We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ohia Paniolo Cottage - Would Stay Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ohia Plantation House
Ranked #19 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Sitka, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ohia Paniolo Cottage – Would Stay Again”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We spent four nights at the Ohia Paniolo Cottage located in quiet residential neighborhood just a couple miles from Volcanoes National Park. It was a very comfortable place to spend the evenings.

The two-bedroom, one-bath home is very inviting and decorated well. We arrived to find breakfast fixings including a generous platter of fruit, Punalu’u Bake Shop sweet rolls, and pancake mix. There is really everything you could ask for in a short stay: a well-stocked kitchen for cooking, indoor and outdoor dining tables, cable TV, a cd player/radio, grill, wireless internet, a hot tub, washer & dryer, ample lighting indoors and out, and a carport. Since the climate is very damp, there are also a couple dehumidifiers inside which help cut down on moisture, though it cannot be completely eliminated.

All of my interactions with the owners were professional and they sent me a receipt for payment promptly by email.

If I get to go back to the island, I will definitely consider staying here again. It is very reasonably priced and the location is ideal for visits to the park being a quick drive or bike ride away. The cottage is also close enough to Hilo and Kea’au to drive to either on a day trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakwasina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Our family gathered for a long weekend to explore the Volcano area and the Mauna Kea summit. This location is ideal for both. Our home was completely furnished. It is clear the owners have been thoughtful in providing essentials some vacation rentals overlook such as condiments, paper-goods, useful utensils. There were plenty of linens and toiletries. We appreciated these touches and felt we were cared for.
The home and it's amenities including the hot tub and fireplace are little luxuries that make you feel you are really on a vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okoshi2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Arriving at the Ohia Plantation Cottage is like arriving at your own cottage except someone has been there to prepare it for you. There were fresh-cut flowers, in every room and in the two outdoor sitting areas. There was fresh fruit and taro bread. Not only was there a fresh pineapple but also the slicer to cut it. The week we were there Valcano National Park was closed due to the government shutdown but we had a wonderful stay anyway. Volcano was a great place to stay to explore the Southern places of the Big Island. When my family returns to explore Volcano National Park we will be staying at Ohia Plantation Cottage.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyandTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The home is beautiful and the beds were incredibly comfortable. The house is large and the floor plan is well laid out. It's in a very private setting just minutes from Volcano National Park. Very convenient. The continental breakfast that greeted us our first day there was very welcomed. We also liked the tradition of previous guests leaving condiments and other basic food supplies behind. It came in handy, especially in the first few days. We were here with another couple the third week of Sept 2012.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is a long overdue review... We stayed there during Xmas. The cottage is very well decorated and has all the necessary stuff when traveling in the region, e.g., flash lights ;-) Just like a home. The owner is very good at answering all the questions.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lh_1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hospitality extended to us by Cliff and Bernie was absolutely incredible, and I simply can't speak highly enough of our stay at the Ohia Paniolo Cottage. First off, lets go over the amenities, then back to the hospitality.

The cottage itself is very well maintained, and the hot tub was perfectly sized for the area and maintained. The kitchen was well-stocked with cooking utensils, and the rooms were incredibly comfortable. The two nights we spent in Volcano were easily the most restful of our entire 8-day trip. The cottage is great for couples, a group of friends, or even a small family.

So, back to the hospitality. Before we even left home, Cliff and Bernie sent us a very nice CD with some Hawaiian music on it, to help us get into the Hawaiian state of mind. Upon arrival at the cottage, they had left us some excellent local fruit on the table, along with an immaculately clean cottage. When we left, I happened to leave my jacket on the breakfast table. I thought the jacket was lost forever, but Cliff called the next day, and actually shipped it (at no charge to me) back home to Texas. And finally, 3 MONTHS after our short stay at the cottage, Cliff and Bernie sent us a very nice Christmas card and a wonderful calendar of Hawaii (that is now on the wall in my wife's office).

When (not if) my wife and I go back to the Big Island... we're definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: Pick up groceries in Kona or Hilo. The local general store is extremely expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We just got back from a week of traveling in Hawaii, endng our final two days at Ohia Plantation House. A more perfect place could not be found! In terms of location, value and setting it was the best way ever to conclude our trip.

This beautifully decorated, well appointed and spacious home was just right for our party of 5 (me, my husband, our teenage son and my parents). Located 5 minutes from the entrance to Volcanoes NP, nestled amongst a lush rain forest setting and 2 minutes from Volcano Village. Add to it, a sense of gracious hospitality, warm and inviting, yet non-intrusive. We could not have asked for better.

I would come back to Ohia Plantation House time and time again if I could.

Thank you Bernie and Cliff for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
1.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.1 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.3 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohia Plantation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohia Plantation House

Property: Ohia Plantation House
Address: 11-3780 Sixth Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohia Plantation House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ohia Plantation House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohia Plantation House Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing