We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first B&B and we would go back again!”
Review of Halana Hale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Halana Hale
Ranked #26 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was our first time staying at a B & B and we were pleasantly surprised. The home on entry was so inviting, large common area, well appointed kitchen area, large dining area,and cozy den room complete with TV and wood burning stove. Outside covered porch with a working hot tub. Our room was very comfortable, heating blankets nice and warm, very clean with a lot of bathroom amenities provided. The owner was very knowledgeable about the area and local activities. There were three other couples we enjoyed meeting as well. The home is so spacious, you could easily find your own quiet space. Breakfast was provided, fruit,eggs, toast,pastries, and wonderful coffee!! We would come back again. . .so much warmth and character!!!

Room Tip: Room with private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 89509travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed early 2011 for three nights. At that time, the innkeepers were a couple living in a separate cabin on-site. They, Larry and Sarah, mentioned they were already retired, but 'retiring' again from maintaining this lodge for their friends and planning to move.

When we first arrived, a post-it note by the front door let us know where to head for our room. The entire large home's front door was always unlocked. The doors, while lockable, are hollow-core. We don't mind taking shoes off to enter the home in Hawaiian tradition/custom, as we do the same, but found it odd that the innkeepers kept their shoes on...when they arrived to make breakfast each morning. No worries, except the rug in the kitchen area near the dishwasher/sink was oddly very damp and wet, and ruined our socks upon initially checking out the "lodge."

While there were carpet stains and the furnishings slightly dated, it was not horrible. The bedroom itself was good just for sleeping.

Free wi-fi access and the laundry room were convenient, esp. if you were on the island for a week as we were. Great access to the Volcanoes National Park, which is the main point of most visitors' stays. We also recommend taking one day to drive over to the East side and Hilo...you can drive all of the E. side of Hawaii and makes it bearable instead of trying to do that from the Kona side.

There were many other guests staying at the same time as we were, and we never crossed paths except at breakfast, which was nice, but felt bad sometimes that making breakfast for eight plus people meant some had to wait a long time for others to get their food.

We recommend if you're dropping by Hilo or see a farmers' market to pick up some groceries or food/meals and bring it back to heat in the kitchen, etc...as there aren't many restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radfahrenfaireduvelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We stayed two nights at the Halana Lodge to visit the National Park. We don't usually go to bed and breakfasts but that is all that is really available in Volcano. We found the hosts, Larry and Sarah to be charming and very helpful with information about the volcano. We stayed in the Blue Hawaii room and found it clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and was plentiful. As most houses on the Big Island, the house has no air conditioning or heating. The beds have heating blankets on them and the common rooms have fireplaces if we had wanted to start a fire. There is a TV in a common area but the rooms do not have TVs except for the Emperor's Suite which has a fireplace and TV in the room. It is a little further away from the park than some of the other B&Bs in the area but we didn't find it to be a problem. Had we arrived at night, it would have been a little hard to find.
If B&Bs are not for you, there are hotels in Hilo which is about a 1 hour drive from the volcano.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverBob_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

First, I have to say that the owners are really very nice people. I just don't think they have quite captured the essence of running an inn. This is actually a B&B. Older large home with bedrooms converted to lodging rooms. We arrived to find a post-it on the door advising us which room was ours and nobody around. The owner showed up about an hour later. He was very nice and gave us hints about visiting the volcano at night. It was clean enough but the place needs updating. Carpets are old, blankets are worn - we just felt sort of creepy there and didn't even sleep well. We could hear other people talking in other rooms (All the doors are hollow core with marginal locks. House remains open all the time) but didn't actually see anyone around until the next morning at breakfast, where we met the other 9 guests. A large bottle of Suave shampoo and liquid soap covered the amenities in a shared bathroom. When I travel, I avoid hostels but that is more of what this was like. For the price, I expected much better. Breakfast was 1/2 a papaya with 1/4 banana and 2 grapes, fruit juice, coffee, part of a bearclaw, a 3" square baked omelet and potatoes. Not enough for any normal man but OK for us.
If you decide to stay here, the road in is very long and gets narrow at end. It's about 10 minutes north out of town in the jungle part of the area. It's out in the boonies.
I appreciated the owner mailing my jacket back to me after I left it in the room... I was surprised however, that after 6 days, he had not checked the closet in the room we had stayed in and says he didn't usually do that.
Because the owner are so nice, I am inclined to give this a 2.5 star. I just won't be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerwannaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

This is really a B&B. The couple who own it are both 80 years old. They are "retiring" this fall. I would say they have not done any improvements in quite some time. The place looks very "used" ( floors, furniture, bedding, mattress, etc) Bathroom fans very, very noisy, could even hear the next rooms quite plainly! Have to say breakfast was very nice. There was 10 of us around the table and they made omelets 2 at a time so the first two people were long done when the last two finally got theirs. Made it awkard for one couple who waited for her husband to receive his before she started to eat hers. Think hers must have cooled of a bit during the wait! It is in a very,very remote area!! We arrived around 8:30 p.m. and was gettig a bit nervous with the narrow dark roads with no inhabitation. It is a home that was made in to a B&B with more bedrooms added to the structure. Our room was changed because the people who had our room the night before wanted to stay another night so we got put in a different configuration room.
No one was there to meet us. Just a post-it note on the out side door stating our room had been changed. Only for other guests cooking supper in the kitchen would we know how to get to our room, The bedroom door was open and the key was laying on the bed. There was no insualtion for noise as we could plainly here the 4 people having supper and wine in the
kitchen. Thank God for earplugs so we could sleep!!
We paid aprox $ 150 and I feel it was not worth the price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Halana Lodge. It is in a beautiful quiet location near the Volcano Park. Larry and Sara, the innkeepers, were terrific hosts with lots of informaiton about the area and tips on what to see. Breakfast was terrific and plentiful. Our room the Blue Hawaii was comfortable and the common areas are spacious and attractive. The internet worked flawlessly. We had use of the washer and dryer, as well. It is important to remember to bring some warm clothes for this area as it is cool in the morning and evenings.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
3.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
433 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
3.6 mi away
Volcano Hale
Volcano Hale
#5 of 22 in Volcano
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
548 reviews
4.1 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#8 of 32 in Volcano
438 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halana Hale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halana Hale

Address: 19-4789 Amaumau Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Halana Hale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are taking Halana Hale off the market, but we have 3 other vacation rentals next to it that are available. We have a 3 bedroom/2 bath home, and two 2 bedroom/1 bath cottages that are recently renovated. Halana Hale is a unique and private Vacation Rental home located in Volcano, Hawaii. Situated on 60 acres of pristine tropical rain forest, that is a Certified Wildlife Habitat. This is a wonderful place to stay while exploring Hawaii and the picturesque Volcano area including the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Big Island's number one attraction. The Punaluu Black Sand Beach is just 35 minutes away where sea turtles bask in the sun. Atkatsuka Orchids offers free admission and will ship orchid plants back home for you. The Punaluu Bakery in Naalehu is the southern-most bakery in the USA and has a lovely garden and gazebos where you can enjoy a lunch from their cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Halana Hale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halana Hale Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing