We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WISH I STAYED HERE LONGER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Volcano Fern Forest Retreat
Ranked #20 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,220 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,045 helpful votes
“WISH I STAYED HERE LONGER!”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This place is truly amazing. I agree with all the previous reviews. You feel special from the moment you arrive. Even our parking spot said a personal welcome. Every little detail is thought about in this place. The owner Lenny truly has a big heart. He is so warm and friendly and you can tell that he has put his heart and soul into this place. The room is so clean, we didn't have to ask for anything. We were even given a torch for our after dark trip to see the volcano.The B & B is only a few miles from the national park and the surroundings are so peaceful. I can't recommend this place enough, I could have happily stayed there for a week.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saintlysinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
59
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for one night after reading the glowing reviews on this site. We were not disappointed and wished we could have stayed longer!

Lenny and his sister Michelle greeted us when we arrived and were the perfect hosts...friendly, helpful and kind. The room at Fern Forest Retreat was serene and tranquil and very clean, furnished beautifully and stocked with everything one could possibly need, from umbrellas to binoculars to flashlights for trips out to the Park. The pantry was stocked with cereals, oatmeal, tea, hot chocolate and coffee, and the fridge with milk and juice; for breakfast, Lenny brought in fresh fruit and a delicious bread that his mother makes...yummy!

When we return to the Big Island, we will make it a point to stay with Lenny again as it was a truly wonderful experience. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrackRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed at the Fern Forest Retreat for one night on our way to the Volcanoes National Park and loved every minute of it. It is located in the heart of the forest, very quiet and peaceful - just what we needed after 3 days on Waikiki Beach! Lenny was there to greet us when we arrived and was so warm and friendly, we immediately felt at home. The room was very spacious, well appointed and very tastefully decorated, with every home comfort catered for. In addition, Lenny made sure that everything was available for our visit to the park including chairs, umbrellas, torches and even showerproof coats!It was pretty wet during our stay! Breakfast was great with cereals, fresh fruit and juice and lovely homemade cake. Lenny's sister has just moved to the island and we had the opportunity to speak with her too. she was lovely and friendly and gave us some good tips for sightseeing which were really helpful. We will definitely make the effort to come back to this lovely retreat!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globetrotters001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wessingen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at Lenny's Fern Forest Retreat in June and were the first guests in the freshly renovated Alii Kane House. Although we have already read a lot of positive reviews about the Volcano Suites we were really amazed by the size of the rooms and the wonderful decoration. The house offered not only 2 bedrooms, a bathroom, a kitchen, and a huge living room but also an awesome roofed terrace where we used to enjoy our breakfast.

Lenny was a great host. He was very friendly and courteous. He kept the fridge filled with milk and juice, supplied us with fresh fruits, cereals, coffee and a very delicious cake/bread every day, and he even provided us with snorkles, rain gear, flashlights...

Honestly, we quite missed him during our stay at the next B&B on our trip :)

If we should ever visit the Big Island again, Lenny's will surely be the first address for us to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Unfortunately we were only two nights in this place and it was amazing. Lenny is so nice and always worried if everything is ok. He prepared the breakfast and also some snacks for our days exploring the volcano. The room is very good decorated, very clean and comfortable. In our 15 day stay through the hawaii islands, this room was by far the better. I recommend this room to everyone, you won't regret it. Thank you Lenny.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana00_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Everything about this place is an absolute delight. The owner is a wonderful person with a very high taste for decoration. The house is at the very end of a road in the middle of a beautiful peaceful forest. The only room is spacious, very clean and lovely decorated. The breakfast was delicious with fresh papaya and homemade cake. We more than highly recommend this exquisite B&B. Definitely one of the highlight of our stay on Hawai'i.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlivierLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Rarely does a stay at a single place raise your enjoyment of the whole trip.
The owner of this B&B was so attentive to our needs on our quick one-night stay, that it changed what could have been a quickie one-nighter into a great stop and wonderful memory.
Clean, large, fun, wonderful.
We got a great home-made breakfast snack to take with us.
Our only regret is we wished we could have stayed longer to explore the property.
If we are ever in the area, this will absolutely be our place to stay.

Room Tip: Only one room, but he might expand. A+.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StartsWithaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
3.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
5.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
3.7 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Fern Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Fern Forest Retreat

Property: Volcano Fern Forest Retreat
Address: 11-2846 Alii Kane St, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming bed and breakfast suites and vacation rentals tucked away in the outskirts of Volcano just minutes from the entrance to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. These suites offers privacy, comfort, and convenience to area activities. Located on professionally landscaped acreage in the rainforest, its features include a combo bedroom (queen size bed) / living area, full bath, breakfast nook, outdoor BBQ, TV (Dish Network), Wi-Fi. Complete linens provided including towels, comforters & blankets. Nicely appointed and furnished in charming decor, the Fern Forest Retreat will be the perfect home base for your volcano adventure. Everything is here for you to enjoy your stay in this unique area of the Big Island. The Hawaii Volcanoes National Park offers the visitor a special view of nature unlike anyplace else on earth. Be sure to plan enough time to enjoy the hiking, craters, lava tubes, lush rainforest, steam vents, birds, ancient petroglyphs, spectacular views, and brand new land. The visitor center offers excellent exhibits, films, geological talks, and information. Also, top local artisans display their works at the Volcano Art Center Gallery located in the park. We are located within minutes of Volcano Village and restaurants. So enjoy exploring the area and come home to the suites at The Volcano Fern Forest Retreat.We offer a variety of accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Volcano Fern Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Fern Forest Retreat Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing