still in this charming oasis.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marsha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Just left this wonderful place. Great one of a kind items and good prices. A must place to stop at while in Hawaii. Great owner as well.

Helpful?
Thank MRM1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gallery, garden and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This makes a great stop in the village of Volcano before or after visiting the national park . The gallery is full of art and gifts, most from local artists. The cafe serves hearty, delicious vegetarian fare. A walk thru the garden from the parking lot yields many surprises.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Faerydust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great selection of local crafts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We visited Volcano Garden Arts a couple of times in our 3 day stay in Volcano. There was an array of jewellery, ceramics, art works and local crafts. I purchased several gifts as well as a silver 'Honu' ring for myself, and everything is of beautiful quality. I would definitely recommend supporting local crafts and picking up a souvenir here (There's also a great cafe attached to the arts centre)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NatalieBoxshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Volcano Garden Arts also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Volcano Garden Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing