We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Retreat in the Sky” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treehouse Skye

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Treehouse Skye
Ranked #10 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Retreat in the Sky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Skye was great to work with and very accommodating. His help actually started before we got there as he let us know in our email correspondence where to stop for food in Hilo. He promptly met us at the Treehouse when we arrived and spent time talking to us about his background as well as how the house came to be. He gave us a tour of the place and some of the construction techniques he used. He then took the time to show us a map of the area and asked what we were interested in and showed us where some of the lesser known places to visit were. The Treehouse was very functional and quiet with great views of the forrest canopy and the numerous birds flying around. Everything we needed was there and being able to cook and store cold food made the place very nice for us. We were only able to spend two nights there but I would definitely have spent more time there and would go back again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Our family of 4 spent several nights at Skye's treehouse in November. This is a beautiful and comfortable place. We loved it. The setting is beautiful as is the house. It had everything we needed for days in and was close to the park as to allow us a number of day and night trips to the volcanoes. Skye is a gentleman, a discreet and considerate host. He may help you if you have car trouble. Thanks for the push, Skye!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the larger of Skye's treehouse by Volcanoes National Park. What a cool experience!! Very comfortable, and extremely unique. We had our family of 4 plus my sister in law. Again, comfy and roomy for all. We all used the shower and had no problems with hot water. Skye is very interesting and very helpful regarding where to eat etc. Truly a once in a lifetime experience. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calldgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

If you're lucky enough while visiting the Volcano, you'll get to stay in one of Skye's amazing TreeHouses. He's built these from scratch and you can see and feel the care he's put into making these homes really special and relaxing. Each home is unique and if you spend enough time in the house, you'll see how every little detail (the branch that holds the toilet paper, the asian windows looking out over the living room giving the room a magical feel) is throught through and has been carefully constructed by Skye himself.

This place has all the comforts of home, plus the sheer beauty of the nature around you and falling asleep to sound of rain while comforted in your warm, dry abode. We even got to experience an incredible lightning storm (Skye thinks it was on Mauna Loa, with the view filled with light while eight maybe ten seconds later the thunder would roll through....).

You won't be dissapointed staying at his treehouse. In fact, it may touch your life in ways you didn't expect.

Room Tip: Be sure to talk to Skye about which house to book, both are fantastic. If I were to choose, the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YonatanLerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Imagine waking up in a treehouse in the middle of a rainforest on top of a volcano.. Not many people get to say that, but we can! We stayed one night and would recommend others to definitely try this. Such a cool experience that no hotel can provide. Skye himself is the man. Mahalo!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank c0lenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in September ( in treehouse 2) and it wasn't enough! The treehouse was good fun and having the necessary amenities to make it quite comfortable. Also very romantic as a couple, and a fireplace inside with a bottle of red from the local winery was a perfect way to spend the evening!

Everything you need is there - we got groceries on the way and cooked several meals amongst the treetops, which was great. It is driving distance to several restaurants if you don't want to cook, and 2 general stores.

Definitely need a car to get there and get around. Close to volcano national park, and we also went out for a drive past Kua to the coffee mill, black sand beach with turtles and a fantastic bakery slightly past there.

Great location to get to volcano national park. Everything was lovely- couch was nice and the bed was very comfortable. It was also very private so you could not see any neighbours.

Only comment is we had organised a pick up tour- and they went to the wrong treehouse even though they had called the accommodation to confirm location.

All in all thoroughly recommend, an excellent and fun experience.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JK-Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Tree house in September and absolutely LOVED it! Skye was great to work with and very helpful with our questions and in making plans for the Volcano National Park. The tree house is awesome!! We were beyond pleased and happy with the entire experience. We got there and wished we had booked it longer.
The details Skye put in this place are very creative & unique. The large windows offer great views of the rainforest throughout the entire place, including the bathroom and when stepping out of the shower! The bed is comfortable, the kitchen has everything you would need to prepare meals and the place is very clean. We enjoyed a drink in the afternoon and our morning coffee on the skywalk. So peaceful being in the rainforest and very relaxing.
Thank you Skye for renting out your dream tree house and all your help with making our time at the volcano village wonderful. The Tree House is a top highlight to our Hawaii vacation. If your looking for lodging that also offers a unique experience - do not hesitate and contact Skye:)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joysoftravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
4.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
4.5 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House
3.8 mi away
Volcano Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treehouse Skye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treehouse Skye

Property: Treehouse Skye
Address: PO Box 1011, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-1011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you have a Huck Finn spark in you to do the things on your bucket list? Are you ready for a rare opportunity to live and sleep in a living, environmental sculpture? Here are 2 genuine treehouses, each built 20-feet up, integrated into 5 or 6 living ohia trees and each hidden away on four quiet acres of pristine, native Hawaiian rain forest! This world-class treehouse has huge windows and decks all around for spectacular 360-degree nature viewing. Commune with birds and other tree creatures on their level. If you want to be outdoors, a unique skywalk 60-80 feet long that stretches out into a forest canopy of giant tree ferns at the same height at the TreeHouse. Be the first on the block to truly enjoy living in a real TreeHouse even for just a couple days, make your friends jealous ! Read our latest press by clicking on the article on the left. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treehouse Skye Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing